Perspective

I’ve been getting a ton of feedback lately on my blogs. The e-mails usually say, “I wanted to write you to let you know that you are being too negative…” or “I felt bad for you, so I wrote this for you…” My bad… I guess what happens when I get all worked up is that I need to let it out… Maybe that’s why I feel the need to write it down… Maybe I should get a journal??? 😛 Putting it out on the internet makes me seem like a “whoa is me- bummer of a guy”. But I don’t think that’s the whole me… It’s just a part of me. I’m also ridiculously funny… (I think…) So if I’m bumming you out… please forgive me. The truth is that I like to get it out, because it helps me to reflect later. And maybe there’s someone going through similar problems. Sometimes, I just need to hear that I’m not the only one going through issues. I guess that’s why I read biographies and prefer them to whatever fiction novel of children killing each other is out… 😛

I was watching Big Fish this morning and it reminded me that what I see is not necessarily what is there. It reminded me of my Great Grandfather, Louis Haley. He was an amazing man. So amazing in fact, that the stories I know about him are absolutely amazing. For example, he took care of my Great Grandmother so much that she never learned how to drive. I know that many girls wouldn’t like being driven around everywhere, but anything that my Great Grandmother needed, he took care of. I remember meeting one of his nurses after he passed. She told me that he sang to all of them every day when they would come into his room. He was always happy and funny and smiling, and he even let me shoot a bb gun when my mom wouldn’t let me! (He also told me to quit crying when Uncle Chuck hit me with a “buck eyeball” that was in the lawn. He told me to pick one up and throw it back at him! I guess that thought hadn’t occured to me…)

Perspective is a funny thing. At one moment everything can be soooooo hard, and another moment, they can be okay. Mounting circumstances can be overwhelming at times, but you take it a step at a time, and you can get through it.

I found this video from the tour. I’m singing a song to a group from an adults with disabilities group. The problems that many of them have had to go through are so much worse than anything I’ve faced. I guess it’s good to have a little perspective sometimes. Life is going to be good. I hope you all enjoy!

About Joshua Lodge

Josh will cheerfully admit that he averaged less than a dozen people a show when he first began playing San Diego coffee houses and clubs. But he garnered diehard fans in the process, sold a few thousand copies of his EP, Pocket Change, and picked up few awards along the way. After a traumatic family incident Josh retreated inward, and he ended up writing what would ultimately become his breakout debut, Raw. The album was true to its name and people noticed - Josh picked up two San Diego Music Awards for "Best Acoustic" and "Best Local Recording," opened for the likes of Zac Brown, Jason Mraz, and Matt Nathanson, and had enough money and momentum to tour the country a few times over. A few years after Raw, there was his third EP, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Josh spent much of the year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his album I Will Be There out now on Randm Records. From the joyous encouragement of “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all. A few years after Raw, there was his third release, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Damigo spent much of year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his latest album, "Just Give Me a Call", available now, on Randm Records. From the up-tempo single, “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

