San Francisco, Ex-Girlfriends, and Redding

Hotel Utah

Hotel Utah

Last night’s show in San Francisco was the best show I’ve had in the Bay Area to date. It’s always nice to go back to where I grew up and see old friends/places, and see the changes that are happening.

The staff at Hotel Utah was great. And Jeff, the sound guy was amazing. I had been asked to open, but then was made to follow a full band, which is not really ideal for a singer/songwriter (or fair) but I feel like I can take care of a room okay on my own. 😛 I had a dozen or so people there, but nobody from my childhood/friends from highschool. It was literally all people who knew me through my music. I guess that means I’m doing something right! 😀

Grandma came with me and I embarrassed her from the stage pretty good. I told everyone who was at the show that when my album, “Raw” came out, I asked her what she thought of it, and she said,”It’s okay… But that girl, Shawn Mayer… Man can she sing!!!” (Which made my jaw drop, cause Grandma complemented the only other singer on the album, and not me… Pshhh… Maybe she should be a music critic??? :-D) I dedicated, “Something’s Telling Me” to her and told everyone how she had taught me how to play baseball, and was my best friend. I was so glad she came with me. Mom was at Science Camp, Dad was waking up for work at 3am, Grandpa was just getting home from a 9 hour drive when we were leaving, and my little brother wasn’t old enough to get in, so the fact that she came was awesome!

I’m currently on my way to Redding which is a city I used to live near when I worked at a summer camp the day after I graduated high school. If I could go back to one time in my life, it would probably be that summer. I met my best friend Trevor, fell in love for the first time, and started writing music regularly. I was the camp cook…well… assistant to the cook… I pretty much did hot foods and helped with baking because my allergies were too bad to go outside and do hard labor. 😛

But this drive has been kind of hard. Not only is it literally bringing back every memory of Pocket Change that I ever had, Facebook suggested I “friend” the girl it’s written about today. :-/ it’s honestly so weird to have feelings for someone that you haven’t even seen in almost 10 years. She’s married now, and I’m happy for her, but I don’t think a part of me will ever get over her.

On top of that, last night, I had a dream about a different ex who I dated for about 4 years. I went to text her about it, and her facebook profile is her new wedding photos. ::ouch:: I don’t know why it’s so hard for me to let go of relationships but today has kinda hurt.

I stopped by my buddies, Stop Motion Poetry’s studio to record some songs of me with my loop pedal. It was really awesome, and those guys are really something awesome. I recorded “Pocket Change” and “Just Let Me Love You”, nd may have them available as a live LP or something. I’ll let you know. 😛

I’m currently listening to the Tampa Bay game and biting my nails because if they win and the Sox lose, we’re out of the playoffs. Come on, lucky spider tattoo!!! 😛

If you’re in or around Redding, I’ll be playing at the Post Office tonight around 6:30. Would love to see you! 😀

The Post Office Saloon

The Post Office Saloon

About Joshua Lodge

Josh will cheerfully admit that he averaged less than a dozen people a show when he first began playing San Diego coffee houses and clubs. But he garnered diehard fans in the process, sold a few thousand copies of his EP, Pocket Change, and picked up few awards along the way. After a traumatic family incident Josh retreated inward, and he ended up writing what would ultimately become his breakout debut, Raw. The album was true to its name and people noticed - Josh picked up two San Diego Music Awards for "Best Acoustic" and "Best Local Recording," opened for the likes of Zac Brown, Jason Mraz, and Matt Nathanson, and had enough money and momentum to tour the country a few times over. A few years after Raw, there was his third EP, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Josh spent much of the year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his album I Will Be There out now on Randm Records. From the joyous encouragement of “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all. A few years after Raw, there was his third release, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Damigo spent much of year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his latest album, "Just Give Me a Call", available now, on Randm Records. From the up-tempo single, “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

