Reasons Why @LuccaDoes (Tony Lucca) should win #TheVoice!!!

ImageI first met Tony Lucca at a birthday party for a friend who booked me as the opener. I hadn’t met Tony, but he taught me alot at that show. He may not remember talking to me, he may not remember my set… but what he did for me has made me the artist that I am today.

It is 2008. I barely have an acoustic ep out. I haven’t done much, but I’m meeting a ton of people and all they can talk about are local and LA artists like Ernie Halter, Curtis Peoples, John Hull, Bushwalla, and I was just barely trying to meet all of them!

I’m booked for the show, and have only played with Ernie at that point at my birthday party in ’06 and I get to the gig which is a condo in one of those group of condos… (yeah… I got pretty lost…) I sit down and chill with everyone. The party is all buzzing because “Tony” is coming. (This is my first experience of people being startstruck by the headliner, and trying to talk my ear off about him… heh… it happens all the time now…:-)

He gets to the show and the whole room drops in volume…. Everyone can’t wait to talk to him, meet him, etc… We meet for the first time, and he shakes my hand and says, “Great to meet you! Looking forward to hearing you play!”

We play the show, and we’re waiting to leave afterwards, and he and I get to talk. He tells me some things that I had never heard before… and here they are.

1. “Your song “Pocket Change” is great!” – What this told me was that he actually cared about other artists and what they were singing. He was one of the first “Legit” artists that I met that actually took the time to listen to me, and give me pointers. There are so many artists that literally don’t care, or don’t “have time” to listen to other artists. But Tony did. That meant a ton to me. I had gone through a lot the year before, and that was an incredibly kind thing to do.

2. “We should play a show sometime again!” – Now a lot of artists may “SAY” things like this, but Tony is one of the only ones who actually meant it. He would invite me to play with him in San Diego a few times afterwards, and he was always the kindest and most gracious host. He talked to me about touring, gave me tips on how to get better, and was always genuine. I even met his wife at one show and she was so kind, letting me know that Tony had said many great things about me. Wow…

Tony has been criticized by Christina Aguilera a few times for having “Celebrity Friends” that are helping him out. Well here’s the thing… He earned every one of those friends. Tony has been working his ass off for years, playing venues that were empty, traveling and hustling every night, and has been a huge inspiration for me. I model much of what I do off of how hard he has worked and how he treats others.

So here’s my 2 cents. Vote for him. He worked his way to where he is now. He deserves this. Many artists have completely changed their perspective on these types of TV shows because Tony exemplified how working hard and keeping a good attitude will help you get far in life.

Thank you Tony, for showing me how to be an artist who works hard and laughs harder. Good luck, brotha. Kill it tonight.

-j

About Joshua Lodge

Josh will cheerfully admit that he averaged less than a dozen people a show when he first began playing San Diego coffee houses and clubs. But he garnered diehard fans in the process, sold a few thousand copies of his EP, Pocket Change, and picked up few awards along the way. After a traumatic family incident Josh retreated inward, and he ended up writing what would ultimately become his breakout debut, Raw. The album was true to its name and people noticed - Josh picked up two San Diego Music Awards for "Best Acoustic" and "Best Local Recording," opened for the likes of Zac Brown, Jason Mraz, and Matt Nathanson, and had enough money and momentum to tour the country a few times over. A few years after Raw, there was his third EP, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Josh spent much of the year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his album I Will Be There out now on Randm Records. From the joyous encouragement of “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all. A few years after Raw, there was his third release, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Damigo spent much of year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his latest album, "Just Give Me a Call", available now, on Randm Records. From the up-tempo single, “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Reasons Why @LuccaDoes (Tony Lucca) should win #TheVoice!!!

  1. he’s great. and I’ve been a fan since the mickey mouse club days. BUT Juliet from automatic loveletter has worked her ass off too and her voice is to die for.

Leave a Reply

