Day 8 and 9 of the #HOPEtour – Iowa and a Day Off

We drove from Minneapolis to our gig in Iowa- this was probably the easiest of all the rides, since by this time, Matt and I have figured out all the topics to not mention and the natural stops (like Starbucks) and have even synchronized our bladders so they need to be released at the same time. (it’s much harder than you think… Trust me…)

We got to Daniel Arthur’s and it was definitely one of those “background music” gigs that I despise, but they pay the bills, so I was happy to play. I did the hour long gig and even did a medley for my boy Jeff Hackbarth entitled, “Jeff, Are You Gonna Buy a CD”. Probably one of my best songs to date. I even threw in a song entitled, “Daniel Arthur’s is a Pervert” about how the venue had a dozen naked women up on the walls… That was definitely my shining moment of this tour…

The drive home was pretty rough however… I was wicked exhausted and I could tell Matt was too. We made it to Chicago just in time to get crazy rained on and lightning strikes all over the place. I stayed close to Matt on hopes that he would take the lightning strike if it was to hit. (cause he’s tall… Catch up with me people…)

I slept like a baby and woke up pretty stoked to get out and explore Chicago on my day off. I ended up taking the day to think over the tour and figure out how to be more successful next time/ what songs to push harder/areas I wanted to hit. I went to a 5 dollar theatre and watched the batman movie. It was pretty rad. After, I jumped on the redline and went to the Cubs game… Where they got 1-hit after losing a few players to the trading post… I think they’re a few years out from doing something big. I hope they win. They deserve to win something eventually. 🙂

Tonight is the Chicago show at Elbo Room. I’m currently on the train on my way to Fearless Radio to hang with some of my favorite peeps in the world. Tomorrow I’ll fly back to SD and I’m super stoked to go home! Then I have a week to promote the album releases in LA and SD and then the San Diego Music Awards! Here’s to hoping that it’s a good month! 🙂

-j

20120801-134644.jpg

20120801-134635.jpg

20120801-134614.jpg

About Joshua Lodge

Josh will cheerfully admit that he averaged less than a dozen people a show when he first began playing San Diego coffee houses and clubs. But he garnered diehard fans in the process, sold a few thousand copies of his EP, Pocket Change, and picked up few awards along the way. After a traumatic family incident Josh retreated inward, and he ended up writing what would ultimately become his breakout debut, Raw. The album was true to its name and people noticed - Josh picked up two San Diego Music Awards for "Best Acoustic" and "Best Local Recording," opened for the likes of Zac Brown, Jason Mraz, and Matt Nathanson, and had enough money and momentum to tour the country a few times over. A few years after Raw, there was his third EP, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Josh spent much of the year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his album I Will Be There out now on Randm Records. From the joyous encouragement of “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all. A few years after Raw, there was his third release, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Damigo spent much of year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his latest album, "Just Give Me a Call", available now, on Randm Records. From the up-tempo single, “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

