LA Show Tonight and “The Illusionist”!

San Diego was such a great show! I thoroughly enjoyed Landon Keller’s set. He’s got this Bob Dylan meets Jim Croce vibe that anyone who knows me, knows I totally dig. 🙂
You could obviously tell that I was enjoying my time with Rob Deez, since he had me rolling on the stage during his set.
And you know I couldn’t do it with out my boy, Lou. Thanks so much for always helping me out, buddy. You’re one of my best friends.
And a huge thanks to everyone who came out! I saw the twins, Francesca, Travis and his friends, James, Maddie and her peeps, @suzzyfod and @yourlightshines (and family!), Marilyn, Kitty, Jeff Hamby and roommates, and a few other peeps who I thought I recognized, but they told me I probably didn’t know them. 😛 The place had such a great energy, and I really appreciated everyone’s support for the first stop on the tour! 😀
Tonight is the LA show at Room 5. I’ll be playing the songwriter’s round starting at 9:00. 8 bucks for all ages, and the food is ridiculously good here! (Try the chicken pesto pizza!!! Mouth-wateringly good!

This morning I woke up, cleaned a little bit and finished watching a movie called “The Illusionist” which is a fantastic animated feature about a magician trying to make it in Europe. If you want to rent the movie, don’t keep reading cause I’m about to talk about it… 😛

The story is sadly real about showbiz. We see an elderly gentleman, who is amazingly talented. Doing showcases in different venues, and struggling in the same ways that performers do. He performs for crowds that aren’t willing to notice him, only care about some band who is more attractive, and his biggest show came from a drunk guy who ruins a show that he was performing at. You see the illusionist try working day jobs using his talents, but feeling unfulfilled because his art is being exploited. You see him get ripped off by his manager and boss, and basically losing everything in the end, and giving up on showbiz altogether. Altogether, the movie might have 10 or 11 words, and all of the actions/sound effects tell the story, allowing the viewer to really take in the scenery.
I totally relate to his story. He has one fan that follows him around everywhere and believes his magic is actually real, and her life is changed because of him. I had a friend give me the suggestion the other day to, “Never let them see you bleed…” Because a lot of industry professionals are turned off by the starving artist. I guess I thought about what he said because in this movie, you can see him failing uncontrollably to make a living, but he never let’s the girl know, even when it means giving her everything she might possibly want by using his last schilling. I don’t know if I have that ability. I share what I’m feeling constantly, and I feel like most people like my honesty. Every once in a while someone leaves a comment on here that is pretty rude, but I figure that I got to speak my mind, so they should be allowed to as well. (Even though they should honestly start their own blog, and not be so lazy…) 😛
I’m 27, have a master’s degree, good work history, but getting a full-time 9-5 means that I wouldn’t be able to tour. But the part-time jobs that I can take mean that I’m scraping by to make rent. Art is money, so I rely on every dollar I make from selling cd’s/tracks and getting bodies in seats at venues to keep it going, but soo many times people want to get in for free, get a free cd, etc… And while it’s okay promotion, it doesn’t necessarily help my current situation. :-P. But I guess that’s just the life I’m choosing right now. I don’t have a family to provide for, kids to feed, or animals to pay for… So if I miss a meal or take the bus cause gas is too much, it’s fine. Because it’s my choice and it effects only me. In the end, I feel like I will be happy, however, because I’ve given this thing everything I have. I could have a high paying job and make money and keep music as a “hobby” and there’s nothing wrong with that, but I want it to mean so much more, and I feel this is the right path for me!

Anyways, enough rambling. Time to jump in the shower and make some coffee. Thanks so much for all the love and support guys. I honestly can’t do this without the kind words, hugs, and applause that you give so freely. I honestly keep going because of you.

-j

About Josh Damigo

Josh will cheerfully admit that he averaged less than a dozen people a show when he first began playing San Diego coffee houses. But he garnered diehard fans in the process, sold a few thousand copies of his homemade EP, Pocket Change, and picked up few awards along the way. After a traumatic family incident, Damigo retreated inward, and he ended up writing what would ultimately become his breakout debut, Raw. The album was true to its name and people noticed - Josh picked up two San Diego Music Awards for “Best Acoustic” and “Best Local Recording,” opened for the likes of Zac Brown, Jason Mraz, Eric Hutchinson, and Matt Nathanson, and had enough money and momentum to tour the country a few times over. A few years after Raw, there was his third release, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Damigo spent much of year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his latest album, "Just Give Me a Call", available now, on Randm Records. From the up-tempo single, “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to LA Show Tonight and “The Illusionist”!

  1. cindy says:

    Josh what is happening with the kickstarter idea?

Leave a Reply

