The Kindness of Strangers

This is something I’ve wanted to post for a while now, but I haven’t figured out exactly what I wanted to say. And since today is “YOGA DAY” on P90X, Let’s just say that I’m procrastinating…(I currently struggggggle wth yoga…) I’ve found lately that when I’m down, the thing that gets me out of my funk is friends and random kind words from strangers. Here’s two examples.

I was driving to LA for a show, and probably played too many sad songs in a row, and started thinking about my ex. Then I started thinking about rejection, and how much I hate letting others down… and eventually I was in a full downhill roll and approaching the bottom with a quickness. I pulled off the side of the road, texted my roommate and he told me to keep my head up, but it didn’t really make me feel better. I saw an “In-n-Out” burger and ordered a burger. While I was talking to him, he complimented me on something random, and took my money. It may have just been good customer service, but it saved my day. 

Two nights ago, I was stressing about life and bills and this new album, (Yeah… I guess I really want you guys to like it…) and so I tried getting out of the house. Something kept sucking me into the couch, and when my roommate got home, he could tell something was wrong, but I didn’t know how to explain it. I tried calling my dad, and asked him, “Have you ever been upset about something and you can’t figure out why?” He said, “Nope… I always know why…” (in the CREEPIEST way possible… that man scares me…) I drove downtown, walked to Starbucks, and the guy behind the counter complimented me on my “ordering skills”. (I ordered my decaf, sugar free cinnamon dolce latte w/ soy and no whip cream… because that’s the exact way to order it… I ought to get it right, after working there so long…) I told him that I used to be a partner, and he and I talked for a good 5 minutes about coffee and starbucks and life. It literally made me forget about all of my issues, and he may come to a show sometimes soon.

I find it interesting that people are kind. Is that odd? I feel like the more you get to know someone, the more they start to be rude to you. When they are comfortable with you, they are more likely to tease and jab and I guess that’s  just not the kind of friendship I appreciate. I feel like when I tease, I try to make the person smile, but maybe I’ve been too harsh to friends in the past. I get defensive and in some sort of a verbal fighting stance. I really don’t understand why the more you know a person the more and more rude you can become. That just doesn’t make sense to me. 

On another note, the people who have been supporting me and sending me “fan mail” or whatever you want to call it. THANK YOU. Not a day goes by that I don’t get some sort of rude comment or message from someone in the music industry. I was once told I’d never make it, because “I sound just like everyone else.” and “Our record label already has 200 ‘Josh Damigos’.” That same day, I received a letter from a fan of my music who lived in New York. He told me that he was going through a tough time, and “Saves the Day” came on Pandora and changed his outlook on life.  Wow! Talk about not giving a rip about the music industry anymore… 😀 I do this for the people who appreciate it. The “Strangers” who randomly feel compelled to let me know that they like a certain song, or how that tune is “Their Song”. Take it! 😀

Thank you so much for donating to my kickstarter this month. I really appreciate every donation, and can’t wait to take “Hope” on the road.

About Joshua Lodge

Josh will cheerfully admit that he averaged less than a dozen people a show when he first began playing San Diego coffee houses and clubs. But he garnered diehard fans in the process, sold a few thousand copies of his EP, Pocket Change, and picked up few awards along the way. After a traumatic family incident Josh retreated inward, and he ended up writing what would ultimately become his breakout debut, Raw. The album was true to its name and people noticed - Josh picked up two San Diego Music Awards for "Best Acoustic" and "Best Local Recording," opened for the likes of Zac Brown, Jason Mraz, and Matt Nathanson, and had enough money and momentum to tour the country a few times over. A few years after Raw, there was his third EP, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Josh spent much of the year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his album I Will Be There out now on Randm Records. From the joyous encouragement of “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all. A few years after Raw, there was his third release, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Damigo spent much of year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his latest album, "Just Give Me a Call", available now, on Randm Records. From the up-tempo single, “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Kindness of Strangers

  1. Pingback: Josh Damigo – Guest on Twitter Tuesday Live 17th July 2012 | Carol's Blog

Leave a Reply

