Day 7 of the #HOPEtour – Minneapolis and Autographing Guitars

20120730-143418.jpg

Minneapolis’ day started with the most sleep I’ve had in about a month. After the show in Fort Wayne, I passed out for about 11 hours straight. I remember having a dream that I was running through a forest being chased by beautiful women who wanted to show me their screen plays… I’m not sure what that means, but I’m sure there was a reason I didn’t want to read them… Haha… I know nothing about screenplays… Oh well… I feel like there was strawberry ice cream somewhere in the dream too… Dieting makes your subconscious do some weird things. 😉

We drove to Minneapolis and I took a picture of what I thought was the city we were gonna play in… But it was St. Paul… Oh well… 😉

We met with some friends for dinner at a spot called “rePUBlic”. It wigged me out cause they really put an emphasis on the “Pub”. I don’t know why… But it was our table conversation for at least one sentence… Then everyone looked at me like I was crazy… Which is another thing I’m getting used to… I need to learn to think 4 or 5 times before I open my mouth… I think that will allow the conversation to change before I say something stupid… 😛

We got to the venue and sound checked… I nailed my head on a speaker during the soundcheck and forgot my name for a minute or two… But the 400bar is a rad spot with a ton of history and I hope to go back there soon, with even more peeps!

Before the show I got the chance to meet Elli, who used to live in San Diego, but now lives with her mom in Minneapolis. She showed up at the venue even though it was suppose to be 18 and up, and Matt was able to talk the bouncer into letting her in. (side note: you all know that the bouncer NEVER would have let me ask that… Right??? Sigh…. 😉

She had me sign her guitar outside and we talked a little about playing music then started flexing and comparing muscle size.

20120730-143732.jpg

After my sound check, she told me she could sign my guitar if I wanted. (hahaha!!! So cute!!!) I told her I had to play it every night and it would smear off… Then I started wondering who I would want to sign my guitar. Deez’s guitar has a bunch of peeps autographs on it, and I wonder who’d I’d wanna have sign – guitar. Maybe Jon Foreman-Switchfoot, cause he was my first rock idol. Then maybe Brad Paisley cause he’s bad ass, and maybe Randy Jackson if i saw him in an airport… cause you don’t just not get Randy Jackson’s signature… (see what I did there???)

I got the opportunity to chill with 4 of my favorite people in the world last night. Jenn, MiRinda, Amy, and Cassidy (who is a model) all know how to make a guy feel confident even on his worst day. My boy, Rory, came out with Natalie, and bought a bunch of tickets for friends of his who flaked, (boo on them!!!) but there’s something special about these peeps coming out to these shows- they all really believe in me, and that feels amazing. Thanks guys- I will definitely make you a stop every chance I get.

Playing Cedar Rapids, Iowa tonight. I lost touch with all of my contacts from Ashford University… But I hope they know I’m coming.

Thanks to everyone who came out last night. You are all amazing!
-j

About Joshua Lodge

Josh will cheerfully admit that he averaged less than a dozen people a show when he first began playing San Diego coffee houses and clubs. But he garnered diehard fans in the process, sold a few thousand copies of his EP, Pocket Change, and picked up few awards along the way. After a traumatic family incident Josh retreated inward, and he ended up writing what would ultimately become his breakout debut, Raw. The album was true to its name and people noticed - Josh picked up two San Diego Music Awards for "Best Acoustic" and "Best Local Recording," opened for the likes of Zac Brown, Jason Mraz, and Matt Nathanson, and had enough money and momentum to tour the country a few times over. A few years after Raw, there was his third EP, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Josh spent much of the year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his album I Will Be There out now on Randm Records. From the joyous encouragement of “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all. A few years after Raw, there was his third release, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Damigo spent much of year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his latest album, "Just Give Me a Call", available now, on Randm Records. From the up-tempo single, “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

