Day 5 – #HOPEtour (Colorado Springs, Truck Stops, and Valentine’s Day)

I woke up this morning at around 8:30, and couldn’t get back to sleep cause I was so cold… turns out it gets ridiculously nippy in Wyoming. I turned on the car (and the heater) and drove to the next gas station. I wasn’t fully awake, nor did I realize that everyone was wearing full jeans and flannel jackets, and that I was the only one in basketball shorts and a t-shirt when I walked into the diner.

It was sort of like a weird western, or maybe a movie like Fargo, where everyone is eating in the small little diner and someone “different” walks in. I’d be that man playing the “Different” card, and while I didn’t make eye contact with any of the truckers, I could feel the looks from behind their ZZ Top style beards. I stumbled towards the restroom, and came out looking for some bottled water when the lady behind the register loudly asked me, “SO… You gotta tell me about this purple teddy bear tattoo.” I was literally across the gas station… so once again, I felt incredibly uncomfortable. I let her know the story of how my best friend wanted to get matching tattoos, and I thought that was weird, and told him I’d get a purple teddy bear in order to watch him get one. He didn’t believe me, so when I did… he was upset. She laughed, then started showing me hers, and let me know that she usually fell asleep during the tattoos and woke up and they were done. (uh… what?) 

I walked out of the gas station, got into my car, and shivered at how awkwardly that stop had gone. The 20 degree weather continued all the way until around noon, when I hit colorado. 

As I was tweeting the one liners that I had been thinking up about Wyoming, (Like, how it should be named, “DearGodWhyoming”) I heard Colin Cowherd announce that Bobby Valentine had been fired from the Red Sox. I immediately starting putting on sox gear and singing “Sweet Caroline” at the top of my lungs! 🙂 Allow me to explain for those of you that don’t care about baseball. 

The Red Sox had a TERRIBLE collapse last year. (One of the worst in sports history.) The media BLASTED the team for drinking and eating fried chicken in the clubhouse during games, and ultimately, Terry Francona (The coach), and Theo Epstein (The Front Office) were let go/decided to leave. This was DEVASTATING for me, because these men had helped us win our first World Series in 2003, and then again a few years later. It was like watching a part of my favorite years of sports be thrown away. THEN, the Sox hired Valentine. 

I had heard Valentine on ESPN regularly, and with the exception of Mark Schlereth, there are not many people who I openly disagree with more. He would give “theoretical analysis” on games that was SO FAR out of left field, that I’d smack my head and say, “REALLY???” at the TV. The guy was a knucklehead. Every time he talked I felt like I was getting dumber. When I heard he was our new coach. I shook my head. “This is going to be a rough season.” I posted a picture of a text I sent today on instagram from the beginning of the season, predicting that this year was gonna be rough. (I remember Boston Rob defending him when we were drafting fantasy baseball teams this year… but I’m not gonna put him on blast… or did I just do that???) So when Valentine was fired today, after leading the sox to the WORST SEASON they have had in YEARS- (68 wins 90something losses) I was STOKED! He ran out one of my favorite players, Kevin Youkilis, who is now with the Chicago White Sox, and regularly made us sound dumber than I thought was humanly possible…. Anyways… good riddance. It’s football season anyways… 😛

I decided to get a hotel room in Colorado Springs and slept from 1:00- 5:30. I got to the gig, and I want you guys to know, I hope to be able to play at Jive’s EVERY TIME I play Colorado Springs. This place was so incredibly inviting, and friendly, and I think I talked to people for another 2 hours after my set was done. (Even though I felt completely out of breath… this elevation is no joke!!!) I got to see so many dear friends tonight, and had a blast. 

Well, I have the day off tomorrow, so I’m going to drive through Nebraska most of the day and try to get as close to Chicago as I can. If you haven’t gotten your tickets to the show with Andy Grammer, I hope you do! 

All of my heart is yours. 
-j

About Joshua Lodge

Josh will cheerfully admit that he averaged less than a dozen people a show when he first began playing San Diego coffee houses and clubs. But he garnered diehard fans in the process, sold a few thousand copies of his EP, Pocket Change, and picked up few awards along the way. After a traumatic family incident Josh retreated inward, and he ended up writing what would ultimately become his breakout debut, Raw. The album was true to its name and people noticed - Josh picked up two San Diego Music Awards for "Best Acoustic" and "Best Local Recording," opened for the likes of Zac Brown, Jason Mraz, and Matt Nathanson, and had enough money and momentum to tour the country a few times over. A few years after Raw, there was his third EP, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Josh spent much of the year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his album I Will Be There out now on Randm Records. From the joyous encouragement of “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all. A few years after Raw, there was his third release, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Damigo spent much of year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his latest album, "Just Give Me a Call", available now, on Randm Records. From the up-tempo single, “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

