Day 1 of the #HOPEtour – Goodbyes and Chickahhhgoh

I’ll only be gone for a week… but sometimes, a week can feel like forever. The hardest part of leaving San Diego is having people really miss you and knowing that you want to share everything with them! I don’t like leaving heaven…. but you gotsta if you’re gonna be a legend in small to moderate size coffee shops around the US! 😛

My girl, Saba, dropped me off at the airport at 5:00 in the morning, and I stood the dreaded Southwest lines till my plane left at 6:30. Apparently the screening peeps from the TSA were short handed, so it literally took twice as long as usual. (They’re pretty open about how annoyed they are with their coworkers over there… I’m glad I’m not a terrorist… sheesh…)

My strategy for getting on southwest flights is to be one of the last to board and choose someone who looks like they smell the best. This time, it was a big filipino dude who looked like he decided to wear the same outfit as the flight attendants… (Odd…. he didn’t even work for southwest.) I grabbed the middle seat, and apparently the big guy behind me thought that I smelled the best of the people left, and that is the story of how I spent the next 4 hours between two 300+ dudes.
Image

I slept for most of the trip, except for when the lady behind me snored so loudly that it woke me. I took a picture. (Naturally….) Because what good would this story be if I couldn’t back it up?

I arrived at Chicago on time, and my bags were both in great spots on the merry-go-round. I saw a drug deal go down in the bathroom, told the cops… I know.. I know… snitches get stitches… but come on now… And I went outside to wait for Matt Ryd, my friend and tour mate on this first leg of the #HOPEtour.

Funny thing… he never showed… I’m calling and texting… facebooking and e-mailing… but nothing… So I hop in a cab and let Matt know that wherever he is, he’s paying for the bill. Punk.

I get to Matt’s house in this hot, muggy town and he comes down… apologizes and shows me some doctor’s notes/sick certificates and we laugh, and I punch him in the nose and everything is okay. 😛

Matt has stuff to do, so the rest of the afternoon is mine to explore CHIKAAAHGOOOOH.

The first thing I do is walk down to the CVS and call people to let them know I made it safely. I pick up the usual stuff (Toothpaste/toothbrush/deodorant/etc….) and walk back. On the way back, I start seeing all kinds of Cubs and White Sox shirts and hats, so I think, “I should go to a game tonight!!!” I start hitting up everyone I know in Chicago, but nobody is available, so like a good fan of anything, I go to the game by myself! (Here’s the shoutout to all the people that go to my shows by themselves. Don’t worry. I go by myself too! :-P)

I get back home freshen up, still have a little time before the game, so I check my email. Two people have given me their addresses, so I go back outside and walk 3 miles to the closest post office and mail out their albums. (Hope you guys like them!!! my feet still hurt!!) I come back home and get ready for the game, then jump on the “L” and get to the sox game.

A bunch of scalpers are talking about how the game is “Sold Out”, so I’m nervous as I approach the ticket window. “I’ll take one please”. I tell the man, like a little kid who’s mom just gave him a few bucks for a ticket. He hands me a ticket in the 100 section for 18 bucks… “Whaaaaaaaaat?” I think… but take the ticket and stumble towards my seat…. Here is my 18 dollar view. Image

I take the “L” back to Matt’s house (which sounds simple enough, but I couldn’t remember which stop I was taking…sso I was freaking out hard core…) But I guessed right!!! 😀

All in all my first night was awesome. I love Chicago!

We are now getting ready to leave for Detroit. (Did I mention that Matt has a cat… yeah… my allergies are going haywire right now….luckily I’m on Allegra and Benadryl.) Tonight’s show is at the Corktown Tavern, and I’m excited to sell these “Hope” albums! 😀

Thanks to everyone who bought advance copies! I hope you’re enjoying showing them off to peeps! PLEASE KEEP DOING THAT!!! 😀

All my love, and I’ll see you at the show tonight!
-j

;

About Joshua Lodge

Josh will cheerfully admit that he averaged less than a dozen people a show when he first began playing San Diego coffee houses and clubs. But he garnered diehard fans in the process, sold a few thousand copies of his EP, Pocket Change, and picked up few awards along the way. After a traumatic family incident Josh retreated inward, and he ended up writing what would ultimately become his breakout debut, Raw. The album was true to its name and people noticed - Josh picked up two San Diego Music Awards for "Best Acoustic" and "Best Local Recording," opened for the likes of Zac Brown, Jason Mraz, and Matt Nathanson, and had enough money and momentum to tour the country a few times over. A few years after Raw, there was his third EP, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Josh spent much of the year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his album I Will Be There out now on Randm Records. From the joyous encouragement of “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all. A few years after Raw, there was his third release, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Damigo spent much of year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his latest album, "Just Give Me a Call", available now, on Randm Records. From the up-tempo single, “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

