Another Day, Another Dollar?

Well, I over-drafted again… But I’m starting to get used to it… I think that may be a bad thing, but at least I’m not beating myself up for it. Everybody keeps telling me that the economy is bad, and that it took them such-and-such amount of time to find a job/funding. I guess I just don’t give myself a chance to find the right job because I went to school, like everybody’s supposed to do, got a Master’s Degree in Business… and thought jobs/money would just throw itself at me. But apparently this simply means I’m too qualified for part time jobs, and don’t have enough experience for exec jobs…

The problem is, that the big artists get to tour, and make merch and record from cash in their record label’s funds. I’m finding that money really runs the record industry WAYYYY more than talent does. Look at this whole “FRIDAY” song by Rebecca Black. It may be the most annoying, and one of the worst songs I’ve ever heard, but it had money behind it, so it’s quality… I’m also finding that people tell me “TOTALLY WANT TO WORK WITH YOU…” and then disappear when they find out how much money is in my bank account. I don’t blame them, but music is about taking risks… in fact life is about taking risks. No matter what you want to do, you sometimes have to bend your savings account in order to make it keep happening. I love it when someone works with me and then tells me that it has opened tons of other doors for them. (My producer, Jeremy says that every day… he made “Shooting for the Sun” with me, and it was obviously a great project!)

My hope is to find a job that I can do while still on tour. I’m working for a start-up company doing social media… and although it pays well, the hours don’t add up, so in the end, I don’t make much… I’ve kept my costs low. I’ve found that I can literally get by on a little less than 2000 a month, which comes out to less than 24,000 a year… which is pretty ridiculous if you think about how expensive California is…

The other option is to get a Publishing deal. They pay you to write, and that would be great, cause I write every day! I write songs that would be great for other artists all the time. (And I have the videos/mp3’s to prove it…) But how do you get a publishing company to take notice?

Last option is to get a donor or sponsor. Someone who believes in the music enough to make it help. But sooooo many times people want things back in return. (Backrubs, one-on-one time, input their ideas into my music, dates, waxings…ewwwwww….) And to get a donor with no strings attached would be absolutely crazy. Even sponsorships from companies would be good. I don’t have a problem wearing a Pepsi t-shirt every day… I’m totally willing to sell out! I’ll even wear a Jonas Brothers shirt if it’ll make me money! (I could probably rock a pink t-shirt… maybe not a tutu or girls cut shirt… but I’m almost to that point…

I guess at the end of the day, I’m happy. It doesn’t matter if I have money or not. So what if I eat potatoes for dinner every night. 😛 I like potatoes! and I’m great at cooking!  Moving to LA might be tough, but the friends I’ve met and the people that I’m writing with are incredibly encouraging. Overdrafting or not, I’m not gonna stress because It will all work out eventually.

I feel like I should pass around a collection plate now… 😛 I’m not necessarily telling you this so you’ll give me tons of money, but I’m not gonna stop ya. 😛

Love you guys! Hope to see you soon!

And I have no regrets that I bet my whole checking account, Because it all amounts to nothing up in the end… – Jason Mraz

About Joshua Lodge

Josh will cheerfully admit that he averaged less than a dozen people a show when he first began playing San Diego coffee houses and clubs. But he garnered diehard fans in the process, sold a few thousand copies of his EP, Pocket Change, and picked up few awards along the way. After a traumatic family incident Josh retreated inward, and he ended up writing what would ultimately become his breakout debut, Raw. The album was true to its name and people noticed - Josh picked up two San Diego Music Awards for "Best Acoustic" and "Best Local Recording," opened for the likes of Zac Brown, Jason Mraz, and Matt Nathanson, and had enough money and momentum to tour the country a few times over. A few years after Raw, there was his third EP, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Josh spent much of the year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his album I Will Be There out now on Randm Records. From the joyous encouragement of “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all. A few years after Raw, there was his third release, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Damigo spent much of year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his latest album, "Just Give Me a Call", available now, on Randm Records. From the up-tempo single, “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Another Day, Another Dollar?

  1. michelle says:

    I feel your pain!!! I have a bachelors in psy and a 4.0 in my masters program and can’t even find an unpaid internship lol. If it makes you feel any better, your music is pretty awesome, even inspired me a bit today. Oh and btw… Friday is obviously an instant classic! FRIDAY FRIDAY!!!

  2. Ciara says:

    I read this book called Generation Me & it has a chapter dedicated to why our generation (which begins in 1980, I believe) feels more entitled than ever & it’s because we were raised on the “you can be anything you want to be” mentality. We were taught that if we go to college and get a degree we’ll have a successful life. And because we were also raised on instant gratification, we expect that everything will be given to us immediately, which is why we get so frustrated when we finally graduate college and don’t have job offers, but do have a shit ton of debt because we’re taught it’ll be worth it.

    Anyway, that’s my rant. I know it’s super shitty to be in a difficult situation like yours but keep your chin up! It’ll be better eventually.

  3. $2000 and you can be an Ark Music Factory exclusive artist too!

Leave a Reply

