From Prince to Oklahoma

Somewhere in the Arizona Desert...

Somewhere in the Arizona Desert…

I’m currently en route to Oklahoma and somewhere in the middle of Kingman and Flagstaff, Arizona. I feel like now is as good as any to post a blog, and with WordPress’ new blackberry app, I guess I might as well. (LOVE this app, btw!!!)

Last night, I had the opportunity to play the Blue and Green Showcase. (Sponsored by Producer Mikal Blue and the GreenRoots organization owned by Angelique Sheppard and David Garner) This Showcase was amazing, because not only does the group only allow the BEST singer/songwriters to participate, they also treat everyone with more love and affection than Grandmother’s Turkey Dinner! Going on the suggestion of one of her friends, Angelique booked me, and I’m so incredibly grateful for the absolute “lovefest” I experienced. (It’s a pretty great feeling, especially since so much of LA is dark and void and bleeeeech…)

Apparently, at last night’s show, PRINCE showed up! I was shocked that a star of this magnitude would chill at Room 5, but I guess that’s the charm of LA for ya…. (I tried seeing if anyone else posted anything about him showing up, but all anyone is talking about is Prince William’s wedding…Congrats, Old Chap!) Anyways, as soon as the show ended, I jumped into my grandpa’s car, and we started the 24 hour drive to Oklahoma to visit my brother.

Backstory: if you haven’t seen HBO’s Documentary, “Wartorn” or heard me talk about my brother, be prepared to get pissed… My brother is currently serving a 6 year prison term for a crime he committed while having a Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) episode he sustained while serving one of two tours in Iraq. Rather than trying to work with him, the District Attorney’s office in San Diego decided to throw the book at him: Threatening to lock him up for 15 years! (He had only been back from Iraq for less than 6 weeks, Bonnie Dumanis!!!!) (Sidenote: She is the current DA in San Diego and now running for San Diego Mayor… Guess we know how she plans on treating our troops…) Nathan took a plea deal because his other option was to plead insanity and spend an undisclosed/uncertain amount of time in a psych ward, which could be more traumatic than jail!!! If you haven’t seen Wartorn on HBO, I beg of you to take some time to see what’s going on in the lives of our veterans. It’ll change your mind about tossing a quarter to a homeless person.

Nathan has been moved from A San Diego jail to Oklahoma, which makes it difficult for anyone in our family to visit. So when Grandpa asked me to go on a road trip with him, I was ecstatic!!! (And although he’s a morning person, and I am MOST DEFINITELY NOT, it’s been a good trip so far!)

So my last 10 hours have been spent by playing a packed concert, driving for 7 hours with an incredibly jolly old man and sleeping at a rest stop- But that’s just how my life is. 😛

We will be staying in Clovis, New Mexico tonight with my cousin who won’t text me back. (Apparently the, “Do You Know Who I Am???” Line doesn’t work on family members…) Then we’ll drive the rest of the way to Oklahoma, have a 4 hour visit with my bro, then drive 2 hours north to Oklahoma City, where I’m hopping on a plane to fly to San Diego to play the San Diego Mission Federal Artwalk with my band.

I love my life. 😛 Hope to see you soon, and hope all your dreams come true today!

-j

About Josh Damigo

Josh will cheerfully admit that he averaged less than a dozen people a show when he first began playing San Diego coffee houses. But he garnered diehard fans in the process, sold a few thousand copies of his homemade EP, Pocket Change, and picked up few awards along the way. After a traumatic family incident, Damigo retreated inward, and he ended up writing what would ultimately become his breakout debut, Raw. The album was true to its name and people noticed - Josh picked up two San Diego Music Awards for “Best Acoustic” and “Best Local Recording,” opened for the likes of Zac Brown, Jason Mraz, Eric Hutchinson, and Matt Nathanson, and had enough money and momentum to tour the country a few times over. A few years after Raw, there was his third release, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Damigo spent much of year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his latest album, "Just Give Me a Call", available now, on Randm Records. From the up-tempo single, “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

