Josh Damigo and the terrible horrible no good very bad day.

Let’s talk about epic fails, shall we?

12:00AM- 6:45AM CST
I started out April 30th, 2011 in Oklahoma City’s airport. I convinced my grandfather that it would be a good idea to just drop me off at the airport for the 6 hours before my flight to see my brother. After all- I was pretty tired from not feeling well,(that’s an understatement… I have a massive headache and what I think is either a severe cold or tonsilitis… And my ears are killing me…) and I could sleep anywhere! Well… I didn’t sleep… I stayed awake at the airport for six hours working on my laptop and waiting to board my plane.

6:45AM CST – 12:00PM PST
Luckily, my plane was on time. And I slept like a baby the whole way. 3 hours of sleep from OKC to Denver and Denver to SD. My buddy Jason picked me up and we drove to the San Diego Artwalk, picked up my package from them, and had breakfast and talked shop. Jason dropped me of at Justin, my guitar player’s house where I planned on taking a nap…

12:00PM – 5:00PM PST
…Well I didn’t sleep, because I couldn’t get a hold of my drummer. In fact, no one could. So I spent most of the next 3 hours assigned for sleeping trying to find a replacement drummer. No one was available, and Justin and I headed to the parking lot of the SD Artwalk. Rob, my keyboardist goes to my drummer’s house, but he’s not home, which makes Rob the default drummer. (He hasn’t played with us in about 4 months, because of being in the midwest… So he’s about to play the gig w/o practicing on a brand new instrument…) I’m about to throw up, and justin comments on how “dead” I am when I try to get my guitar out of the wrong car…

Erdis texts me to let me know he has to leave in the middle of my set for another gig… 😦

Rob meets us at the parking lot at 4:00 and we phone for our ride to the stage…

5:00PM – 8:10PM PST
…Ride comes an hour late at 5:00 and we do our soundcheck 15 minutes after we were supposed to begin our show. My voice goes missing, and it’s not feeling right cause we’re missing wrekless. I sell 1/4 of the amount of merch as the last two years, and play a significantly shortened set. (Why did I fly back from Oklahoma again???) I’m still running on 3ish hours of sleep.

Justin races me to the train station where I purchase my tickets for the 8:10 train to LA. I’m not feeling well, and drink two Vitamin Waters. I try to sleep in the train station, but no luck.

8:10PM- 11:10PM PST
I get a half hour of sleep on the train before the couple sitting in front of me busts out laughing about a scrabble move. I spend the next 2 1/2 hours listening to how funny the move was…

11:10PM- 12:25AM PST
Finally get to LA. I go to baggage claim, and AMTRAK tells me that my bags are gone. I suddenly realize that I have 400 dollars worth of clothes, 400 dollars worth of equipment and my house keys in my bag….I fill out a form and go outside to find my ride. I call my roommate to find out he is about 30 miles away from home and not planning on coming home tonight… Looks like I’m sleeping on a couch somewhere…

I text my ride to find out that she can’t find the station. I ask her where she is, and she says, “Century and Aviation”. I google the distance between there and Union Station and it says “estimated time 24 minutes…”

A loud live mariachi band is playing in the waiting area. And I blog about my day. I feel sick, can’t get into my home, and I’m shaking from how tired I am.

Today was a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day.

But it was all worth it, because I got to play a show with my band.

-j

My bed at the train station in LA...

My bed at the train station in LA…

About Joshua Lodge

Josh will cheerfully admit that he averaged less than a dozen people a show when he first began playing San Diego coffee houses and clubs. But he garnered diehard fans in the process, sold a few thousand copies of his EP, Pocket Change, and picked up few awards along the way. After a traumatic family incident Josh retreated inward, and he ended up writing what would ultimately become his breakout debut, Raw. The album was true to its name and people noticed - Josh picked up two San Diego Music Awards for "Best Acoustic" and "Best Local Recording," opened for the likes of Zac Brown, Jason Mraz, and Matt Nathanson, and had enough money and momentum to tour the country a few times over. A few years after Raw, there was his third EP, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Josh spent much of the year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his album I Will Be There out now on Randm Records. From the joyous encouragement of “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all. A few years after Raw, there was his third release, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Damigo spent much of year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his latest album, "Just Give Me a Call", available now, on Randm Records. From the up-tempo single, “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Josh Damigo and the terrible horrible no good very bad day.

  1. Vanja says:

    All I could think, walking by that big stage in little italy today, was that you were lucky today because you got to play on the big stage during a time when lots of people would be walking by to see you.

    Just wanted to tell you what I was thinking from “the other side.”
    Sounds like my first day of tour when my luggage got lost and I slept literally on a couch in a dive bar, waiting or the airport people to come with my luggage. Your day tops it though.

Leave a Reply

