Day 2 – #HOPEtour (Los Angeles, Switchfoot, and Exes)

Well it looks like I am about one hour away from Las Vegas. All I can say is I’m feeling good! I had a great time in Los Angeles tonight. The usual suspects all showed up, and I think everybody was Diggin everybody’s vibe.

It’s definitely tough sometimes when people say they’re coming shows and then don’t make it. I get that I can’t expect people to show up every single time, but it’s definitely a bummer when you go to look for somebody said their coming, and they didn’t make it. I wish people knew how much I care about them. I think it may be blogging will solve this problem! So quit standing me up!

I love playing with Joel Eckels, he always adds a tasty flare and never goes overboard. We joked about making A “Joel Eckels” pedal that would bottle him up inside of the pedal and i could use him in every show, but I don’t think he’s down with that. I also don’t think I could afford it…. Sigh…

I had a scary moment on the way to Vegas, the red electricity lights on my car started flashing and I lost power the gas pedal. I pulled over to the side of the road, unplugged my phone, and stopped the car. That seemed to fix the problem, but I called my mechanic at 3 o’clock in the morning just to make sure it wasn’t anything more serious. If you don’t have a mechanic that answers the phone for you at 3 o’clock in the morning, you need to go see my buddy Albert at Simply Auto Tech. They are fantastic and always take care of me… plus it’s nice to have somebody like him in your back pocket!

I downloaded the first three Switchfoot albums. I haven’t listened to them and probably about five years. It took me back to a time where I was really shy guy and had a hard time telling girls Hiw I felt… Okay maybe not a whole lot has changed, but I do know one thing is for sure… I see major patterns in my life. I always seem to want to fit someone else’s hole… that sounded a lot dirtier than I expected…. What I meant to say is I tried to fit the type of guy they’re looking for, and it may not necessarily be who I’m supposed to be. All I know is that when I heard Switchfoot’s song Learning to Breathe, it took me back to a time where I felt like life could just punch me in the throat and I had to start learning to breathe again. I’m definitely there now… I looked down and saw my ex-girlfriend’s hair bracelet on the drive to LA, I wanted to put it on so badly, but knew that we didn’t really make much sense. It’s just a bummer when relationships and I don’t like the feeling of trying to go back to friends after you become so close- it just doesn’t feel natural to me. Maybe that’s why I hardly talk to any of my exes. Oh well… done thinking about it…

I’m playing a new venue in Vegas today, so if you know anyone in the Las Vegas area and want to send them out, please do! Going to be a fun one I can’t wait to break my new during banjo out and all the shows, it definitely surprised a bunch of people at the show tonight in Los Angeles. You got to tap your foot, I guarantee it.

60 more miles to Vegas!

-j

About Joshua Lodge

Josh will cheerfully admit that he averaged less than a dozen people a show when he first began playing San Diego coffee houses and clubs. But he garnered diehard fans in the process, sold a few thousand copies of his EP, Pocket Change, and picked up few awards along the way. After a traumatic family incident Josh retreated inward, and he ended up writing what would ultimately become his breakout debut, Raw. The album was true to its name and people noticed - Josh picked up two San Diego Music Awards for "Best Acoustic" and "Best Local Recording," opened for the likes of Zac Brown, Jason Mraz, and Matt Nathanson, and had enough money and momentum to tour the country a few times over. A few years after Raw, there was his third EP, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Josh spent much of the year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his album I Will Be There out now on Randm Records. From the joyous encouragement of “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all. A few years after Raw, there was his third release, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Damigo spent much of year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his latest album, "Just Give Me a Call", available now, on Randm Records. From the up-tempo single, “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

