“Rabbit”

Photo by Daniel Chin

Photo by Daniel Chin

Part of being “me”, means that there are “up” days, and “down” days. With the loudest cheer of “RABBIT” that I screamed when I woke up this morning… (Don’t ask… A friend said it’s good luck to say that first thing when you wake up on the first day of a new month…) I thought that today would be amazing… Unfortunately, it started by having a business partner who I greatly admire text me an hour after we were supposed to get breakfast that she was “too busy” today…:-/ (I could’ve slept in… It was my day off… “Welcome to LA, Josh” was all I could think this morning…) I guess today was destined to be “down”…

Rather than type out my monthly e-mail that I usually send out, (http://www.reverbnation.com/joshdamigo if you are so inclined…) I ended up watching “Muhammad Ali” and starting 3 new songs. (I didn’t like any of them after I got about 1/4 of the way done… I saved them on my computer just in case, though.) The movie was good and sad. Will Smith and Jon Voight were great. (They kinda reminded me of Seth Combs and my relationship. We love to crack jokes on each other and musical styles that we like/dislike, but in the end, he knows I’d have his back if he needed me to.)

Daniel Chin came out and did a 3 hour photo shoot with me for a magazine that’ll be out soon, and we talked for a while. He’s a great photographer, and I’m always inspired by watching him work. I’m not a huge fan of sitting around taking pictures, but he makes it enjoyable, and doesn’t mind if I need a break to e-mail a promoter or do some amateurish facial expression cause the sun is in my eyes. He also says things like, “I love shooting you.” Which makes me feel good, cause I sure as hell wouldn’t want to stare at pictures of me for the amount of time he’ll be. (If you guys would do me a favor and hire him for weddings or something, it’d mean a lot to me, since he doesn’t get paid anywhere near what he’s worth when doing my shots…)

After he left, I finished the movie, and played a little “Fight Night 4” which is a confusing game cause the characters never do what I want them to do. And how is boxing fair, btw? 3 judges get to decide who the winner is based on their opinions? I’ll stick with baseball…

Lastly, I went out to support one of my favorite San Diegans, Mal Hall, at the Laugh Factory. I may be biased, but I think he was the best comic of the night. I’m always impressed by comedians. The fact that they have to write new jokes all the time has to be tough. People love hearing the same song over and over again… But the same joke? No way. Mal inspires me because I feel like he and I are very similar. He works his ass off, and doesn’t take “No” for an answer. I think he’s a lot stronger than I am though. (Probably cause he’s a vegetarian.) Anyways, I went out to his show and most of the comments weren’t that funny. Their bits consisted of mostly heckling the crowd, which I rarely enjoy. I think it’s funny when someone makes a rude comment, and then gets picked on by the comic, but the innocent bystanders who got stuck in the front by a waitress who can’t get their order right, and who is demanding a two drink minimum is kind of annoying. (Hey Laugh Factory, your waitresses need better training… And the two drink minimum should not apply if someone is ordering a pizza. That’s stupid. Seriously…)

Anyways, Harland Williams closed the comedy night and called me “Inspector Gadget”. I wanted to call him “Gomer Pyle” back, but bleh… He wasn’t having a good set, so the cheap laugh he got at my expense was fine. Why comics have to be crude though, is beyond me. Maybe that’s why I appreciate Mal. He’s clever, interesting, and doesn’t go for cheap laughs. His jokes are going to be funny for every audience, every time.

Anyways, I got home, and my roommate is setting up the house for his photoshot for Fangoria.com tomorrow and talking loudly on his cell phone. (It’s 1:30 bud… I’m trying to sleep… Er… Blog… Whatever…:-P) I guess it’s a horror website or something. He’s gonna be on this show called “Death Valley” in the Fall on Mtv, and I’m really proud of him… (But a little less noise would be nice… And maybe waking up after your alarm has gone off for an hour???)

