Day 6 of the #HOPEtour – Appleton and My Nephew is Cuter Than Yours, Neener, Neener, Boo, Boo

20120729-122416.jpg
We got to the Hotel in Appleton at around 3:30 AM. I stumbled into the bed after 3 unsuccessful attempts to book hotels- (apparently there was some air show??) yeah… I was tired.

I slept for 3 hours, then we had to be up for the next show… We got to the Appleton Farm Market at around 7:30 and get setup/met the staff and I went and got my coffee fix at the Starbucks across the street. I was literally no good for anything… People were talking to me and I was kinda in a zombie-like state. Then I got my second coffee and things started feeling better.
20120729-122356.jpg

I got to meet Shaun from Avenue 91.1, the AAA station in Appleton and sister station to KRUZ 97.5 in Santa Barbara! Cross your fingers, Appleton! Maybe you’ll get to start hearing me more often! I also met all of the staff from the farm market and they were extremely pleasant and hospitable. It was definitely a beautiful day after that second cup of joe. And I sold 8 cd’s and we got about 60 bucks in tips!

Immediately after this show where Matt and I split about a 4 hour set, we headed to my sister, Natalie’s wedding in Ripon. It was a beautiful wedding. I played “You Happened to Me”, “Indescribable”, and then a cover of “Bless the Broken Road” when she came down the aisle. When they were walking away, I started choking up and sang “I’ll Be” after about 8 unsuccessful attempts to find the right note… Stinking emotions… I found a “baby cat” and took a picture, but I don’t pet it! 😉 at one point I grabbed my nephew Louden and we took a bunch of pictures together. Love that kid.

I was pretty tired and I think I told over 200 jokes at the wedding… Definitely looked back when we were driving away and thought, what in the world? Why did I need to crack that many jokes? Oh well. I had fun. 🙂

After the wedding we drove back to Appleton and set up for the show. The room at Copper Rock Coffee House has this amazing natural echo/reverb that made everything sound amazing. I ended up playing half the set using my loop pedal and then just stripped it down and went completely acoustic/no mics. I loved this audience so much. They were really diggin it and we’re even singin along! Great crowd.

On top of all that, my old drummer Eric was able to show up. His son, Andrew is one of my good buddies. This 8 year old was teaching me how to use my iPhone, and even suggested I play “sleeves” at one point. I think I had everyone clap for him a dozen times.

When we finished the show, and after another coffee and a “sick tea” headed back to the hotel. (yeah I showed them how to make it… And even made the baristas try it.

Got in bed and fell asleep right away… My voice is really struggling so I’m giving it a bit of a rest today. Tonight’s show should be amazing. 400 Bar in Minneapolis seems rad and there’s a grip of ladies that I cant wait to meet! This has definitely been the most facebooked/tweeted about show this far and I’m gonna play my arse off!!! 🙂

All my love,
-j

20120729-122407.jpg

20120729-122856.jpg

About Joshua Lodge

Josh will cheerfully admit that he averaged less than a dozen people a show when he first began playing San Diego coffee houses and clubs. But he garnered diehard fans in the process, sold a few thousand copies of his EP, Pocket Change, and picked up few awards along the way. After a traumatic family incident Josh retreated inward, and he ended up writing what would ultimately become his breakout debut, Raw. The album was true to its name and people noticed - Josh picked up two San Diego Music Awards for "Best Acoustic" and "Best Local Recording," opened for the likes of Zac Brown, Jason Mraz, and Matt Nathanson, and had enough money and momentum to tour the country a few times over. A few years after Raw, there was his third EP, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Josh spent much of the year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his album I Will Be There out now on Randm Records. From the joyous encouragement of “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all. A few years after Raw, there was his third release, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Damigo spent much of year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his latest album, "Just Give Me a Call", available now, on Randm Records. From the up-tempo single, “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 6 of the #HOPEtour – Appleton and My Nephew is Cuter Than Yours, Neener, Neener, Boo, Boo

  1. tiff says:

    Awww… Just saw these add I was reading your blog. So cute! Miss you 🙂

Leave a Reply

