It’s Summer Already??? (June Newsletter)

I was just talking to a friend yesterday and saying, “Remember when we were kids… summer was SOOO important… now it’s just kinda… nice…” Now don’t get me wrong, I’m still excited that people are going to be traveling and vacationing with their families, but it just doesn’t have the same glow as when I was 14… Maybe if you come out to a show this month, we’ll be able to get the fire back? ;-P

So I have only a couple shows this month because I’m gearing up for my tour in the Southwest next month. (And it looks like I just booked the last two stops of Durango, CO, and Oklahoma City!!! You can look at my schedule in the next few days, and you’ll see the beautiful locations I’ll be playing at!

As far as shows this month, I’ll be playing tonight in Fullerton with Mike Vitale and Giana Nguyen at 8:00. If you’re in or around the area, this will be a great night, and it’s free and all ages… What more could you ask for???

I’m back at Lestats!!! (THANK GOD!!!!) That hiatus was not fun… This month we have two AMAZING acts. This may be the best show I’ve been put on thus far at Lestats! I’ll be playing with Chi McClean from San Francisco and David & Devine from LA. (Dave Yaden and Candace Devine’s band.)  This is one of those shows that you will want to tell everyone you know about… Show’s at 9:00 and it’s a 10 dollar cover.

Lastly I’m playing a two shows in LA worth coming to. One is a benefit show on June 14th at Genghis Cohen, (If you see my name listed as “Josh Dimingo”, don’t worry about it… while that is the most ridiculous spelling I’ve seen thus far in my career, I’ve contacted them about it… :-P) and the next is a HUGE lawn party! If you’re in the Los Angeles area, you’ll want to come to “FRONT YARD FEST” which is hosted by my good friend, Shannon Curtis! Saturday, June 25th is going to be a special day that you’ll write home about!

Well I must go. If you’ve been keeping up with my blog at joshdamigo.com lately, please don’t worry about me… I’ve been a wee bit down as of late, but it’s nothing a good show can’t fix! (And the show at the TROUBADOUR was EPIC!!!!)

I look forward to talking to you all soon!

Love you guys!

Josh Damigo

About Joshua Lodge

Josh will cheerfully admit that he averaged less than a dozen people a show when he first began playing San Diego coffee houses and clubs. But he garnered diehard fans in the process, sold a few thousand copies of his EP, Pocket Change, and picked up few awards along the way. After a traumatic family incident Josh retreated inward, and he ended up writing what would ultimately become his breakout debut, Raw. The album was true to its name and people noticed - Josh picked up two San Diego Music Awards for "Best Acoustic" and "Best Local Recording," opened for the likes of Zac Brown, Jason Mraz, and Matt Nathanson, and had enough money and momentum to tour the country a few times over. A few years after Raw, there was his third EP, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Josh spent much of the year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his album I Will Be There out now on Randm Records. From the joyous encouragement of “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all. A few years after Raw, there was his third release, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Damigo spent much of year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his latest album, "Just Give Me a Call", available now, on Randm Records. From the up-tempo single, “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

