Seattle, Coeur d’Alene, and Old Friends

Huge thanks to Jason for the photo!

Huge thanks to Jason for the photo!

I am really enjoying all this driving! I never realized how nice it is to just drive and think. It took me a good bit of time to come to grips with driving out to visit my brother and not be able to see him, but I’ll go back again. I just feel bad cause I would hate to be stuck in a cell all day, think that someone’s coming to visit me and then find out it didn’t happen. I hate feeling like I’m letting Nathan down, but there’s nothing I can do.

The shows are the best distraction though. Seattle was fantastic. El Diablo was a sweet venue and the skinny hazelnut latte was the best latte I’ve ever had. The city has so much character and I totally dug the vibe. I can see why it’d be a great spot for singer/songwriters. I’d want to start a fire, brew some coffee and write all day!

My buddy Josh brought 11 people with him, Samantha lived right down the street, Christina came up from Portland, and JJ got off work early! But probably what may be the new highlight of my trip was getting to see Jordy.

Jordy and I grew up together. We were always super close. She played drums and sang back ups and I played guitar and lead vocals in our band. (We never followed through with making a band which is a total shame!) In fact, her sister and my brother were high school sweethearts, so I’ve always thought of their family as an extension of my family. We talked for about 2 hours after the gig, and she took me to Dick’s (which is supposed to be like In-N-Out… Ha…) And to a spot to look at the space needle. (Which I called a sky scraper… Cause I’m not good with the whole “Name this landmark” game…) And apparently Seattle has an amazing theatre scene. Whenever I think of “The Stage” or productions, I think of New York or LA, but she assured me that if I didn’t agree with her that Seattle was one of the best, I’d be an idiot. And I don’t want to be an idiot. So Seattle has a wonderful theatre scene.

We played “Old Friend” by the OC Supertones at a few different events in Highschool, and there couldn’t be a more perfect explanation of our relationship. I know I can always talk to her, and I think she knows she can always talk to me now too. 😛

I drove out to Couer d’Alene and slept for a bit. The show was at Calypso’s Coffee Shop and that place is a beautiful city/venue! Another brilliant latte, and good conversation with one of the barista’s, and then it was time to play. The show didn’t have a huge turnout, but nobody split or cussed me out during the set, so that’s good. 😛

There was a beautiful young lady who got to the set midway through and walked in talking on her phone. Adrienne literally walked up to the stage, looked me up and down, looked at the poster and I listened to her tell her friend all about me to try to get her to come out. (I don’t think she knew I was listening while I was playing… :-P) She literally made me play better. It reminds me of a time I showed up to La Gran Tapas in San Diego to watch Tomcat Courtney and the owner said, “Ahhhh!!! I love to see you! Tomcat always plays better when you’re here.” (No matter how old I get that compliment will probably always bring tears to my eyes.) Adrienne talked to me after and said that the place as usually packed, and made me promise to come back. 😀

I’m about 2 hours outside of Boise. (Idaho is a big ‘ol state!!! The views have been amazing! But my phone can’t decide if it’s Pacific time or Mountain time or Central Time… So I don’t know what time it really is…) I’m going to be hanging out in Boise tomorrow and the peeps from Rising Magazine asked me to come play an open mic since we couldn’t find a show in Boise on a Monday w/limited time to book. It’ll be a nice get together with people who truly support indie music. (Huge thanks to Monte Pittman for introducing me to them!)

Last thing I wanna say is that I’m sorry if my posts bring you down. It’s just a blog. I get my. Feelings out and I’ve always felt that the more honest I am with my posts the more real my songs seem and maybe the more people can relate. I try to do the whole hollywood “happy all the time” thing, but I can’t do that. It’s not me. (I guess I can’t work as the 4th Jonas Brother…) Sometimes I get messages from people who get annoyed with my writings, but like Thumper’s mom says, “If you can’t say nothin’ nice…” 😛 Especially if you’re gonna try to post it anonymously. Anyone can say anything when they won’t put their name on it, so if you don’t want to be annoyed, go read Bieber’s tweets I guess… 😛

Thanks to everyone else who have sent e-mails and comments asking if there was any other way they could help get me my ID. It will all work out. And I’m praying for a miracle.

Love you guys! See you in Boise!
-j

About Joshua Lodge

Josh will cheerfully admit that he averaged less than a dozen people a show when he first began playing San Diego coffee houses and clubs. But he garnered diehard fans in the process, sold a few thousand copies of his EP, Pocket Change, and picked up few awards along the way. After a traumatic family incident Josh retreated inward, and he ended up writing what would ultimately become his breakout debut, Raw. The album was true to its name and people noticed - Josh picked up two San Diego Music Awards for "Best Acoustic" and "Best Local Recording," opened for the likes of Zac Brown, Jason Mraz, and Matt Nathanson, and had enough money and momentum to tour the country a few times over. A few years after Raw, there was his third EP, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Josh spent much of the year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his album I Will Be There out now on Randm Records. From the joyous encouragement of “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all. A few years after Raw, there was his third release, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Damigo spent much of year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his latest album, "Just Give Me a Call", available now, on Randm Records. From the up-tempo single, “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

