Day 4 – #brokeasstour

The morning started out with a crazy snow storm. I mean like, CRAZY-CAN’T-SEE-YOUR-HAND-IN-FRONT-OF-YOUR-FACE snow storm… I was the only car on the road and couldn’t tell at some points which way the road was going, and if it weren’t for those little “BRRRRP BRRRPPP BRRRRRRRPPPP” things on the side of the road, I would’ve gone off-roading for sure….

I spent two hours on the phone with a friend, talking about life and rejection and heartbreak. It was one of those conversations that stays with you for a while. I really love talking with her about this kinda stuff, because I don’t think I’ve ever talked with anyone about it. Sometimes God sends you the right person at the right time. There’s no doubt in my mind that she’s definitely a godsend.

I left Park City at 11:30 and drove all the way till 6:30. I pulled over to a rest stop that didn’t have snow, and was out for about 3 hours.

I woke up to a dog barking and a family getting into their car and driving off. I don’t know how to vacation with a dog… I think that would be interesting…. How does it not poop in the car? How does it eat? Do you just take a lot of breaks between cities??? I wish I could afford a dog… I think most of my problems would be solved…

I drove the rest of the way to Coeur d’Alene and got there around 12:30. I stopped at the bank to make a deposit and facebooked my only friend in town to find out where a good spot for breakfast was. I found out that Coeur d’Alene is Pacific Standard Time and not Mountain Time, which made me mad cause I would have slept more. I ended up going to the Breakfast Nook, and they served me a HUGE breakfast… and about 8 cups of coffee.

I’m gonna go on a little rant here. Forgive me. It’s just something that’s bothered me for a bit. The girl that I message on facebook about a place to eat gets back to me and says, “The Breakfast Nook isn’t that great.” I say, “Well you should have replied to my facebook message earlier than… punk…” NOW I WOULD THINK THAT ANYONE WHO KNOWS ME WOULD LAUGH AT THAT… but she didn’t. In fact, she blocked me and deleted me on facebook. The ONLY person I knew in Coeur d’Alene. We’d never had a previous argument and I even sent a message before I knew she blocked me saying, “I hope you know I was goofin…. What’s up?” nothing… no reply… no nothing… just a notification that I had been deleted… wow… Oh well… that’s my life for ya… 😛

So I played the show at Calypso’s, and it’s kinda funny… but as soon as I brought my guitar and mic stand into the place, it cleared out. 25 people literally looked at me, got up and walked out… I think that would be a hilarious skit to do on youtube…

I played for about an hour, and realized that nobody cared that I was playing…. so I announced that I’d be playing one more song. There were literally 7 people in the place. Two were doing homework on the stage behind me, two were sittin on the couch giggling at facebook, i’m guessing, and two were interviewing a girl to be their new nanny. When I finished. The guy on stage behind me came up and talked to me immediately.

Him:”Hey man, How much is your album?”
ME: What??? Really??
Him: Yeah man, You’re great!
Woman Sitting behind me: I want one too!
ME: WHAAAT??? REALLY???
Both: Yeah.
ME: I thought I was bugging you guys… haha!!!

I guess that goes to prove that I’m an idiot. We talked for about 20 minutes as I packed up and were the kindest and friendliest people I’ve met thus far on tour.

I got in the car which is now FILTHY because of all the snow the night before.

I pulled into Seattle around 12:30… exhausted beyond belief. I called my buddy who I was staying with…. no answer… I texted… no reply… So I got my sleeping bag out and slept in the car…
-fin

haha. I’ll tell you more about my buddy who made me sleep in the car tomorrow. Tonight’s show in Seattle is going to be great. I hope you’re having a good Easter! I just went to church and it looks like we’re going to a family dinner before. Tomorrow is Portland, and then I’ll be driving straight to Tracy to do my taxes and finally ending up in Santa Barbara. Gonna be a long one! ;-D

401.71 day 3 total
-40.43 gas
-42.02 gas
-1.79 coffee
-16.70 breakfast
-31.07 gas
-11.00 gas
-7.20 dinner
+20 CDs

$271.50 day 4 total

20120408-124246.jpg

About Joshua Lodge

Josh will cheerfully admit that he averaged less than a dozen people a show when he first began playing San Diego coffee houses and clubs. But he garnered diehard fans in the process, sold a few thousand copies of his EP, Pocket Change, and picked up few awards along the way. After a traumatic family incident Josh retreated inward, and he ended up writing what would ultimately become his breakout debut, Raw. The album was true to its name and people noticed - Josh picked up two San Diego Music Awards for "Best Acoustic" and "Best Local Recording," opened for the likes of Zac Brown, Jason Mraz, and Matt Nathanson, and had enough money and momentum to tour the country a few times over. A few years after Raw, there was his third EP, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Josh spent much of the year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his album I Will Be There out now on Randm Records. From the joyous encouragement of “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all. A few years after Raw, there was his third release, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Damigo spent much of year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his latest album, "Just Give Me a Call", available now, on Randm Records. From the up-tempo single, “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

