Albuquerque, Visiting my Brother, and sleeeeeeeep

So I’ve come to midpoint of the tour. And I must say that Albuquerque, New Mexico, is a hot place. Just in case you didn’t know… 😛

I left Trevors at around 10:00 and started the drive with what I thought was plenty of time to relax and take in the scenery. By my estimations, I would be getting to OKC at around 4:30, but no later than 6:00… An hour before showtime.

The views on the drive were amazing! There was a beautiful Canyon, a Thunderstorm, and probably about 2 hours straight of not seeing another soul on the road, and yet signs every 15 minutes which said “Do Not Pass”.

At around 5:00, I got a call from Brandon Gomez, a friend of mine from San Diego who now lives in ABQ and was playing the show with me that night.

“This place is a ghost town…” He said over the phone. “…there’s nobody here…”

I replied, “Well, there’s still two hours before the show starts, so we should be fine.”

Then Brandon said the most epic thing anyone could have said…

“Bro… You’re still on Arizona time… It’s 6:00 here in New Mexico…”

My jaw dropped… I had completely forgotten about the time difference. I thought I was going to be pulling in at 6:00, but really, I was pulling in at 7:00… Right before the show started…

I hung up with Brandon, and pressed my foot on the gas a little harder…
———–

I was able to change and get to the show with plenty of time. I set up with the help of the other performers, and we ended up going through my amp and not even using the PA.

A few people “critiqued” everyone’s sound which was cute. I over heard one guy say, “The vocals were heavy.” For Brandon’s set. I just kinda laughed, cause it’s an acoustic gig… You’re supposed to have the vocals louder than the guitar…
Someone else said something like, “I can’t believe the way they have the speakers set up… It’s the worst way to do the sound…” I laughed cause none of those speakers were even on… ::sigh::
My Dad told me, “Opinions are like assholes… Everyone has one, and they all stink…”

I had a fun set, and sold a few tshirts and CD’s and the promoter got 2 pages of e-mails for the e-mail list. I was quite impressed with the job she did.

The show was packed full of people, because everyone in ABQ brought friends. (All 3 other performers, Cori Glazener, Liz Deluna, and even Angelina Velarde from Santa Fe brought a friend!) It was definitely the best example of my career of the power of telling friends about good bands, because even the bartender told me that the place was packed. Liz tweeted something she overheard from one of the regulars. “What’s going on? Why is this place so crowded???” The response she over heard was, “It’s Josh Damigo’s Fault.” (AWESOME!)

After the show, Cori needed a ride, and I took her home. She explained how tonight was thrilling for her and how much she enjoyed it. She mentioned that she wanted to do this type of work regularly, and asked if she could finish the tour with me. I thought about it for a bit and decided it would be better to have someone with me for the next couple shows since the majority of people would be strangers, as I didn’t have much promotion help. (No TV/Radio/Magazine Articles for Okc, Durango, and Vegas) So it looks like she’s coming with to help with Merch and Promotions! 😀
—–

I had to leave immediately to get to Oklahoma and visit my brother. I drove all night and got to Sayre at around 6:45am. It was nice being able to listen to “Christmas in July” on Sirius/XM’s “Radio Classics” station, but when I got to Sayre, I thought I was exhausted…

I stumbled in to my parents hotel room and flung myself on the cot. I saw someone in the second bed and thought, “Oh, Grandpa is here… I wonder where Tiffany (my sister) is sleeping…” And I drifted off to a deep sleep.

My mom woke me up about an hour and a half later because it was time to see Nathan. I woke up with a start and thought I had missed the visit… But it was just a dream. (Whew…)
I ran outside, changed, showered, and realized that “Grandpa” was actually “Tiffany”. (She didn’t like that comment much…) She also let me know that I was going to be an uncle again! I asked her who the father was and received another sisterly punch. (She’s married…)
Dad cracked a joke about my spider tattoo. But when the cute desk clerk told me how much she liked it, I knew I had won…

We got to Nate’s jail around 10:00, went through security and waited for him for about 20 minutes. The room is a large “rec room” with tile and high ceilings. There are two large murials on the walls. One looks like you’re outside at a park with trees and hot air balloons and the other looks like you’re at a beach in coastal Maine at a lighthouse. (There’s also the jail’s insignia which is an eagle holding handcuffs…) I think they’re all stupid and an example of someone in charge thinking they are clever, but I’m sure that it’s nice for the kids that come to visit to have pictures in front of the walls that don’t look as awkward as a picture in a jail. (Dad will be wearing an orange jumpsuit, but maybe no one will notice because of that big painted hot air balloon…)

Hugging Nathan was the best part of the trip.

