Day 4 – #HOPEtour (Salt Lake City, Banjo Restringing, and Breaking Up Marriages)

I woke up about three hours outside of Salt Lake City yesterday morning and I knew it was going to be a long day when I did my morning stretch cause my entire bag tightened up. I’m getting too old to sleep my car…sigh…

I drove straight to the coffee house and didn’t really venture out too much. Today was about getting a lot of work done, and I didn’t really have a whole lot of adventures going on, but I did have a great time at the coffee shop!

Mestizo Is a cool coffee shop. All of the workers there were super cool and I literally spent seven hours there. I got to watch the Oakland A’s game on my laptop, and WOW what a game that was! I would say they are probably my second favorite team behind the Red Sox, but the Red Sox are so far out ahead I probably never talk about them, except for with Jake Najor, because he wears an A’s hat sometimes. Other than that, probably nobody knows unless you grew up with me.

I restrung my banjo for the first time, which is pretty cool, except there was a couple that was obviously husband-and-wife or fiancés or something, that were breaking up, very, VERY loudly. It was really awkward and probably a bad omen to be the thing that was happening when I was restringing my banjo for the first time. I guess that means from now on, leave me alone when I’m restricting or something bad will happen to you…

The open mic started around 7 o’clock I had a pretty great time meeting everybody even though I was really tired from the day before so I was probably really quiet and shy. I got to meet a cat named Ben Brinton, who exchanged albums with me and his is pretty good!

I played the whole set with my banjo, then sat around and watched the rest the open mic and got ready to drive. I had at 10 Hour drive in front of me to get to Colorado Springs… Sigh

I talked to Amy Lawrence a little bit, she kept me awake for most the trip but I finally couldn’t stand it anymore at around 3 o’clock and pulled into a truck stop in Wyoming and went back to bed.

Overall, it wasn’t the most interesting day of my trip, but it was definitely a fun one. I can’t wait to come back to Salt Lake City with a real show next time, it’s going to be a good one!

I’ll see you in Colorado Springs tonight and I’m really excited about the show because I love my Colorado peeps!

Have a great day!
-j

About Joshua Lodge

Josh will cheerfully admit that he averaged less than a dozen people a show when he first began playing San Diego coffee houses and clubs. But he garnered diehard fans in the process, sold a few thousand copies of his EP, Pocket Change, and picked up few awards along the way. After a traumatic family incident Josh retreated inward, and he ended up writing what would ultimately become his breakout debut, Raw. The album was true to its name and people noticed - Josh picked up two San Diego Music Awards for "Best Acoustic" and "Best Local Recording," opened for the likes of Zac Brown, Jason Mraz, and Matt Nathanson, and had enough money and momentum to tour the country a few times over. A few years after Raw, there was his third EP, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Josh spent much of the year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his album I Will Be There out now on Randm Records. From the joyous encouragement of “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all. A few years after Raw, there was his third release, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Damigo spent much of year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his latest album, "Just Give Me a Call", available now, on Randm Records. From the up-tempo single, “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