So that was pretty much my day. Eventful, but I wish I could have gotten more done. I should have gotten my kickstarter project up and running, but I want everything to be perfect, so I’m not wasting people’s money/trust and I guess I’m just feeling a little blue about things which makes my post cranky blogs. The truth is, I don’t feel at home in LA, San Diego, San Jose, or anywhere, really. I can’t relax. Whenever I take time off to breathe, I feel like I’m missing an opportunity to get further in my music career. But then I look at my music career, and I feel like I’m in the same place I was a year ago. It’s like a never-ending cycle that is two steps forward, two steps back and the faces simply change. I realize that I’ve only been in LA for 6 months now, and that I haven’t even scratched the surface on the music scene here, but I want to do more… I want to be in more places… I want to have more energy and have more friends…. But at the same time, I don’t feel I have time for friends and a career… And when I do take time out for them, they either stand me up, or babble senseless drabble about how nothing is coming to them… I guess we’re all in this dance together.

I’m going to go to sleep now, cause I feel like I’m just throwing trash into the internet, and I’m going to just make people angry, and have them tell me off on my own post via text, tweet, or comment. I guess that’s fair since I’m throwing it out there. I’ll end on a positive note, because I feel like this isn’t my most “bright and shiny” blog post… A friend of mine named Jennifer told me that “99% of people never go out and chase their dreams, and that by trying for mine, I’m actually not a failure, because I’m having the courage to do what hardly anyone else does.” In fact, my mom sent me a bracelet that has the word “Courage” engraved on it. I don’t feel courageous tonight though… I feel like a Master’s Graduate who owes Sallie Mae 30K and makes 8 bucks an hour making frappuccinos… 😦

…But I won’t always feel this way. I feel like tomorrow will be an “Up” day. Thanks for reading… Goodnight, rabbit.

About Joshua Lodge

Josh will cheerfully admit that he averaged less than a dozen people a show when he first began playing San Diego coffee houses and clubs. But he garnered diehard fans in the process, sold a few thousand copies of his EP, Pocket Change, and picked up few awards along the way. After a traumatic family incident Josh retreated inward, and he ended up writing what would ultimately become his breakout debut, Raw. The album was true to its name and people noticed - Josh picked up two San Diego Music Awards for "Best Acoustic" and "Best Local Recording," opened for the likes of Zac Brown, Jason Mraz, and Matt Nathanson, and had enough money and momentum to tour the country a few times over. A few years after Raw, there was his third EP, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Josh spent much of the year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his album I Will Be There out now on Randm Records. From the joyous encouragement of “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all. A few years after Raw, there was his third release, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Damigo spent much of year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his latest album, "Just Give Me a Call", available now, on Randm Records. From the up-tempo single, “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Rabbit”

  1. Roy Dufek says:

    Josh, sir- I really appreciate your dedication for absolute honesty in your words, both in blog and musical form. I feel far too many artists sit in the shade of their talent and lyrics without truly expressing or facing the incredible struggle that goes into the rat race of your industry.

    I always found the need to tell my teachers growing up when they made a difference / or inspired me in my walk of life knowing that at the end of the day they remember why they get out of bed in the morning and walk into that classroom again and again.

    So as a fan, a listener, a supporter, and a pupil of your words if you will- I have myself, plenty of times, resulted to your music on days very similar to yours for my inspiration, hope, and guidance. Whether it’s realizing that all I needed was twelve cents but held eighteen dollars instead, building the confidence to talk to that girl at the bar remembering that “cheesy line” about sugar, or simply that something’s telling me…

    Music speaks what cannot be expressed, soothes the mind and gives it rest, heals the heart and makes it whole, flows from heaven to the soul. At the end of the day, you have both the talent, and exposure to provide all these things to Rabbits like me all over the world. Maybe you need a reminder of just how far you’ve come.

    Thank you for all your great music and holding on to that 1% in life. Keep doing what you do Mr. Damigo- and P.S., I heard you first on Pandora (over 100 million listeners)- not too shabby… 😉

Leave a Reply

