The Installation of Inspiration (Say That 10x Fast…)

So I’ve written 8 songs this week, and I still have one more day left. I dunno if I’ll write another one or not, but I thought I’d just talk a couple of my songs from this week.

“Thank You, Come Again” was written with my friend Athena Marie and it’s about a guy who isn’t very good with ladies, and tries using terrible pick-up lines. It was a ton of fun to write with Athena, and she has such a sweet spirit and personality! I can’t wait to write with her again.

“I Hope This Song Will Do” was written today and I really like it. It’s about not having any money to buy anything and giving every single cent to the girl who the singer’s dating. (I’m single… so don’t ask me where this stuff comes from…)

Yesterday I wrote a song that Brittney Bouchard inspired from our writing session a week ago. She told me that she was gonna write a song about all the things that she hated about me. (I can be a pain to write with… :-P) So I went ahead and turned it around on her, and wrote the things I liked about her. (I exaggerated a little bit… and then put some stuff in there that wasn’t about her, but sounded cute… I usually base my songs “loosely” on a situation…:-P) I think it’s cute, but a little to “uppy” for me.

The last song I wrote was called, “You Can Share My Bed”. It’s a story about a girl who is letting a guy spend the night for the first time. It’s pretty sexy, and if the right girl sings it, (And I think I found her…) it’s gonna be epic! 😛 Actually the girl that’s voice inspired the song is from New York. I saw a clip of her on Youtube. Her name is Natalie Major, and here’s the youtube video of her doing a cover of one of my favorite songs!   (It probably helps that she’s a bombshell… but wow… I wouldn’t mind waking up to that song every day…Also, my favorite part to watch is when she’s biting her lip and feeling awkward at around 2:20… SOOOO cute!)

Well that’s pretty much all I got today. I’ve been up and down lately with mood swings, and it kinda has been bothering me. If I had internet at my pad, I’d probably write more, but maybe it’s good that I don’t…

Anyways, I’ll leave you with the first draft of lyrics from the song “I Hope This Song Will Do”. Hope you enjoy!

I Hope This Song Will Do
(c) 2011
Written By Josh Damigo

I wish I had a dollar
So I could spend it all on you
I could buy you all the things
That you’ve been accustomed to
And If I had a dollar
I’d give the world to you
But until I have a dollar
I hope this song will do

I wish I had a quarter
So I could take you to the mall
I’d let you try on all the dresses
And you’d look so pretty in them all
And if I had a quarter
I’d share every cent with you
But until I get a quarter
I hope this song will do

I hope this song will do
Cause It’s all I have
I know it isn’t much
And I know it’s not that big
but it’s written from my heart
And it’s sung with my breath
I hope this song will do
Cause It’s all I have

I wish I had a nickel
I’d put a big smile on your face
I’d buy you some ice cream
From your favorite place
If I had a nickel
I’d give every drop to you
Until I have a nickel
I hope this song will do

I hope this song will do
Cause It’s all I have
I know it isn’t much
And I know it’s not that big
but it’s written from my heart
And it’s sung with my breath
I hope this song will do
Cause It’s all I have

About Joshua Lodge

Josh will cheerfully admit that he averaged less than a dozen people a show when he first began playing San Diego coffee houses and clubs. But he garnered diehard fans in the process, sold a few thousand copies of his EP, Pocket Change, and picked up few awards along the way. After a traumatic family incident Josh retreated inward, and he ended up writing what would ultimately become his breakout debut, Raw. The album was true to its name and people noticed - Josh picked up two San Diego Music Awards for "Best Acoustic" and "Best Local Recording," opened for the likes of Zac Brown, Jason Mraz, and Matt Nathanson, and had enough money and momentum to tour the country a few times over. A few years after Raw, there was his third EP, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Josh spent much of the year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his album I Will Be There out now on Randm Records. From the joyous encouragement of “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all. A few years after Raw, there was his third release, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Damigo spent much of year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his latest album, "Just Give Me a Call", available now, on Randm Records. From the up-tempo single, “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Installation of Inspiration (Say That 10x Fast…)

  1. JeaninePolitte says:

    Great lyrics – “I Hope This Song Will Do”

  2. Beth Basilio says:

    I really like the lyrics to this song! As I was reading, I was trying to imagine the melody that you are writing it go along with it. Can’t wait to hear the finished version!

Leave a Reply

