Day 1 – #HOPEtour (Packing, Goodbye’s, and Hookups)

Image

Well, here goes nothing. All of the money we raised, time spent locked in my pad, booking gigs, and planning and plotting has finally led to today. And we’re off. 🙂

It’s definitely an exciting feeling, and I’m so absolutely lucky to live in a place, time, country, where I can just up and go for a month and get paid to play shows. (How awesome is that???)

I’m actually feeling under the weather, which isn’t cool, but I’m sure after a few nights of sleeping for 4 hours in my car will do great things for my upper respiratory system. 😛 I’ve been doing all the “airborne” stuff and taking care of my body lately, (I’m down 15 pounds!!!) So I’m as fit as I can be! This is gonna be great.

I did get 3 emails today from people asking for hookups to shows. I wanted to let you guys know that it’s REALLY hard to say, “No”- but I’m not big enough to have any! :-/ I tease alot about a quote I heard once, “Remember the little people…. because they’ll want free tickets!!!” The truth is, I’m still paying dues. I haven’t “ARRIVED” anywhere. I still have to promote my ass off to get 30 people out to Lestat’s, just like everyone else. It’s gonna be even tougher on the road! So while I’m trying to work and get people out, it’s counter-productive to “support” an artist by “asking for handouts”. That may seem harsh, but my every day is harsh. I’ve been turned down by SOOOO many venues, said “NO” to by radio stations, labels, etc… Nobody really cares about me until I have 60,000 likes on my facebook, and I’m selling out 25 different markets. So PLEASE don’t take it out on me/get mad if I can’t get you a free ticket. I’m still working my ass off to try to get to that place. I don’t ask you for a free dental check up…. or a free tattoo… or even a free happy meal! (If you work at McDonalds…sorry… bad joke…) Please keep supporting me and telling people, and inviting them to shows, because I can’t do this without you. Thank you for all you’ve done in the past, but we’re not even close to halfway of where I hope that we can be. 

Well, I’m gonna take my sick ass and try to beat the traffic to LA. Thank you guys so much for the support, and I can’t wait to see you in all of these different cities! 

All of my heart,
-j

About Josh Damigo

Josh will cheerfully admit that he averaged less than a dozen people a show when he first began playing San Diego coffee houses. But he garnered diehard fans in the process, sold a few thousand copies of his homemade EP, Pocket Change, and picked up few awards along the way. After a traumatic family incident, Damigo retreated inward, and he ended up writing what would ultimately become his breakout debut, Raw. The album was true to its name and people noticed - Josh picked up two San Diego Music Awards for “Best Acoustic” and “Best Local Recording,” opened for the likes of Zac Brown, Jason Mraz, Eric Hutchinson, and Matt Nathanson, and had enough money and momentum to tour the country a few times over. A few years after Raw, there was his third release, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Damigo spent much of year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his latest album, "Just Give Me a Call", available now, on Randm Records. From the up-tempo single, “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 1 – #HOPEtour (Packing, Goodbye’s, and Hookups)

  1. Have a great time on the road. Keep a bag of oranges with you or vitamin c. Do your push ups, crunches and squats whenever possible and have kick ass shows. Keep “Hope” alive, brotha!

    Chad

  2. Chelsea says:

    Who has two thumbs and is pumped to PAY for a ticket to see Josh Damigo?!? This girl! (Okay this is totally lame w/out a photo but just trust me I am pointing at myself, lol)

    see you in 9 days!

Leave a Reply

