Day 5 – #BrokeAssTour

Image

When we left off, It was 12:30 and I had just pulled up at Tyler’s pad to spend the night. My buddy Tyler was so kind in letting me stay at his place, that it didn’t really bother me that he accidentally fell asleep 5 minutes before I got to his apartment. (Plus, I was so tired, I don’t think that I was really capable of anger…All I was capable of doing was making noises like a caveman with no tongue…. “Blughhheeee…”) 

I pulled up to the curb, broke out my mat, unrolled my sleeping bag… and glorious, glorious sleep occurred…

At 3:30 AM, I heard a rap on my window… I immediately think… “Great…it’s the po-po…” and get ready to explain to the officer why I would be sleeping in my car. Then I hear Tyler’s voice.

TYLER: Yo… Josh… Look bro… I’m so sorry….
ME: BLUCLKHJSKHJDFBuJHSHHIGH (Translated for you as “It’s all good…. Go away”)
TYLER: Come inside.
ME: BLLKJSKDKKKFFFFF (No man, I’m good…)
TYLER: MAN… GET YOUR ASS INSIDE…
ME: (STILL MUMBLING) I can’t find my shorts. 
TYLER: That’s okay… I’ve already seen your nuts…
ME: You have????
TYLER: NO MAN… GROSS…. I WAS JOKING….
ME: BLKFJKSHHSHSKSJ…

I don’t remember much else after that. Apparently, I walked barefoot from my car to his steps, and fell asleep the second I hit his bed… I was too tired to dream…

I woke up and we went to my friend’s church for the Easter service. The pastor talked about trusting God even when he didn’t seem to be there. I’ll admit that it was an odd topic for the Easter message, but it was actually what I needed to hear. Definitely good to know that other people struggle as well.

From there, Tyler and I went back to his place and watched comedy from Kat Williams, Daniel Tosh, and Eddie Izzard before going to a “Family Dinner” with some friends of his.

I left the family dinner to get to my show at El Diablo Coffee Co. Their facebook said the show started at 8, and I had told everyone that it started at 7, so I had planned on getting there early, splitting the difference and starting around 7:30. Unfortunately, road closures and freeway exits being on the wrong side of the road deterred my progress.

I’ll say this about my Seattle fans. They show up on time… Because I got 2 facebook messages, a tweet, and a text from people asking when I was playing… and where I was… I’d say there were about 30 people there last night, and I don’t think I could have asked for a better audience. They were polite, quiet, clapped, laughed, and the vibe was fantastic! (And the coffee at El Diablo Coffee Co. is the best I’ve ever tasted… so yeah… I had 2 or 3 latte’s….)

I feel like in Seattle, people travel in groups, and they all go out to support, because I had one friend bring 11 people, another bring 4, another bring 5, and another bring 3… That’s just an estimation. It’s amazing when you know 4 people and they’ve all packed a show for you. I feel like that’s how it’s supposed to work, and many times, fans hear you are coming to town, and then just come by themselves because their friends won’t go. That’s booty. If you have friends that won’t come with you to see your friend’s band, go find new friends. Seriously… stop reading… and go on craigslist and find some new chums. I’ll be here when you get back….

After the show, I went to this cute little café/bar Café Mox which had giant tables, and it was located next to a board game store. You literally walk into the store pick out a game, and they let you play it FOR FREE in the café! That’s a genius concept if you ask me…

I beat everyone at Apples to Apples, and then went back to Jordy’s place to sleep. I honestly couldn’t have asked for a better Easter. Thanks to Seattle for another fantastic time!

Tonight I’m being showcased at the Rock Bottom Brewery in Portland, Oregon. It’s a shorter set, so I hope my Portlandish fans won’t hate me, but I’m going to be playing my song, “Portland” for them, which I wrote the last time I was in their beautiful city! The show starts around 8 (I think) and I go on from 10-10:25.

I also just got word that I’ll be playing in RENO tomorrow. Not sure if it’s a house concert or not, but I’ll have more details soon.

Well, I’m out! Hope you have a great Monday!

-j

 

About Josh Damigo

Josh will cheerfully admit that he averaged less than a dozen people a show when he first began playing San Diego coffee houses. But he garnered diehard fans in the process, sold a few thousand copies of his homemade EP, Pocket Change, and picked up few awards along the way. After a traumatic family incident, Damigo retreated inward, and he ended up writing what would ultimately become his breakout debut, Raw. The album was true to its name and people noticed - Josh picked up two San Diego Music Awards for “Best Acoustic” and “Best Local Recording,” opened for the likes of Zac Brown, Jason Mraz, Eric Hutchinson, and Matt Nathanson, and had enough money and momentum to tour the country a few times over. A few years after Raw, there was his third release, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Damigo spent much of year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his latest album, "Just Give Me a Call", available now, on Randm Records. From the up-tempo single, “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

