Finally Getting my Car and Ventura!

This morning started at 3:30AM PST. For some reason I couldn’t sleep, so instead of counting sheep, I decided to hurl birds at pigs. (Angry Birds is not a good way to try to sleep.) I finally gave in and made breakfast at 4:45 and my BEAUTIFUL, WONDERFUL, roommate Christin took me to the airport for my 6:30 flight.

I’m still rocking my “tour beard” so the security guy took longer than usual in letting me through to my plane. (“No, That’s not a joke… Just a humorous coincidence.” -Rob Deez)

I slept through some of the plane trip, but it’s only 45 mins from SD to PHX and only 29 from PHX to TUC. But I had a 2 hour layover…sigh… I made the most of it and downloaded the new OS for my ipad and played more angry birds…

Trevor picked me up at the airport and took me to get my car. Finish Line Collision Repair in Tucson is AWESOME. They literally treated me better than my own family. They fixed my car, worked with my insurance, let me know what was going on regularly, and even detailed my car for me! (And that was no small job… 3 weeks of touring and sleeping in a car can make it pretty musty…)

I went over to Cameron Hood’s house for a few minutes. We have a nasty habit of getting together and playing new songs to get outside/critical opinions of our new material. God only knows if we’ll ever use the other person’s suggestions. He inspired me to write a new song called, “I Didn’t Mean To Fall in Love With You”. I think I’ve probably written one with that title before, but you know me… 😛

When I left I got an advance copy of RyanHood’s new album, “After Night Came Sun.” When I play with them in San Diego on December 1st, you MUST come to the show and get it. I’ve listened to it the whole way through and it’s just jam packed full of gems. I already have 4 favorites, but the first song, “Second City” had an incredibly addictive, toe-tapping beat combined with hook after hook that seemed to not finish till I got to the beginning of the album again. LOVE LOVE LOVE this record! (December 1st- Lestat’s)

I then rolled over to PacSun in Tucson’s Park Place Mall. Little Hurricane has been doing appearances at all of these locations on their tour. It was pretty awesome, and the staff was so incredibly excited to have them for their live-in-store performance. I followed Tone and Cece to their show at the Rialto where they put on another killer show. Can these guys do anything wrong? Even their occasional missed notes somehow make those dirty blues sound so damn good!!!! Favorite band, hands down.

Then it was off to my 6 hour drive back to SD. I’m about 30 minutes from home now, and I have taken every “deer xing” sign extremely serious. (Sidenote- how come pastor’s get all hung up about people writing “xmas” but don’t make a stink when people take the “cross” out of “crossing?” #Semanticsjoke. #illbehereallnightfolks)

Tomorrow I’ll be squashed between two people I admire immensely. Going on before me is Rita Wilson. (Mrs. Tom Hanks) I’m excited to see her play because since I found out she was playing, I’ve heard nothing but great things about her and I remember having a convo with Shawn Mullins about how EVERYBODY liking Tom Hanks. Pretty sure I inspired a song… We’ll see…

Aj Croce is a phenomenal musician. I am a HUGE fan of his father’s and I’m even recording one of his Dad’s (Jim Croce) songs for my new album. He may be playing some piano on my album as well! As a little kid, I listened to Jim with my dad when I was visiting for 2-3 weeks in the summer, and his voice takes me back to a time in my life where I couldn’t have squeezed anymore joy in my tiny body. And it’s at Zoey’s, my home away from Lestat’s. I hope you can all make it to my final stop on this West Coast Tour!

Well, I must go find Nyquil or Benadryl to counteract the coffee I drank to stay awake. Love you guys! Thanks so much for everyone who keeps pushing me to keep going. I’m that 7 year old again and can’t wait to take my turn behind the mic tonight!

-j

About Joshua Lodge

Josh will cheerfully admit that he averaged less than a dozen people a show when he first began playing San Diego coffee houses and clubs. But he garnered diehard fans in the process, sold a few thousand copies of his EP, Pocket Change, and picked up few awards along the way. After a traumatic family incident Josh retreated inward, and he ended up writing what would ultimately become his breakout debut, Raw. The album was true to its name and people noticed - Josh picked up two San Diego Music Awards for "Best Acoustic" and "Best Local Recording," opened for the likes of Zac Brown, Jason Mraz, and Matt Nathanson, and had enough money and momentum to tour the country a few times over. A few years after Raw, there was his third EP, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Josh spent much of the year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his album I Will Be There out now on Randm Records. From the joyous encouragement of “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all. A few years after Raw, there was his third release, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Damigo spent much of year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his latest album, "Just Give Me a Call", available now, on Randm Records. From the up-tempo single, “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

