So uh… I hit a deer…

No kidding...

No kidding…

So I dunno if I “manifested” it to happen, or if it’s just a part of my crazy life that I’m just unlucky. But just like I posted 2 days ago. The deer are out again. And this time… :*-(

I decided to drive from ABQ to Tucson early so I could see my buddy Trevor. I’ve always driven at night and I really like how there are no cars on the street and I can save a serious amount of time during my travels. But this whole deer epidemic is absolutely unreal! I literaly saw 30+ the other night and tonight I’ve seen some championship bucks that would make hunters drool.

Well, as I was driving in the middle of nowhere in new mexico (I think on the 34) and I saw two fenale deer racing towards the street. I literally laid on my horn and screamed, “NO, NO, NOOOOOOO!!!” But it didn’t do any good. 😦 the deer out in front ran straight into my path and I tried swerving and braking but it stopped me like a brick wall. I don’t remember what happened after that. I know I didn’t run it over cause there was no “Thud, Thud”. But I remember looking back and not seeing any deer. (I really want to believe the deer was okay. But I honestly don’t know.)

My car started making a scraping sound that was absolutely unbearable. In my mind I just pictured the poor deer trapped under my car, so I jumped out and looked, scared to death of what I might find….

No deer. ::sigh:: But there was also no reception, no street lights andjust about the only thing that there actually was, was the sound of wild animals echoing through the hills. (Might have been in my mind, but either way, when Trevor texted me, “Don’t worry about that, it’s just wherewolves.” He became my most hated enemy.

I drove 60 miles into the nearest town and stopped at a gas station. (Sidenote: REALLY, NEW MEXICO??? NO REST STOPS OR ANYTHING FOR 60 MILES????) “Whew,” I thought, “It’s just my bumper.” As it was absolutely torn to shreds and warn down from the road.

I started my car back up again and started driving away. The sound was still there, so I pulled over and looked again, and my front right tire was placed a lot closer to the car than the left one. (It’s hard to explain.. U know how the body of the car goes over the wheel? It’s close to that part.) So my guess is that the noise is the tire rubbing against the car body, and that my frame has been dented. 😦

I’m now 3 1/2 hours outside of Tucson, and I’ve never wanted a night to be over so bad in my life. I’m so nervous that the tire will burst. (The PSI reader in my car says it lost 10 psi so far…)

Luckily my trip won’t be ruined. If I can get to tucson, I can play my show on friday and take a plane to San Diego if necessary on Saturday.

But no joke. Every reflector makes me look twice! Every movement on the road makes me jump. The whole animal kingdom seems to be looking at me with angry eyes. 😦

Oh, deer.

(Update)
I made it to Tucson and AAA is towing my car to a body shop. Hopefully I’ll be able to get a rental car… But I don’t have a valid credit card… So…. The adventure continues!!!

About Joshua Lodge

Josh will cheerfully admit that he averaged less than a dozen people a show when he first began playing San Diego coffee houses and clubs. But he garnered diehard fans in the process, sold a few thousand copies of his EP, Pocket Change, and picked up few awards along the way. After a traumatic family incident Josh retreated inward, and he ended up writing what would ultimately become his breakout debut, Raw. The album was true to its name and people noticed - Josh picked up two San Diego Music Awards for "Best Acoustic" and "Best Local Recording," opened for the likes of Zac Brown, Jason Mraz, and Matt Nathanson, and had enough money and momentum to tour the country a few times over. A few years after Raw, there was his third EP, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Josh spent much of the year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his album I Will Be There out now on Randm Records. From the joyous encouragement of “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all. A few years after Raw, there was his third release, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Damigo spent much of year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his latest album, "Just Give Me a Call", available now, on Randm Records. From the up-tempo single, “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to So uh… I hit a deer…

  1. You seriously know how to give me a heart attack. I’m glad you’re okay, I’m sorry that your car is not. I feel responsible now for not telling you last week when you were swerving and taking out cones that the last thing you wanna do is honk the horn. Call if ya need anything. xoxo

Leave a Reply

