Get Out Of Jail Free – Visiting My Brother

Today was tough. I had a great gig at the Laughing Goat in Boulder, Colorado with a band called Benyaro. (They were awesome! Real Americana music, great writing and great voices!) As I was leaving. I suddenly realized that I wouldn’t be getting to Sayre, Oklahoma until 9:15am. So the entire night was just one giant blur.

I wrote two songs on the drive. One called “You’re Gonna Have to Shoot Me Down” and “Conversations with the Road”. Kinda cool way to kill some time. 😀

When I finally got to Sayre, I had downed 3 Hazelnut Lattes, 2 coffees, and a 5 hour energy. I was WIRED… Then 3 hours during my visit with Nathan, I had another one… and I was still falling asleep. But I didn’t want to miss a second with Nate.

He looks like a character from that TV show, “Sons of Anarchy”. Shaved head, HUGE goatee. What’s funny is he made fun of me! “Yo Josh, What are you?? Homeless??” (Yeah.. my tour beard/Halloween costume is pretty aggressive right now…) We talked for about two hours and I told him I needed to start doing something, or I was gonna fall asleep.

We started with a game of Poker. He hates playing with me. I talk so much trash and get in his head, and he can’t win. My favorite quote of the day, “Nate… I only have two hands… ‘Winning’ and ‘About to Win’.” 😀  He loves bragging about beating everyone in jail, but hates playing with me cause I can tell when he’s bluffing.  (Something about sharing a bedroom for 16 years makes you get close to someone, I guess…) 😀

We then played a little Rummikub. He had never played before, but he caught on really quick. He’s got skills at organizing stuff. And even though it was his first time playing, he gave me a run for my money!

We ended up taking a break from playing games, since I never let him win… 😛 And talked about life and business and philosophy. It’s interesting to see his point of view on things. Even though I completely disagree with him on some issues, I can’t help but think that his world view has been completely affected by the way our country, and even city has treated him. I really wish the Marines would have helped out more with his case. This whole thing just makes me so upset. How could anyone possibly prosecute a Marine who’s only been home a few weeks? There’s obviously got to be something bigger going on. 😦

I started fading again and he suggested playing Monopoly. It was an incredibly intense game. We had to keep going back to the rules cause we would both protest each other’s play. I controlled most of the board, but he had all the money, because he kept landing on “Free Parking” and in our family, that means you get a quick 1,000 bucks. I quickly picked up a few corners of the board, including hotels on Boardwalk and Park Place, (Which would eventually be the end of him!!!) 😛

It was kinda funny when he rolled three doubles and had to “go directly to jail.” Then, when I took the puppy and visited him on my next turn we had a good laugh. 😀

When he picked up the “Get Out of Jail Free” card, I kinda lost it. I hope it didn’t show too much, and I know it sounds ridiculous, but I’ve never wanted a card to actually be real so badly in my whole life. (Later, we actually showed it to one of the guards, and said, “It’s cool, right? He can come home with me???” :-P)

We laughed alot. Cracked the guards and other inmates up by arguing over the dumbest things and breaking out into random songs. He keeps singing the new Script song. He didn’t know who they were, but said VH1 always plays their music video, and it gets stuck in his head. My favorite moment was when we asked the guard if we could do a sleepover in his cell and then looked at her like she was our mom and said, “Pleeeeeeeeease?????”

It’s so funny because after a while, you run out of things to talk about, but when the time runs out, and you have to leave, you realize it hasn’t been enough time. :*-/

I started driving to Dallas but was falling asleep at the wheel, so I stopped at a cheap hotel and I’m about to sleep for 12 hours.

Today was worth the entire tour. I’m so thankful to the Sandy Police Department and the construction worker for finding my wallet and getting it to me. I really needed to see my brother.

See you in Dallas, Austin, Albuquerque, Tucson and San Diego!

-j

About Josh Damigo

Josh will cheerfully admit that he averaged less than a dozen people a show when he first began playing San Diego coffee houses. But he garnered diehard fans in the process, sold a few thousand copies of his homemade EP, Pocket Change, and picked up few awards along the way. After a traumatic family incident, Damigo retreated inward, and he ended up writing what would ultimately become his breakout debut, Raw. The album was true to its name and people noticed - Josh picked up two San Diego Music Awards for “Best Acoustic” and “Best Local Recording,” opened for the likes of Zac Brown, Jason Mraz, Eric Hutchinson, and Matt Nathanson, and had enough money and momentum to tour the country a few times over. A few years after Raw, there was his third release, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Damigo spent much of year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his latest album, "Just Give Me a Call", available now, on Randm Records. From the up-tempo single, “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Get Out Of Jail Free – Visiting My Brother

  1. Cindy says:

    Josh this brings a tear to my eye reading about your brother. We pray for peace for him and the whole family. Please keep safe while your driving.

Leave a Reply

