Day 8 – #HOPEtour (Boston, West Minot, Bangor and Sleeeeeeep…)

It’s been a few days since I posted because I was planning on using this reason as a week off… my family had other plans for me… 😉

I got into Maine last Thursday after my gig at All Asia in Boston. It was a fun time with a few people that I had been waiting to meet for a while -Wayne and Chelsea. Both of them are so fun to hangout with! I sat in the bar watching playoff baseball for like six hours and it felt like about two minutes.

I often joke about being from a small town, but I think that that is an understatement. When I asked grandpa how big West Minot was, he said that they had about 1500 people! I think that’s smaller than my street in San Diego!

Sometimes it’s interesting to think about where I come from. I was born in San Jose but lived the first four years my life in West Minot, Maine. When my parents divorced I moved back to San Jose then lived there till I was 18. I spent a year of college in Hudson, Florida. And then went to college in San Diego and stayed there up until the dreaded LA experiment of 2011…. All I know is that today, I consider San Diego home, but my roots are definitely in Maine. I met so many people there that were so like-minded to me in the sense of how they dress, how they talk, and how they care about other people, I’m definitely a Mainer.

I believe I got into West Minot around 3 o’clock in the morning and went straight to bed. (and did not pass “Go” and I did not collect $200… Wakka wakka) I slept till about 11 o’clock the next morning.

A lot of my time was spent washing clothes, showering.. ha ha… and watching baseball and football with grandpa. I have to say out of all of my relatives I probably take after him the most, or at least I hope I do. He’s probably the easiest going-most lovable guy I’ve ever met in my life. Probably the highlight of my trip… That, and beating Grandma 2 out of 3 scrabble games…

My cousin Christie came down with her new husband Ryan and hung out for a few days. They even let me sleep in the only bed which is really nice because after sleeping in your car for two weeks you become rather cranky. I believe that most of the time the conversations were one-sided and I kind of drifted off into the distance. That’s my bad, I just haven’t been able to talk to anyone in a few weeks. You have to understand that when driving alone you get used to talking to yourself and thinking to yourself… I believe that I am regressing into a caveman every day I’m on the road…

I stayed in West Minot until Sunday, and then I headed towards Bangor where Pete lives. I was going to play at an open mic in Lewiston, but I was so tired the first night I decided to take it easy. I did go and catch Amy Allen in Portland. She’s got a song called “Run Baby, Run”, and it’s literally one of my favorite tunes. I was pretty nervous to talk to her since I hadnt met her before and I didn’t want to seem like some crazy fan-stalker from California that saw her once on TV and wanted to get to be her BFF… but I’m sure that I make people feel that way sometimes too. I always try to make peeps feel like I’m approachable and they can talk to me anytime, and sometimes it burns me, but most of the time, I get more enjoyment and a feeling that I’m actually doing something good when I talk to people that like what I do.

When I got to Bangor, Pete and I went to watch the Patriots game which was kind of a bust and really hurt my feelings. I was hoping to see it with a packed room with a bunch of like-minded and crazy fans, but it was just us and two Seahawks fans… and they were nice, but that just made me angry… We should’ve won that game. The Patriots need a killer instinct…sigh… We went home and play for little bit but he could tell something was on my mind. It’s pretty easy… Since I wear my emotions on my sleeve. I think anyone that knows me well enough knows that you can pretty much read me like a book. I guess you could read my blog, but why would you want to wait a couple days to get that updated when you can just read my face? Anyways, I shook it off we went to a couple other bars- one closed at 9:30 which is ridiculous because there’s still football on at 9:30 in New England… so we went and played pool at another bar and the bartender was more into the chicks so he wasn’t going to pay attention to me and let me watch the rest of the game…

The rest of the time in Bangor was pretty much sleeping and going to open mics. I played two separate open mics in town and man were they completely different! The one I played on Monday night was absolutely awesome there about 50 people in the room and you can hear a pin drop everybody was attentive and totally diggin my stuff.
(Heres a video of it! thanks Larry!)

The open mic tonight however, was kind of pretentious and most the people that were there really didn’t care that I was up on stage. One kid sat and talked to my whole set, then got up and did the cheesiest 90’s covers I’ve ever heard. If you want people to actually care about your music or maybe should try to be a little bit nicer… Sigh…

All in all it was a pretty great weekend, I slept at so much, I feel like I saved 10 years of my life… and I feel like my beard grew 3 inches. Today is the show in Philly, and I’m pretty nervous since I’ve never played there before and the booker probably went out on a limb to book me, so if you know anyone in PA, please send The Grape Room tonight at 8 o’clock.

I guess the last thing I’ll mention is that I’m homesick, but I don’t want to go home yet. I’m writing some sort of the song in my head and I keep playing the tune over and over, but it hasn’t come out yet. One of the ideas is about how it’s a big old world but the city feels so small. I guess I still have some healing to do.

I love you all so much, if you could do me a favor and tell one person about me today, be great! 🙂

All my best,
-j

About Joshua Lodge

Josh will cheerfully admit that he averaged less than a dozen people a show when he first began playing San Diego coffee houses and clubs. But he garnered diehard fans in the process, sold a few thousand copies of his EP, Pocket Change, and picked up few awards along the way. After a traumatic family incident Josh retreated inward, and he ended up writing what would ultimately become his breakout debut, Raw. The album was true to its name and people noticed - Josh picked up two San Diego Music Awards for "Best Acoustic" and "Best Local Recording," opened for the likes of Zac Brown, Jason Mraz, and Matt Nathanson, and had enough money and momentum to tour the country a few times over. A few years after Raw, there was his third EP, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Josh spent much of the year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his album I Will Be There out now on Randm Records. From the joyous encouragement of “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all. A few years after Raw, there was his third release, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Damigo spent much of year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his latest album, "Just Give Me a Call", available now, on Randm Records. From the up-tempo single, “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 8 – #HOPEtour (Boston, West Minot, Bangor and Sleeeeeeep…)

  1. Wayne Benson says:

    Hey Josh, We had a great time hanging out in Boston with you and enjoyed your amazing music. It was truly an awesome day for Debby and myself. I am so glad we got the chance to meet and see your show and look forward to seeing you again. Have a safe trip!

Leave a Reply

