Kickstarter starts in 3 days!!!

Workin on the video for my KICKSTARTER campaign!!!

So I’m getting pretty antsy about this KICKSTARTER campaign. And rather than spilling all of the beans on what I’m planning on doing, I thought I’d just give you a little rundown of:

  1. What KICKSTARTER is.
  2. How it works.
  3. How you can help.
Kickstarter is a way for musicians to get their projects funded. Everything from artwork supplies to new albums (Which is what I’m doing.) to tour vans and much more has been funded by musicians in the past. I’ve had some friends who have raised money for their albums using their services in the past, and with all the issues that have gone on this year, it seemed like a good idea. (When we talk issues, I mean the break-ins, robberies, and car problems I’ve had which have depleted my savings account…) It’s very humbling because I’m not one to really ask for help, (to a fault), but I have had alot of friends, family, and even fans (Who I haven’t met yet…. or I’d call them “Friends”) who have asked how they can help me with my career… and I guess this is the solution. 😛 
     Basically, what KICKSTARTER allows me to do is offer incentives to give money to help fund my new record. I can give rewards for different levels. FOR EXAMPLE: I COULD give out a 10 minute make-out session for let’s say, 200 bucks… now, I’m not going too… cause that’s borderline prostitution… but I could! (And I probably would… that’s how broke I am…:-P) I have a dozen or so things that I’m going to be giving away, and some of them are LIFE CHANGING/MARKING events that you’ll want to have a part of. (If helping make my new record wasn’t enough…) Everyone who donates to the campaign will be invited to a special “KICKSTARTER” show at the end of the campaign.
     The things that make this successful are not only the rewards, but the urgency of the donations. I only get 60 days to raise the amount that I’ve selected. I started by trying to raise 15,000 bucks, but after thinking it over for a while, I decided that this amount may be a little ambitious. While It would give me enough to do everything that I want to with the record, it wouldn’t necessarily help if I couldn’t raise the money.  (I can start the campaign over, but that’s a little embarassing…) So my goal is to raise 10,000 dollars, to put towards the printing, marketing, and recording of my album. And I’m going to be relying on much more help than anything I’ve ever gone for in the past.
     So how can you help? By talking up the campaign, sharing the video with others, letting people who may be looking to help fund art know what I’m doing, and the incentives I’m offering. By donating anything you can afford to help raise money with things like yard sales, bake sales, starting a paper route, taking out a loan… (Just kidding, btw…) Every dollar helps, and raising the money would be a HUGE help to my career because I’ll finally be able to have a project that has the quality necessary for placements, radio spots, and even national attention! (And some of you peeps who haven’t had me come to your city or even your state would like me to get out there eventually…. right??? :-P)
     Thank you so much in advance for everything, and a GREAT way to start would be to SHARE THIS BLOG with your friends! Invite them to add me on facebook. (http://www.facebook.com/joshdamigomusic) tell them to follow me on twitter (@joshdamigo) and any other social network they use. (MYSPACE, GOOGLE+, or even sign up for my e-mail list at REVERBNATION.COM)
Thanks again for the support, and for all the love you fuel me with. I hope to see you all soon!
Josh Damigo
About Joshua Lodge

Josh will cheerfully admit that he averaged less than a dozen people a show when he first began playing San Diego coffee houses and clubs. But he garnered diehard fans in the process, sold a few thousand copies of his EP, Pocket Change, and picked up few awards along the way. After a traumatic family incident Josh retreated inward, and he ended up writing what would ultimately become his breakout debut, Raw. The album was true to its name and people noticed - Josh picked up two San Diego Music Awards for "Best Acoustic" and "Best Local Recording," opened for the likes of Zac Brown, Jason Mraz, and Matt Nathanson, and had enough money and momentum to tour the country a few times over. A few years after Raw, there was his third EP, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Josh spent much of the year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his album I Will Be There out now on Randm Records. From the joyous encouragement of “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all. A few years after Raw, there was his third release, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Damigo spent much of year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his latest album, "Just Give Me a Call", available now, on Randm Records. From the up-tempo single, “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

