Day 7 #BrokeAssTour

20120411-003746.jpg

Woke up in Medford, Oregon this morning with a tickle in my throat. I guess the whole lack of sleep/belting out notes can add a little strain… I didn’t think much of it.

Apparently Taco Bell started serving breakfast. I got down on their Cinnabon balls. That stuff is ridic… A little disappointed when they told me they were out of coffee… I guess they still have kinks in the system.

Today’s drive took me through NorCal, and past a camp that I used to work at called Lassen Pines. My life changed so much that year. I met Cassie, (Pocket Change, Rain) there and dating her literally changed my life. I used to sneak out to the phone booth after hours and talk to her on the phone for hours. (I’m pretty sure the reason I never got taller than 5’9 was because of the lack of sleep I got from talking to her… Ha. It was worth it… And I’d do it again.)

That summer, I went from a scared little boy to a wild man. I grew out my hair, and actually came out of my shell. I wrote a song called “Supermarket Love Affair”. Which was a cute song about falling for a girl in a grocery store. The sky was the limit! I think if I could go back in time and start again, that’s where I’d point my time travel device.

I had a gas scare on the mountain… Somehow my car got an extra 20 miles and I was able to roll into the Shell station, but that one made me quite nervous…

I crossed the Nevada border around 4:00 and at the border, the speed changes from 70 to 65. I was going 70 and didn’t think much of it, till a Nevada Highway Patrolman pulled me over. I honestly had no clue why he pulled me over. I wasn’t on my phone, (thank God!!!) and when he asked for my license he told me I was going 72, and usually he goes tickets at 73… Whew….

We talked for a bit when he found out about my music. He was a pretty rad guy. I wish more Cali officers could do that… 😉

My cousin let me take a shower and get ready for the show at her place, then we set off for Walden’s.

I played Walden’s on my first tour in 2007. It was an open mic night and somehow I had gotten the host to agree to let me do 6 songs rather than the normal two. I feel like that’s a pretty great example of my skills of persuasion, but I doubt I’d try that now.

When I got there, I said,”hi” to Todd, the promoter and he and I talked guitars and music for a bit. He’s a great guy. My life would be so much easier if there was one of him in every city. He let me know that Walden’s usually closed at 7, but we’re staying open two extra hours just to host my show. Talk about a kind gesture! I went and thanked the manager for staying open, and we had a great convo about latte foam art and showed off pictures of coffee… (only baristas get that… And working at Starbucks doesn’t count…) 😉

I played the show, and that tickle came back… Bad… I played about an hour and a half to about 25 peeps. (my cousin and her beautiful friends and their jacked boyfriends… That was the most “out of shape” and “ugly” as I’ve felt in a while… I need to get serious on the P90X when I get home…)

The show went well, but that tickle in the throat is definitely a cold… I’m Zicamming like a fat kid with candy. Once I get to Santa Barbara, I’m going to sleep straight till the show. But what a great show! Opening for Eric Hutchinson is such a great honor! It’s so cool to have KRUZ 97.5 in my corner. No matter how good other radio stations treat me, I will always remember that they were the first!

Well, I have about 4 more hours. Gonna probably critique the new record again. I can’t wait to show this to you guys!! 🙂

Well, I love ya. Pray for extra health for me.
-j

About Joshua Lodge

Josh will cheerfully admit that he averaged less than a dozen people a show when he first began playing San Diego coffee houses and clubs. But he garnered diehard fans in the process, sold a few thousand copies of his EP, Pocket Change, and picked up few awards along the way. After a traumatic family incident Josh retreated inward, and he ended up writing what would ultimately become his breakout debut, Raw. The album was true to its name and people noticed - Josh picked up two San Diego Music Awards for "Best Acoustic" and "Best Local Recording," opened for the likes of Zac Brown, Jason Mraz, and Matt Nathanson, and had enough money and momentum to tour the country a few times over. A few years after Raw, there was his third EP, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Josh spent much of the year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his album I Will Be There out now on Randm Records. From the joyous encouragement of “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all. A few years after Raw, there was his third release, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Damigo spent much of year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his latest album, "Just Give Me a Call", available now, on Randm Records. From the up-tempo single, “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

