Me Versus Myself.

ImageI think last night’s blog post really woke me up. I caught myself being super negative, and I really need to fix that, it’s becoming too hard to get things done, stay motivated, and fight my attitude. I think the problem is that I set these high and lofty goals for myself, and then when I don’t have a chance to reach them, I decide to get upset, rather than figure out a way to get closer to my goals. I think it’s time to really focus on me, and maybe take a break from being so hard on myself. Here are my goals for the rest of the year, and I’ll take any help you can offer to achieve these.

1. A Strong Release of My New Album. 
– The album is basically done, I just have to have it mastered, finish the album cover/insides, and then start promoting, distributing, and selling it. I was pretty stoked on people’s responses to hearing it at the show on Saturday. (If you didn’t notice, it was playing before/after the show.) Over the next few months, every moment of free time that I have will be poured into putting this album into every hand of every person I meet.

2. Lose 40 Pounds. 
– This one is a lot tougher… I have had a hard time with my weight ever since my knee injury in college. That makes it hard to run now. I have to ice it regularly, and even doing sports is tough. I graduated in high school at 110 pounds, so I went from one extreme to the other- ultra skinny to hefty. I need to figure out a way to lose weight, and keep it off. What I don’t need is a bunch of dumb little remarks or quirky sayings. I can’t afford the food that most people eat for losing weight, and hiring a trainer/paying for gym membership is out of the question until I’m making more money. So basically, I need to lose weight as cheaply as possible… and without a ton of nagging… 😛

3. Find a Day Job That I Can Enjoy, While Still Pursuing Music or Make More Money Doing Music
– Unfortunately, money isn’t paying all the bills anymore. I need to find a job to help pay with some of the bills that are piling up. For a while, I was able to pay off everything, but recently, a few extra bills came in… (including the album costing more than I had expected.) It’s difficult finding a job that allows someone to tour or play gigs regularly. If I can’t travel, or take a few weeks off at a time, I don’t think I could do the job. (That’s why I had to leave Starbucks. I took too much time off.) 😦 I’m hoping I can find something soon.

4. Find a way to be happier/Think more positively. 
– This one is probably the hardest. After a full 20something years of pushing myself hard and getting things from hard work and self-sacrifice, I think I need to find a better way of motivating myself and getting things done. It’d be nice to just be nicer to me…. that’s for sure.

Well that’s all I have today. I guess that’s just where I feel like I am right now. Feel free to disagree with me, tell me I’m gorgeous, makeout with me… whatev… 😛

-j

About Joshua Lodge

Josh will cheerfully admit that he averaged less than a dozen people a show when he first began playing San Diego coffee houses and clubs. But he garnered diehard fans in the process, sold a few thousand copies of his EP, Pocket Change, and picked up few awards along the way. After a traumatic family incident Josh retreated inward, and he ended up writing what would ultimately become his breakout debut, Raw. The album was true to its name and people noticed - Josh picked up two San Diego Music Awards for "Best Acoustic" and "Best Local Recording," opened for the likes of Zac Brown, Jason Mraz, and Matt Nathanson, and had enough money and momentum to tour the country a few times over. A few years after Raw, there was his third EP, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Josh spent much of the year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his album I Will Be There out now on Randm Records. From the joyous encouragement of “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all. A few years after Raw, there was his third release, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Damigo spent much of year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his latest album, "Just Give Me a Call", available now, on Randm Records. From the up-tempo single, “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Me Versus Myself.

  1. Chris says:

    had me laughing pretty hard at the end of that, so thanks for makin my night man haha
    hang tough!

  2. Josh, why don’t you utilize the internet to help fund your project? IndieGoGo and Kickstarter are viable options, particularly because you already have somewhat of an established (and growing) fanbase.

    • Josh Damigo says:

      I used kickstarter to fund the first part of the album. I feel bad about asking for more. That’s why I put the “donation” link up, so that people who wanted to could, and I wouldn’t have to dip back into the people who already donated… But it is something to think about. Thanks for the idea.
      -j

  3. dreamsdadhad says:

    Josh, you’re gorgeous.

    And a great musician. I’d give you my pocket change.

Leave a Reply

