Oklahoma City, The Blue Door, The San Diego Music Awards and Steve Poltz

So today has been a whirlwind for me. I got word that my band is mostly unavailable for the show on Friday, and that was kind of a blow for me, cause I was really excited to have them this weekend at the Beer Festival. Then, I found out why I wasn’t nominated for the San Diego Music Awards, and that kinda hurt… But before I get to all that-

The Blue Door in Oklahoma City is the OKC version of Lestats. Singer/Songwriter legends have played here, and it is one of my new favorite rooms to play in. Shane Alexander and Maggie McClure are beautiful, talented, and I was so grateful to share the stage with them. (You definitely want to see them! I’m going to try to get them to Lestats soon.)

I started looking around the room at the posters and Steve Poltz has a couple, Josh Ritter is here, Tony Lucca, and Ramblin’ Jack Elliott. (I did a blog about him a few months back.)

The owner, Greg, knows his stuff, and I was so honored that he had me come play and even took a picture with me after. (When you look at who he’s had here in the last 18 years, you start to wonder if you’re just another artist driving through.) But since the first day when I dropped off my fliers, he has been a gentleman, and someone who I would love to come play for! (I wonder if he’s hiring… I could live in OKC!!!)

Steve Poltz was our topic of conversation for a good amount of time, and it’s always interesting, because no matter where I go, I see his posters, and I think, “How the heck do I get to do a show with this guy?” I’ve been a fan since the first time I saw him play, and I think it’s about time that this happens. 😀 (Since I feel like I’m following in his footsteps and all…) And since neither of us were nominated for the San Diego Music Awards this year… 😛

Speaking of that. It’s hard to hear that I wasn’t nominated because I don’t live in San Diego. I have friends that live in places further than I am, that were nominated. I call myself a San Diegan, I claim it everywhere I go, and even though I’m in LA working on recording and moving to the next level, that doesn’t mean I don’t play monthly and even weekly in San Diego. I’ve bought more Amtrak tickets than most people have ever even thought about trains. But here’s the thing- If there was a year where I didn’t need to worry about the SDMA’s it was this year. There has been so much going on in my life this year, that any extra stress may be too much. So should I be considered next year? I think so. But do I do music for the SDMA’s? Nah. I do it for the Grammy’s. 😉 And we’ll see what happens with this next record! (Which will probably be recorded in San Diego….:-P maybe I’ll just start saying I’m from Southern California instead… :-P) Either way, Kevin Hellman does a hell of a good job running those, and I hope to be a part of them in the future. A huge thanks to everyone who has said they were “boycotting” the awards, but that’s not necessary. The work they do for raising money for Taylor Guitars in schools is much more important than a plaque that will just go in my bathroom. 😀

12 hours till Durango! See you in the morning! Remember, nothing but love guys!
-j

About Joshua Lodge

Josh will cheerfully admit that he averaged less than a dozen people a show when he first began playing San Diego coffee houses and clubs. But he garnered diehard fans in the process, sold a few thousand copies of his EP, Pocket Change, and picked up few awards along the way. After a traumatic family incident Josh retreated inward, and he ended up writing what would ultimately become his breakout debut, Raw. The album was true to its name and people noticed - Josh picked up two San Diego Music Awards for "Best Acoustic" and "Best Local Recording," opened for the likes of Zac Brown, Jason Mraz, and Matt Nathanson, and had enough money and momentum to tour the country a few times over. A few years after Raw, there was his third EP, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Josh spent much of the year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his album I Will Be There out now on Randm Records. From the joyous encouragement of “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all. A few years after Raw, there was his third release, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Damigo spent much of year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his latest album, "Just Give Me a Call", available now, on Randm Records. From the up-tempo single, “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

