Dallas, Austin, and DEER!!!!

So I’ve gotten to know a little bit of Texas today. I’m currently in the midst of a 12 hour drive from Austin to Albuquerque. I had a fantastic time in Dallas on Monday night playing at the Opening Bell Coffee House.

Opening Bell is another one of those spots that would be my regular spot every day. I totally dug that spot. And great drinks too! I got to meet the owner and she invited me to come back. Hopefully more than just Belinda, her husband and Jason will come to watch me. 😛 It’s sometimes tough when u feel like you know a few people in a city and they can’t make it. It’s understandable when things come up, but when 6+ people say they’re coming and can’t make it, it can get to ya. And the text messages/e-mails that say, “Sorry I can’t make it.”? Let me tell you guys all a secret. ALL musicians haaaaaate that. We’d rather you just didn’t tell us. 😛

I tell all of my SD peeps at shows to support the touring artists and I’m always so proud of them cause they do. That’s the best part of doing what I do. Meeting friends/fans who “get it”. I’m so grateful for you guys! You have no clue. I wouldn’t be anywhere near where I am in my career if it wasn’t for you!

I drove to Austin after the show in Dallas, cause I knew that I had a huge drive the next day and didn’t need to add more time in the car… 😀

Austin was fun. I got to Poodie’s around lunchtime and had the chicken sandwhich. DELISH! Then I drove to my friend, Barbara Nesbit’s pad. We literally just talked about life, love, and how amazing of a golfer I am. (I’m not…) It’s always good to have a piece of home on the tour, and she’s the type that I feel comfortable sharing anything and everything with. (She’s also wicked talented and gorgeous… Triple threat!!!)

I drove back to Poodies, set up and played my set. Low turnout, but MAN did they tip! The band after me was also wicked complimentary. I’d love to play there again!

After my gig I drove to Barbara’s gig and met some awesome people! We exchanged stories and I hit the road.

So… Apparently it’s mating season, and deer are big fans of the Beatles’ song, “Why Don’t We Do It In the Road” Cause I’ve literally seen over 25 deer so far. (I even swerved to avoid 2 of them!) All I could honestly think about was how terrible I would feel if I killed Bambi’s mother. I wouldn’t forgive myself. I guess that means I should get back to paying attention…. 😛

7 1/2 hours till Albuquerque! See you tomorrow night at Zinc w/ Daniel Park! Free show (tips accepted) 6:30-9.

Get out of the road, Deer!

Get out of the road, Deer!

About Joshua Lodge

Josh will cheerfully admit that he averaged less than a dozen people a show when he first began playing San Diego coffee houses and clubs. But he garnered diehard fans in the process, sold a few thousand copies of his EP, Pocket Change, and picked up few awards along the way. After a traumatic family incident Josh retreated inward, and he ended up writing what would ultimately become his breakout debut, Raw. The album was true to its name and people noticed - Josh picked up two San Diego Music Awards for "Best Acoustic" and "Best Local Recording," opened for the likes of Zac Brown, Jason Mraz, and Matt Nathanson, and had enough money and momentum to tour the country a few times over. A few years after Raw, there was his third EP, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Josh spent much of the year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his album I Will Be There out now on Randm Records. From the joyous encouragement of “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all. A few years after Raw, there was his third release, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Damigo spent much of year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his latest album, "Just Give Me a Call", available now, on Randm Records. From the up-tempo single, “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

