August Monthly E-mail!

I hope your summer is going well! My tour was a lot of fun! I hope you got to follow along on my blog! And minus the whole “I lost my wallet at the last gas station on the tour” thing… I had a great time! 😀

 

I don’t have a ton of shows coming up, because I have some changes that will be made within the next couple months. I can’t talk too much about them yet, but I can tell you about the new project I’m working on!

 

We’ve laid down 29 tracks to be considered for my BRAND NEW ALBUM!!! 😀 Some of the songs you may have heard on my youtube and at shows, but there are a “weeee” few which I’ve never played live, so I’m excited to see how this album turns out.

 

In order to make this record, however, I need funding. I was hoping that I could find investors and record labels in Los Angeles that would be interested, but most of the people I approached wanted to see me when I was further along in my career… or turned around and asked me for money!!! (I guess 2 San Diego Music Awards with only releasing 1 acoustic album isn’t enough… and it’s difficult to think that anyone could ask ME for money…. I’m so broke!!! :-P) So I had to come up with another way of raising the money to get to the next step in my career.

 

I heard about a website called “Kickstarter” in which other artists had raised money for their albums, artwork, and charities, and decided to check it out. What they basically do is help by hosting a website for donations, collect the donations, and distribute the funding in a way that is fair, reasonable, and without hastle.

 

Now I’m not one to “ask” for handouts, so I like that they allow me to offer rewards to people who back me. Which is awesome, because I like to feel like I’ve earned the money that has been donated. And I’m offering things like early releases on the record, picks from shows, and even the ability to put your company’s logo on the record or a tattoo on me!!!! 😮

 

So here’s what I’d like to ask for help with: Please check out my kickstarter page. There is a personal video from me, (Which is pretty funny…. if I do say so myself…) and the rewards for donations on the side. Check them out, see if you like any of them, or can afford to help, and if not, please forward me to your friends. The more publicity that I get for the project, the better the chances of me being able to fund it are! And what’s great about the project, is that we don’t have to stop at my goal of 6,000 dollars. (And that’s INCREDIBLY low for an album…) There is no limit! So we can really “Shoot for the Sun”! (Get it???)

 

Anyways, thank you so much for the love and the support! I’m so excited to work on this record and have you along for the ride!

 

Love you guys! And I hope to talk to you soon! (Remember that you can e-mail me any time! You never know when I may really need a pick-me-up!)

-j

 

(I have a show MONDAY night in LA and in a few weeks in San Diego! Hope you can make it out as well! I’ll have a tip jar for donations there too!)

About Joshua Lodge

Josh will cheerfully admit that he averaged less than a dozen people a show when he first began playing San Diego coffee houses and clubs. But he garnered diehard fans in the process, sold a few thousand copies of his EP, Pocket Change, and picked up few awards along the way. After a traumatic family incident Josh retreated inward, and he ended up writing what would ultimately become his breakout debut, Raw. The album was true to its name and people noticed - Josh picked up two San Diego Music Awards for "Best Acoustic" and "Best Local Recording," opened for the likes of Zac Brown, Jason Mraz, and Matt Nathanson, and had enough money and momentum to tour the country a few times over. A few years after Raw, there was his third EP, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Josh spent much of the year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his album I Will Be There out now on Randm Records. From the joyous encouragement of “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all. A few years after Raw, there was his third release, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Damigo spent much of year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his latest album, "Just Give Me a Call", available now, on Randm Records. From the up-tempo single, “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to August Monthly E-mail!

  1. Jennifer says:

    I can help.

Leave a Reply

