Day 10 – #brokeasstour

I woke up at 6 o’clock in the morning to the sound of incredibly loud thunder. I went downstairs take some medicine the grandfather was there, eating cereal. I mumbled something, but it hurt to speak. I grabbed my antibiotics and went back to bed.

Then I had this weird dream that I had broken up a marriage, and the husband and oldest son of the girl were being super aggressive and shoving me around town. Every time I tried to get them to back off they just kept saying mean and evil things to me… But most of them were secrets and thoughts that no one else could have possibly known. Every time I tried to punch them, it would be a weak hit and they’d laugh harder and louder and would tell me more and more personal things.

I woke up in a guilt ridden state, after all I had just been confronted with every bad thing i’d done. It’s difficult to wake up in tears and realize its just a dream, sometimes.

I took a shower and went downstairs, asked grandma if she wanted to go to breakfast. Mom and Tice met us there. It’s always nice to have my favorite people around.

We went home and I watched a cool western tv show for a bit, then I went back to my room and slept for a few more hours… I’ll probably do a lot of that for the next few days. That dream was weird too, but I can’t remember what it was about.

I ran a few errands, deposited checks, and mailed out some CDs to people who donated… Then I picked up Tice, and went back to grandma’s house. We hung out for little bit and then it was time to drive to San Francisco.

The show tonight was fantastic. I really like going to brainwash. it’s not the most amazing venue, but it is kind of fun spot. Enslaver chips, and people don’t really listen that much, but it is a good spot in San Francisco for acoustic artists.

I was joined by Whitney Nicole and Aaron Blythe- Two fantastic singer-songwriters from the San Francisco area who give everything they got on stage. Aaron and I played a few open mics together in SD back in the day, and that dude is a good guy. I’m really still that we reconnected.

My set seemed to start and end quickly. It’s always different playing when you have relatives in the audience because the stories feel like they need to be edited, not because I don’t want them to know about my life, but just cause I want them to be proud of me.

Tess Dunn jumped on stage to sing “something’s telling me” with me. She killed it. I’d fight for that girl. Next guy that breaks her heart is gonna deal with me… 🙂

Finished the set, sold a few cd’s and now I’m off to San Diego. I can’t wait to get home!!!

See you tomorrow night at LeStats for the tour finale!!!
-j

About Josh Damigo

Josh will cheerfully admit that he averaged less than a dozen people a show when he first began playing San Diego coffee houses. But he garnered diehard fans in the process, sold a few thousand copies of his homemade EP, Pocket Change, and picked up few awards along the way. After a traumatic family incident, Damigo retreated inward, and he ended up writing what would ultimately become his breakout debut, Raw. The album was true to its name and people noticed - Josh picked up two San Diego Music Awards for “Best Acoustic” and “Best Local Recording,” opened for the likes of Zac Brown, Jason Mraz, Eric Hutchinson, and Matt Nathanson, and had enough money and momentum to tour the country a few times over. A few years after Raw, there was his third release, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Damigo spent much of year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his latest album, "Just Give Me a Call", available now, on Randm Records. From the up-tempo single, “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