Nate is rocking a Kevin Youkilis size goatee, Short sleeve, orange jumpsuit and shaved head. (I wish I could wear that stuff and look good. Daggone it… He looks handsome in everything!!!!)

We talked for 2 hours straight with Mom, Dad, and Tiff. It’s funny how I doubt you could get all of us around the table at home and talk like that. We’d all be doing a million other things! But no cell phones, no distractions, and no chance of escape helps to find a ton of things to say! 😀

Mom, Tiff, and Dad had to catch a flight and had to leave around noon. Apparently, Mom thought that if they left I would have to leave to, so they tried to sneak out unnoticed. Nathan and I laughed as they tried to be “sneaky”. Nathan said, “You go ahead and tell them that I would NEVER commit a crime with them… Cause they would get caught…immediately…”

I beat Nathan at Uno then beat him at Texas Hold ’em. (He says my “trash talk” gets to his head…) He beat me at War… But mostly cause I was falling asleep. (And cause that game is PURELY luck… :-P)

We had a great talk about how he was feeling. It’s interesting to see how similar our brains work. Many of the emotions he was describing are what I write in this blog: Feeling alone, No support, just need a break, etc…

The guard told us we had 5 minutes and we hugged and I left. The jail was FREEEEEEZING cold. My nipples were cutting holes in my shirt! But the second I walked outside into the 110 degree Oklahoma atmosphere, I wanted back in…

Seeing Nathan was worth everything.
———

I started the two hour drive to Oklahoma City and the U.S. Had just started penalty kicks versus Japan. What a huge upset for our ladies. 😦 But at the same time, I think the Japanese people enjoyed the win and probably appreciated/needed it more than we would. After everything that’s gone on there it’s got to be a great lift to their spirits.

I was driving down the road and looking up directions for my hotel when it happened. I fell asleep. I don’t know how long I was out, but it must have just been a second. (Because my cruise control was on and I was still in my lane.) I decided that even though I was only 20 minutes outside of Oklahoma City, I needed to get some food and coffee, so I pulled off at the next exit and had dinner. (That was scary! And don’t comment stuff like “Be safe” or “Be careful” cause warning like that annoy me… :-P)

I got to the hotel, checked in and was planning on trying to stay up and attend an open mic, but the second I hit the pillow, I was out. I woke up 12 hours later and started writing this blog.

These next two days in Oklahoma City will be full of posting fliers and meeting people for the show at the Blue Door on Tuesday night with Shane Henry and Maggie McClure. Doors at 7 and the show starts at 8:00 and it’s 10 bucks and all ages, so if you know anyone in the OKC area, please send them out! 😀

Well, I’m gonna go back to sleep and then go get some breakfast. Love you guys. Thanks to everyone for your support, and “Welcome to the family!” all you new peeps! 😀

-j

About Joshua Lodge

Josh will cheerfully admit that he averaged less than a dozen people a show when he first began playing San Diego coffee houses and clubs. But he garnered diehard fans in the process, sold a few thousand copies of his EP, Pocket Change, and picked up few awards along the way. After a traumatic family incident Josh retreated inward, and he ended up writing what would ultimately become his breakout debut, Raw. The album was true to its name and people noticed - Josh picked up two San Diego Music Awards for "Best Acoustic" and "Best Local Recording," opened for the likes of Zac Brown, Jason Mraz, and Matt Nathanson, and had enough money and momentum to tour the country a few times over. A few years after Raw, there was his third EP, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Josh spent much of the year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his album I Will Be There out now on Randm Records. From the joyous encouragement of “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all. A few years after Raw, there was his third release, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Damigo spent much of year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his latest album, "Just Give Me a Call", available now, on Randm Records. From the up-tempo single, “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

