Day 6 – #brokeasstour

Today started with Thor, Jordy’s dog, letting me know he wanted to play… Try as I might to ignore him, he wasn’t having it. If I grabbed the ball or swatted it away, he would literally pick it up and and put it back in my hand. A dozen or so times later, I decided it was time to get up.

I went back to El Diablo before I drove to Oregon. That place is so incredible. I watched the barista put a devil into my foam and yet it tasted like heaven. Amazing!

I got to Portland around 3 o’clock I basically went to the first coffee shop I found and just went to town on Facebook. I spent most of the day critiquing the new album, (I’ve listened to it like 10 times now.) and invited people to my Reno and San Francisco shows.

One of my favorite songs on the new album has to be my song, “Portland”. This song is basically about letting go of someone but always keeping them in the back of your mind. It was written about my ex, the night that I was in Portland on the last tour. She texted me, and said “hey, I was just wondering what you’re doing.”

“I’m just sitting here in Portland, missing you.”
was the first thought that I had. I don’t think I texted her back… it’s probably better, but it’s still tough. Emotions are a funny thing. It’s frustrating that I could be sitting next to the perfect girl, who really cares about me, and wants to be with me, but I would rather chase after someone wasn’t that into me. And where do they get off on stringing us along? Why do they have to insist on reminding us over and over and over and over again that they just want to be friends?
I guess maybe it’s karma. I know I’ve done it to girls in the past. I just wish it was simpler.

Tonight’s show was only a 25 minutes set during an open mic performance. Raven, JJ, and Christina came out. They all came out to my show last time in Portland too. Good peeps.

I think I’ll end this post with my song, “Portland”. I really like the city. There’s something magical about it.

I hope you have a good day!
-j

20120410-005734.jpg

20120410-010013.jpg

About Joshua Lodge

Josh will cheerfully admit that he averaged less than a dozen people a show when he first began playing San Diego coffee houses and clubs. But he garnered diehard fans in the process, sold a few thousand copies of his EP, Pocket Change, and picked up few awards along the way. After a traumatic family incident Josh retreated inward, and he ended up writing what would ultimately become his breakout debut, Raw. The album was true to its name and people noticed - Josh picked up two San Diego Music Awards for "Best Acoustic" and "Best Local Recording," opened for the likes of Zac Brown, Jason Mraz, and Matt Nathanson, and had enough money and momentum to tour the country a few times over. A few years after Raw, there was his third EP, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Josh spent much of the year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his album I Will Be There out now on Randm Records. From the joyous encouragement of “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all. A few years after Raw, there was his third release, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Damigo spent much of year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his latest album, "Just Give Me a Call", available now, on Randm Records. From the up-tempo single, “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 6 – #brokeasstour

  1. Christina says:

    It was fantastic seeing you! Hopefully you’ll have a show when I’m down in San Diego, I’ll miss the Lestats one. Have a fantastic drive and congratulations on the Reno show 🙂

  2. Raven koppos says:

    You remind me so much of someone I use to know. He was before jj. It was a sort lived relationship but I loved him and he loved me although he never said it. He was visiting his dad here in Portland (he was from Modesto California ) he adored my girls and adored me. He said he wanted to start over and move here with me. Start a new life. I believed him. I thought we had something special , I really did. He soon had to go back to California to take care of some business but he promised me he’d be back as soon as he could. I never heard from him again. I thought I would never love again . Long story short, I did end up loving again. I am now with my best of friend and the love of my life. I don’t know what significance my response has, but here it is anyway . Josh everybody deserves to be loved including you. Let somebody love you.

Leave a Reply

