I get to play with two living legends!!!

Last night I played a gig at the Cinema Bar, a hole in the wall spot in Culver City which is possibly my favorite place to play in LA right now. (One of my friends, Ashley, commented, “I like this place, cause it’s totally not LA…” WELL SAID, MY FRIEND!!!)

I played a short acoustic set which involved me playing about 6 songs, talking about having a Master’s degree and trying to get hired over selling CD’s, (Which I thought was hilarious…) , and some LOUD drunk people talking over my music. BUT THAT’S WHERE IT HAPPENED…

This old man walked up in front of the loud people talking… he gets tapped on the shoulder by one of the “rudes” and the person tells him, “Sir, Can you please move? I can’t see…” The older gentleman in the giant cowboy hat turns around and says, “Well I can’t hear, so how ’bout you and your friends shut the hell up…”

I’m midway through my set, and hear this interaction, and think, “Wow… that was pretty cool.” Cause right after he said that, they all shut up. I finish my set, and walk off the stage, when the man comes up to me and says, “Sir, you have some fantastic songs.” “Thank you, I’m Josh.” I replied. He looks at me and says, “My name is Jack. I told those people to shutup during your set.” I said, “I heard, thank you for sticking up for me! I appreciated it, but I’m also kind of used to it. ” He said, “Yep, you seemed unfazed by them. I could really see your heart up there. You sang about some heavy stuff, sorry to hear about your brother and I don’t like L.A. either…” I looked at him and thanked him again and finished the convo with, “Well, they couldn’t hear the Beatles when they played either, so I figured it’s alright.” He laughed and said, “Good point. You’ll go far…”

The rest of the night, he kept coming over to talk to me and then they called him up on the stage to play a tune. His name? Ramblin’ Jack Elliott.

Now, maybe you’re thinking, “Why is Josh telling me this story?” Well… check out this picture…

Look familiar now??? That’s him with Bob Dylan. After doing some research, I found out that this cowboy is a 5 time-grammy nominee, (With 2 wins), and has toured the world, and seen it all… Here are what some people have said about him…

Nobody I know—and I mean nobody—has covered more ground and made more friends and sung more songs than the fellow you’re about to meet right now.  He’s got a song and a friend for every mile behind him.  Say hello to my good buddy, Ramblin’ Jack Elliott.
Johnny Cash, The Johnny Cash Television Show, 1969.

His tone of voice is sharp, focused and piercing.   All that and he plays the guitar effortlessly in a fluid flat-picking perfected style.  He was a brilliant entertainer….  Most folk musicians waited for you to come to them.  Jack went out and grabbed you…..  Jack was King of the Folksingers.     Bob Dylan, Chronicles: Volume One

And it goes on and on… (Check out his website/bio http://ramblinjack.com/)

He played with a guitar player by the name, Albert Lee who I didn’t get to talk to as much, but when I looked him up, I found out that he was Guitar Player’s Magazine’s “BEST COUNTRY GUITARIST” for 5 years straight, and has played with Bo DiddleyJerry Lee LewisEmmylou HarrisEric ClaptonEarl ScruggsThe CricketsJoe CockerDolly PartonSpinal TapNanci GriffithEverly BrothersBrad PaisleyJackson Browne ,Herbie Mann… (WHOA…)

All I can say is that I’m so honored to have met these gentlemen and played with them! That was a night I’ll never forget!!!

Hope that was a fun read! Go check them out, and buy me their records on vinyl!!! 😀

Love you guys! Huge thanks to Neon West, Melanie Devaney and Matt Bunsen and the Burners for a great show!

About Joshua Lodge

Josh will cheerfully admit that he averaged less than a dozen people a show when he first began playing San Diego coffee houses and clubs. But he garnered diehard fans in the process, sold a few thousand copies of his EP, Pocket Change, and picked up few awards along the way. After a traumatic family incident Josh retreated inward, and he ended up writing what would ultimately become his breakout debut, Raw. The album was true to its name and people noticed - Josh picked up two San Diego Music Awards for "Best Acoustic" and "Best Local Recording," opened for the likes of Zac Brown, Jason Mraz, and Matt Nathanson, and had enough money and momentum to tour the country a few times over. A few years after Raw, there was his third EP, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Josh spent much of the year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his album I Will Be There out now on Randm Records. From the joyous encouragement of “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all. A few years after Raw, there was his third release, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Damigo spent much of year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his latest album, "Just Give Me a Call", available now, on Randm Records. From the up-tempo single, “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

