Day 7 – #HOPEtour (Toledo, New York, and THE MUD HENS BAAAAAYBEEEEE)

I woke up in the hotel in Toledo, and headed out to check out the town. My bass player, Kory McAfee and guitarist, Justin Gadus are both from Toledo, so they gave me the cool spots to check out. Unfortunately, I spent most of the day at the mall and making sure my car wasn’t getting broken into. I headed into the mall to see if I could find a hat store that had a Toledo Mud Hens cap. No luck…

I had driven around the stadium, and missed the store that they have built into the stadium. (Duh…) But When I went back around 4:00, I found it… and thankfully they are open all year, even when the minor league season is over. I ran into the store and said, “I’VE BEEN LOOKING FORWARD TO MEETING YOU GUYS ALL DAY!!!” and the workers must have thought I was crazy, but I didn’t care. I’d found it. Here’s the backstory:

Kory showed up to band practice after visiting home a few years ago and was rocking a new ball cap that I hadn’t seen before. it looked like a skinny duck with a ball cap swinging a bat. I was like… “Dude… what’s up with your hat?” And he said, “It’s the Mud Hens.” I said, “Is that like a minor league team or something? You don’t even like baseball…” then Justin chimed in – “Whatchu know about the MUD HENS, SON?” We all laughed at Justin’s fist pumping/jersey shoresque way of saying that, and it stuck with me. That night, I went home and looked up the Mud Hens and researched them, because I’m a HUGE baseball fan. (If you didn’t know…) But my minor league team has always been the Portland Sea Dogs, and the Bangor Blue Ox back in the day. (Also, the San Jose Giants and Modesto A’s and the San Diego Surf Dogs…. but you know… the whole Red Sox thing kinda trumps everything…) I came back to the next practice and started talking up Toledo and the Mud Hens and the Tigers and everyone just looked at me like I was an idiot… haha.

So when I showed up to the stadium, I ended up grabbing one of my new favorite shirts and a cool hat. I’ll probably do the same when I get to Portland… Go Sea Dogs… 😛

Ye Olde Durty Bird

I walked outside and saw the sign for “Ye Olde Durty Bird”- the club bar and grill and knew that this was where I would be spending the rest of my time in Toledo…

The place is legit. it’s like an Irish Pub, but with live music regularly and a cool baseball feel to it. I’m gonna try to book it next time I’m in town. I ended up watching the National’s and Cardinal’s game with a stranger and talking about everything from hookers to accounting to life.

The show was awesome. John McAfee is Kory’s dad, and he set it up at Duncan’s – An older biker bar type of spot that was awesome. Their band “Bourbon Cowboys” opened the show and I accidentally called them “Whiskey Tango” after a San Diego band… I hope they registered their name… cause it may have stuck… 😛

Duncan’s was great, and I got out of there around 2am and started the 9 hour drive to New York. I only got about 2 or 3 hours away when I needed to stop and sleep just outside of Columbus.

I woke up and drove to New York around 10am. I made great timing and got into the New Jersey/New York area around 4:30. That’s when the panic started… Driving in New York is like driving in Tijuana, but with lines…. I’m not sure why they are there, but they are… Maybe they are there to be ignored… I guess that gives New Yorkers one more thing to snub… 😛

I found parking right next to the club and decided that I was not going to be doing any sight seeing, because my adrenaline was pumping, and who knows if I’d be able to find parking again in a few hours. I walked into the National Underground and was greeted by Alice who is from Seattle, an actress and had only been working at the club for about a month. She was great and got me a fantastic burger! (You GOTTA try their burgers!)

Pretty much all of my friends except Jon Heffley showed up to the gig. 🙂 You have NO clue how awesome that feels. Nicole, Danielle, and their friend Picole (SP???) hung out with me for a majority of the night. (they got there around 6 and are some of my favorite peeps in the world. Picole ate half of my burger, which was rad cause I didn’t wanna eat a whole burger… (You know… my diet and what not…) Allan (Formerly from Dynamite Walls) showed up. If that guy hadn’t moved to NY, he and I would’ve started a rock band- no doubt about that one. He was one of my favorite peeps in the San Diego scene, and he’s pretty stinking happy in New York, so I don’t see him coming back anytime… 😛 Stephanie showed up a little later cause she got out of work early, and she is one of the only people who actually came and visited me when I lived in LA.

Arielle and Jen showed up and I spent most of the rest of the night hanging out with them, because I feel like I’ve been trying to meet them since the last tour! 🙂 Then, Kelly showed up with Mario and TODD CAREY!!!! (I LOVE Todd, and I never get to see him!) Cali gave me a hug and showed off her smile right before I started. It was literally a room full of my favorite peeps in the world.

Every once in a while, I bomb a show. Maybe I’m the only one who thinks I bombed it, but to me, it just didn’t feel right. I was nervous and awkward, and if you’ve never had a panic attack, it’s similar to that feeling. All of your insecurities scream louder than the music, and I found myself stumbling over words/not digging my tone on my guitar/ and just walked away with a bad taste in my mouth. Everyone assured me that I did great, but I think sometimes I just need to cut myself a break. I’m sure that Elvis had bad shows every once in a while… Be nice to yourself, Josh!!! 😛

The girls (Nicole, Picole, and Danielle) didn’t like the idea of me sleeping in my car, so Danielle gave me her couch and a shower… so today I smell like Vanilla and Herbal Essence… meh…

Tonight I’ll be the featured act at the All Asia open mic. I’ve played here every time I’ve been in Boston, and this may be the first time that there are actually a few people here… 😛 I like how stylish people are in New England. I wish I could dress like them more… I’m just too much of a lumberjack/jock… maybe Monina (My Publicist) will be able to get me to dress better soon… 😛 The next tour could be called “Josh Damigo: Better dressed… still pretty average looking tho” 😛

Love you guys. Getting back to the MotherLand tonight. (West Minot, ME) Let’s pray that Grammie remembered to get rid of the cat hair in my room…. 😛

-j

About Joshua Lodge

Josh will cheerfully admit that he averaged less than a dozen people a show when he first began playing San Diego coffee houses and clubs. But he garnered diehard fans in the process, sold a few thousand copies of his EP, Pocket Change, and picked up few awards along the way. After a traumatic family incident Josh retreated inward, and he ended up writing what would ultimately become his breakout debut, Raw. The album was true to its name and people noticed - Josh picked up two San Diego Music Awards for "Best Acoustic" and "Best Local Recording," opened for the likes of Zac Brown, Jason Mraz, and Matt Nathanson, and had enough money and momentum to tour the country a few times over. A few years after Raw, there was his third EP, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Josh spent much of the year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his album I Will Be There out now on Randm Records. From the joyous encouragement of “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all. A few years after Raw, there was his third release, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Damigo spent much of year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his latest album, "Just Give Me a Call", available now, on Randm Records. From the up-tempo single, “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 7 – #HOPEtour (Toledo, New York, and THE MUD HENS BAAAAAYBEEEEE)

  1. Jenn says:

    So?!?! …. where might you be playing while here?

  2. We’re always our worst critics. That’s when ya gotta give the bad stuff the FIDO treatment.
    Besides, you’re living your dream–not just dreaming about living.

    #hope. 🙂

Leave a Reply

