You Give Me Hope

Image

I’ve been waiting for a few days to figure out exactly what I wanted to say, and how I wanted to say it. Since I’m playing a gig in Los Angeles tonight, and haven’t left yet, I figured now was a good time… (Yeah… I procrastinate when it comes to driving up there…) 😀

You don’t know how hard it is to put “thanks” in words when you hear artists regularly “flippantly” use it. “Thank you guys sooooooOOOoOooOOooOOOOOO much for coming to my show…” or “Thank you SOOOOOOooOoOOoOOOOoOooooooOOO much for telling your friends about me.” The truth is, I’m rather cynical when it comes to musicians asking for help with donations, but obviously since I did it, I need to seriously figure out a way to get over my hangups and tell you how I feel.

I’ve always been a rather independent person. I hate the feeling that I can’t do something on my own, or that I would need someone else’s help in achieving my own goals. When I was a kid, I had a hard time with sharing everything. I was a “ballhog” when I played sports in gym class. (Especially playing Hockey or soccer…) It’s why I wanted to be a pitcher so badly when I played baseball or played 3rd Base and Shortstop… I wanted to be in control and I wanted to get the most balls hit to me. I guess this mentality has always run my way of thinking. 

But as I’ve grown older, I’ve found that there are more and more things that I can’t do on my own. In college, I wasn’t able to play soccer after a college injury, and I started writing music on a couch, and was pretty much stationary on that couch for 6 months before, during and after my knee surgery. I had to rely on my roommate Casey to cook, clean, and even help drive me to classes and events. It was one of the first times in my life that I didn’t feel completely independent and like I needed help to get by. I hated that feeling. 

A few months later, I’d be going to open mic nights, and watching other artists play, and dabbling in working on music… I never thought I’d be doing it full time. It was just something that I enjoyed and was able to get away from all of the issues going on in my head. Music was my escape. It was my Soccer, Basketball, and Baseball since I couldn’t really play those anymore. And now, it’s still the only reason I think I’m sane sometimes.

But as I get more and more involved in the music scene, I find more and more things that bring me down. Other artists using me/my page as a stepping stool in their careers; Artists booking two shows in 3 day periods and thus killing any chance of people coming out to our gig; Artists asking for favors like asking me to promote them when they’ve never once promoted me; Fans that drop me the second that I’m not exactly who they want me to be; Label Exec’s/Business types telling me that there are a million other artists just like me, so I don’t deserve their time; I was even “Big Timed” by a promotions guy yesterday because he didn’t consider me important. (“Big-Timed is when a guy enters a circle full of people talking but excludes you… I’ll come up with a better definition soon…”) Bookers purposefully underpaying me; Rumors spread around because someone is upset with me; The truth is, I didn’t sign up for all of this. I like to be people’s friend and interact with their lives, but sometimes it’s completely overwhelming. But then… I get up on stage, and play a song… and it all disappears. All because of you guys helping me fund my art. Thank you so much. 

So, from the bottom of the heart, please know that I’m so very thankful for all of you. This album has literally been the last two or three years of my life all rolled into a 60something minute album. All I really want is to be a sense of joy to others, and to relate to those who may be going through hard times. My music is my escape from troubles. Even if I’m singing about heartbreak, it’s a way to get over the pain. To process it, and let it go. I don’t write songs to try to get them on radio, or to get famous, but to escape from the grind of every day worries. 

Thank you so much to everyone who has given me hope. I really think you’re going to like this album. 

So from every part of my life, “THANK YOU”, for helping make this album and tour happen. I love you all, and hope to see you on the tour.

-j

Image

About Joshua Lodge

Josh will cheerfully admit that he averaged less than a dozen people a show when he first began playing San Diego coffee houses and clubs. But he garnered diehard fans in the process, sold a few thousand copies of his EP, Pocket Change, and picked up few awards along the way. After a traumatic family incident Josh retreated inward, and he ended up writing what would ultimately become his breakout debut, Raw. The album was true to its name and people noticed - Josh picked up two San Diego Music Awards for "Best Acoustic" and "Best Local Recording," opened for the likes of Zac Brown, Jason Mraz, and Matt Nathanson, and had enough money and momentum to tour the country a few times over. A few years after Raw, there was his third EP, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Josh spent much of the year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his album I Will Be There out now on Randm Records. From the joyous encouragement of “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all. A few years after Raw, there was his third release, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Damigo spent much of year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his latest album, "Just Give Me a Call", available now, on Randm Records. From the up-tempo single, “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to You Give Me Hope

  1. Mike says:

    I get where you’re coming from and excited to see where you’re going. Keep up the hard work, brother!

  2. momdo says:

    Josh,
    We thank YOU for sharing your incredible talent and wit and music with us! You are SO special–don’t EVER let anyone tell you differently! Time will tell…talent will prevail. True talent always does. You are NOT like everyone else. Those people are wrong. They don’t count, we the true believers do…we listen and buy the music. We promote our passion for your music…we know all the words. We are the ones you are singing to when you step out on that stage. Thank you for writing and singing what we only wish we could. You have an innate ability that few have. And a voice so pure and soulful…it warms us inside and out! I hope you never stop doing what you do! All levels of the music business has it draw backs, so find your sweet spot and live it to the fullest. Be true to yourself and when that is enough, it will all work like it should. Great things are in store for you…whether it be a small or big stage. I am stll feeling the glow from your show in Seattle. Getting to sit three feet away from you and talk to you as you played was a dream come true. Give me NO stage any day!!! You are a gorgeous man and human being–as well as bright and gifted beyond compare–never forget that. Thank you for you, Josh–don’t ever change–just keep doing what you’re doing!!! :o) mominseattledo

  3. Onn says:

    The support you get from fans is our thank you to YOU! Thank you for writing, sharing, recording and playing out!
    I’m really glad I read the other comments before writing! Because momdo said basically what I’m thinking and did a much better job writing it than I ever could! So, ditto on hers! 😉
    Our reward is getting to listen to you….live or recorded!

Leave a Reply

