The Worst Thing. :-(

I’m sure life could get worse. I’m sure there are days that seem terrible, but in some way you can think positively. But this morning, I lost my wallet when I was getting air in my tires. I accepted it and moved on. It meant it would be difficult to get cash out, and would take a significant amount of extra planning on the rest of the trip…. But a few hours later I realized it meant I wouldn’t be able to visit my brother in prison, because I had no ID. There’s no way to get a new ID in time to see him next Saturday, and I guess that’s just how it’s going to be.

Eventually everyone comes to that tipping point in their lives when they just want to lay down and cry. I’ve reached that a lot this year. I think that Ben Folds explained it best on “The Sing-off” last week when he said, “A musician’s life is a humbling one… and it will continue to get humbling…” I never thought I’d be poor. It just never crossed my mind. I never thought I’d have to struggle to do my art. I never thought I’d be depending on every show to make rent, get food, or even get enough gas for the next stop. But I am. And I’m scared, excited, and I’m doing my best.

Can I understand why i’d be burglarized 4 times in a year? No. Can I understand why my girlfriend would disappear the second I moved to a new city for her? No. Do I understand why I haven’t lost my wallet in 5 years, and then in the last two months, it disappears twice? No. But am I at the tipping point? Am I gonna cry? No. For some reason I feel strong today. I feel peaceful. This is all a big story that will one day be hilarious. This will all weave into a beautiful “something” one day. I just know it.

Love you guys. I hope to see you in Seattle tonight. If I look like a bird with a damaged wing, don’t feel sorry for me. If I look like a lactose intolerant person living in Seattle, that would be weird. But it’s kinda funny to think of. Can you imagine if you couldn’t drink milk? (If you’re lactose intolerant I’m sorry…) OR CHEESE?? I LOVE cheese…

Anyways. I know it will get harder when I get closer to Nathan on this tour, and know that I won’t be able to see him or give him a hug, but I have to believe that there’s a reason or learn from this. :-/

Love you and grateful for every single one of you.
-j

About Joshua Lodge

Josh will cheerfully admit that he averaged less than a dozen people a show when he first began playing San Diego coffee houses and clubs. But he garnered diehard fans in the process, sold a few thousand copies of his EP, Pocket Change, and picked up few awards along the way. After a traumatic family incident Josh retreated inward, and he ended up writing what would ultimately become his breakout debut, Raw. The album was true to its name and people noticed - Josh picked up two San Diego Music Awards for "Best Acoustic" and "Best Local Recording," opened for the likes of Zac Brown, Jason Mraz, and Matt Nathanson, and had enough money and momentum to tour the country a few times over. A few years after Raw, there was his third EP, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Josh spent much of the year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his album I Will Be There out now on Randm Records. From the joyous encouragement of “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all. A few years after Raw, there was his third release, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Damigo spent much of year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his latest album, "Just Give Me a Call", available now, on Randm Records. From the up-tempo single, “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Worst Thing. :-(

  1. Hang in there Josh. You’ve got a lot more people following your journey than you think. What goes around, comes around. You are a great musician and a really nice man. That’s worth lots of karma points!

  2. AP Mommy says:

    I’m so bummed I’m not in town to see you! Sorry you’ve lost your wallet. 😦 Any chance it will turn up?

    • Josh Damigo says:

      probably not. I’ve torn my car apart. I’m going to call the police station in the city I was in to see if anyone turned it in. :-/

  3. Be strong, darlin’. Thanks for sharing.

  4. Jenn Lunt says:

    I’m so sorry to hear this. I know you were taking a collection for your album…might you just set something up as a way to continue to contribute? As I sit here with one broken ankle, and the other with two sprains, I understand the need to smile through the difficult times. Please continue to stay strong and know there are those who care. Please let me know if I can help, in whatever capacity I might be able (since it surely won’t be anything having to do with using my feet!) 🙂 Hugs! ~Jenn

  5. Lou says:

    There’s a reason for everything Josh!! And I’m sure you are going thru all this because you can handle it. I will pray for you. A mantra tip from me to you..just keep saying “This too shall pass” and it will. Hang in there!

Leave a Reply

