Bravo TV’s “Platinum Hit” Challenge Week 1

So I’ve been waiting to watch “Platinum Hit” with Jewel and Kara DioGuardi (P.S. facebook keeps telling me to add her cause we have soo many friends in common… but I don’t wanna seem like a geek…) on Bravo for a few weeks now, and finally got to watch the first two episodes… I’m hooked. Seriously. My friend, Rachel who I was watching it with told me to settle down a few times. There’s something about watching people doing what I do that makes my blood boil… 😀

I also met Jes Hudak at Lestats a few weeks ago, and bumped into her again at one of my shows in LA. She’s a good girl. I’m a little nervous about them talking about her and some sort of romance with the other guy on the show, cause from what I’ve seen, she doesn’t seem like the kind of girl to jump into something like that… But that’s how TV does it… It’s all about drama! I called the first guy getting kicked off, cause he was pretty boring… just some white guy with not much of a character. (He didn’t add much value to the show… except for the pumpkin shirt and brown pants…)

I’ll talk more about the 2nd week when I try next weeks challenge. (Write a dance hit…. OMG… I DUNNO HOW THAT’S GONNA WORK….)

Anyways, the first week was a song about Los Angeles. I already wrote “LA is Not My Home” and all kinds of negative songs about it… but this time I thought I’d try a new spin. I started with the “Hook” like they talked about on the show. (I do that anyways…) But the hook came almost immediately. “In the city of Angels” with sort of an “Eminemesque” guitar riff from “Rehab”. I’d love Rob Deez or Jimmy Powers to write a rap for the 3rd verse, and probably more time to fix the key, cause I don’t think I sang it very well, but it was 3 in the morning and I couldn’t wake my neighbors… ANYWAYS… no more excuses, here’s the first week!

Love,
-j

About Joshua Lodge

Josh will cheerfully admit that he averaged less than a dozen people a show when he first began playing San Diego coffee houses and clubs. But he garnered diehard fans in the process, sold a few thousand copies of his EP, Pocket Change, and picked up few awards along the way. After a traumatic family incident Josh retreated inward, and he ended up writing what would ultimately become his breakout debut, Raw. The album was true to its name and people noticed - Josh picked up two San Diego Music Awards for "Best Acoustic" and "Best Local Recording," opened for the likes of Zac Brown, Jason Mraz, and Matt Nathanson, and had enough money and momentum to tour the country a few times over. A few years after Raw, there was his third EP, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Josh spent much of the year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his album I Will Be There out now on Randm Records. From the joyous encouragement of “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all. A few years after Raw, there was his third release, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Damigo spent much of year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his latest album, "Just Give Me a Call", available now, on Randm Records. From the up-tempo single, “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

