The Post Office, and the Portland Mix-up

So here’s the thing. The show tonight was unreal. I HATE playing 3 hour gigs, but all of a sudden, I realized I had enough material to cover that amount of time, and they haven’t seemed so bad! The show at the Post Office in Redding was awesome!!! Almost every person in the bar bought a cd, and I’ve never had such a grateful crowd!!! “PLEASE come back to Redding!” “This place is a wasteland of nontalented musicians….” (I thought that one was a little rough, but damn!!!!)

I got to hang out with my buddy Pokey and a good friend of my brother’s at the show and we hung out for a while after the show and it was just an absolutely great time.

I’m currently driving to my show in Portland, but I have to say, I’m listening to this show called “Coast to Coast AM” which is talking about “the spirit realm” and it’s really creeping me out… But I’m trying to listen and understand these people cause I feel like that’s an area I don’t know or comprehend (or even really want to…) But the lady guest is a celebrity psychic or something, and all she’s done is sound like the biggest ghost name dropper of all time… Sigh… If I was a ghost, I wouldn’t want everyone knowing my business… Keep it a secret, lady…sheesh…

Playing in Portland at the Buffalo Gap tonight with Acoustic Minds. They were very gracious to put me on the bill, so I hope you will support them! My show in Portland was cancelled and both the Buffalo Gap booker and the other band were so incredibly kind to take a chance on booking me.

This will be my first time to Portland, Oregon that I remember. I seem to remember a story about my mom buying tickets from San Francisco to Portland, Maine but ended up on a plane to Portland, Oregon. So maybe I’ve been there before, but I’m not gonna text her at 1:00 in the morning for you guys, so quit asking…

Wow this blog is terrible… I guess I’m tired… I’m gonna go to sleep soon. Thanks for making the beginning of the tour so great! I wish I could do this all the time!

-j

About Joshua Lodge

Josh will cheerfully admit that he averaged less than a dozen people a show when he first began playing San Diego coffee houses and clubs. But he garnered diehard fans in the process, sold a few thousand copies of his EP, Pocket Change, and picked up few awards along the way. After a traumatic family incident Josh retreated inward, and he ended up writing what would ultimately become his breakout debut, Raw. The album was true to its name and people noticed - Josh picked up two San Diego Music Awards for "Best Acoustic" and "Best Local Recording," opened for the likes of Zac Brown, Jason Mraz, and Matt Nathanson, and had enough money and momentum to tour the country a few times over. A few years after Raw, there was his third EP, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Josh spent much of the year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his album I Will Be There out now on Randm Records. From the joyous encouragement of “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all. A few years after Raw, there was his third release, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Damigo spent much of year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his latest album, "Just Give Me a Call", available now, on Randm Records. From the up-tempo single, “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Post Office, and the Portland Mix-up

  1. Mom says:

    Not you….the luggage went to Portland, OR!!

  2. Joanne Record-Prokopakis says:

    JOANNE RECORD-PROKOPAKIS SAYS We enjoyed the show……Thanks to your Grandmother we knew you were coming……

Leave a Reply

