Day 3 of the #HOPEtour – Indianapolis and the Huggy Bear Motel

We quietly snuck out of our soundman’s house in Detroit and hit the road to Indianapolis after a stop for coffee. Still no radio. So as of now we have listened to about 20 songs from my iPod and 3 songs from Matt’s. (lopsided because I don’t let people who offer their rides on tours surprise me with “oh yeah… The cd player doesn’t work… Oh no… My speaker system isn’t working… Oh no… memmememem blah blah blah…” get to choose the songs. 😉

I tried to fire up my laptop and it wouldn’t work. Stink. So I spent most of the day replying to emails and working from my phone. So glad that’s still working!

We got to the Apple Store in Indianapolis and it looks like its either my hard drive or the cable that connects the hard drive to something else. I feel like I just got this computer not too long ago. 😦 I’m hoping that it’s not top expensive… I already had to fix my car and motorcycle. Sigh… It’s gonna be okay though!

We got to the venue around 6:00 and I had just gotten off of the phone with Allstate. Turns out, the girl who backed up into my car in San Jose is arguing that it was my fault… Are you kidding??? Let me go over the details of the accident and you let me know what you think.

1. I drove into the Chilli’s parking lot.
2. I start looking for a spot.
3. I see one and stop to let a car get out and drive off so I can take the empty spot.
4. She backs up into the side of my car at a pretty fast rate- hitting me pretty hard.
5. She yells, “WHY DID YOU STOP BEHIND ME???”
6. I reply, “Are you okay?”
7. She sulks in her car cussing and saying how it’s my fault while I calmly talk to her Godfather who was in a separate car and exchange information.

Out of all of that, all you really need is #4. That’s what happened. That’s the physics behind why the accident occurred. She doesn’t have collision coverage however… BUT I’m cool. 🙂 I know it’ll work out.

The Lazy Daze coffee shop is a cute little spot and I was stoked to play there. The place was packed! Landon, Claudia, Barbara, Lindsey, Lesley, Linda, Chase, Landon Keller, Vanessa, Doc, his lovely assistant, her boyfriend, Kelley and Doc’s friend were all there and a few peeps I didn’t get to meet. We played a completely stripped down show which was awesome! The vibe in the room made it pretty rad.

After the show we went to a pizza spot across the street which was totally against my diet. (I complained the whole time… I swear!!!) but it was fantastic pizza. We have leftovers in the car I’d you want some… 😉

Theeeeen we drove about an hour and change to find a little motel/hotel to sleep at. We went to the Huggy Bear Motel because Matt wrote “Motel 6” in his navigation and that’s where it took us. When we pulled up, we were greeted by a hippie looking old lady who was nice, but kinda odd… I asked to split the bill and she seemed to think that would be too tough… So I just paid for the 40 dollar room and Matt gave me cash. “Places like this are why I’m glad I never watched Deliverence…” I told Matt. 🙂

Thats that! Tell u if we survived tomorrow! 🙂
-j

About Josh Damigo

Josh will cheerfully admit that he averaged less than a dozen people a show when he first began playing San Diego coffee houses. But he garnered diehard fans in the process, sold a few thousand copies of his homemade EP, Pocket Change, and picked up few awards along the way. After a traumatic family incident, Damigo retreated inward, and he ended up writing what would ultimately become his breakout debut, Raw. The album was true to its name and people noticed - Josh picked up two San Diego Music Awards for “Best Acoustic” and “Best Local Recording,” opened for the likes of Zac Brown, Jason Mraz, Eric Hutchinson, and Matt Nathanson, and had enough money and momentum to tour the country a few times over. A few years after Raw, there was his third release, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Damigo spent much of year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his latest album, "Just Give Me a Call", available now, on Randm Records. From the up-tempo single, “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

