Day 10 of the #HOPETour – Chicago and Home

20120802-214703.jpg
I can’t think of a better way to end the tour than a show in Chicago. I believe this is my fourth show in this town and it makes me so happy to see so many of the same people have come back to see me every time! Apparently I’m not good at offending Chicago fans… 😉

The day started with two hours at Starbucks reading the USA Today and trying not to sneeze on any of the other patrons. (the air in Chicago drives my nose batty…) Nobody was doing cocaine on the bench outside today which was a nice change to the day before.

I had a radio interview with the peeps over at FearlessRadio.com and ran home, changed into my new Cubs t-shirt, cause I knew that Kris is a big fan, and took the T to Chinatown. (that last sentence was all typed with a deep chikagoh accent.) They have a beautiful new building, that I guess they’ve been in for a while, but Kris’ full smile hasn’t changed. You only meet a few people in life who you can just absolutely feel love when you see them, and she’s one of mine.

This time I got to chat with Justin, and we had a great time talking on the radio- ill post a link when it comes available. While I was walking out, I got to meet a cool group called “The Wooden Wings”. Super cute girls in the group… And the guys let them drive the tour van… #womanpower I look forward to checking them out soon.

I rode the T back to Loyola to get ready for the show and chilled with Matt a bit. On the way, I got a notification that I had been verified by twitter. For those of u who don’t care about twitter, skip this paragraph… For those who do, that don’t know what that means, basically it makes me look legit/like a celebrity. I have no clue how I got it, but I’m fine with not knowing.
20120802-214716.jpg

This is how I know the difference between friends in the music industry, and peeps that are just trying to get ahead. When Matt heard about it, he immediately congratulated me. He didn’t even ask how I got it! Immediately after, I received a bunch of people who had the opposite response. “How did you get that???”, “What?? I want that!!!”, “duh duduhduduhduduhduh….”. It’s really sad sometimes when you find out that many of the people you thought were friends, are really just going to try to use you to make themselves get ahead. It’d be nice if we could just be happy for each other when something goes well for them, but I’m guilty of it in the past too. I try to remind myself to be happy for those who get breaks and know that my turn will come soon enough. If I do ask for help with something I try to offer something in return, or humbly ask for the favor with hopes of returning it when I can. (You’d be surprised how many people want hook-ups and then forget you the second that you help them out… Sigh…)

The show was awesome. I broke another string, which means I’ll need to get it checked on, but I had a really great time. The Elbo Room has a great staff and Matt the bartender was from SD and took care of me and Kayla, the booker was awesome and loves good music! awesome and hopefully will invite me back!

Today has been a really long day. I had to take the T from Loyola to midway and having a big bag doesn’t make it very easy… Dirty looks… No room… Lots and lots of stairs… Let’s just say that I worked out good today…

I got to the airport to see if I could get an earlier flight, but it was like 300 bucks to change… That’s almost a whole flight anywhere in the US!!! I got to the airport at 2:00… But my flight didn’t leave till 10:35…. Ugh…. So I sat around the Chicago airport all day…

We leave in about an hour… And I’m watching The Power Puff Girls… Gonna need to sleep on this plane… Maybe I have some extra Benadryl somewhere? 🙂

Thanks to everyone who came to the shows and donated to make this happen. You’re all the best and I hope to hug you soon.

-j

About Josh Damigo

Josh will cheerfully admit that he averaged less than a dozen people a show when he first began playing San Diego coffee houses. But he garnered diehard fans in the process, sold a few thousand copies of his homemade EP, Pocket Change, and picked up few awards along the way. After a traumatic family incident, Damigo retreated inward, and he ended up writing what would ultimately become his breakout debut, Raw. The album was true to its name and people noticed - Josh picked up two San Diego Music Awards for “Best Acoustic” and “Best Local Recording,” opened for the likes of Zac Brown, Jason Mraz, Eric Hutchinson, and Matt Nathanson, and had enough money and momentum to tour the country a few times over. A few years after Raw, there was his third release, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Damigo spent much of year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his latest album, "Just Give Me a Call", available now, on Randm Records. From the up-tempo single, “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 10 of the #HOPETour – Chicago and Home

  1. Kris says:

    It was fantastic seeing you Josh – and thank you so much for the kind words! We at Fearless love you brother!

  2. Kitty says:

    Pretty sure you took the “L” train, unless they changed the name of it ;-P Jealous of your trip out to the midwest, I loved going out there with you.

Leave a Reply

