Day 12 – #HOPEtour (Miami, Applebee’s, and Nate)

After Vero Beach, I drove the few hours to Hollywood, Florida, right outside of Miami and took care of a few internet orders, hung out at an Italian cafe next to the venue.

The show in Miami had originally been cancelled due to miscommunications with the venue and my manager. Luckily, Mark from Butterflies Radio, refused to let me skip his city and found me a venue to play at.

We had dinner at a Chinese Restaurant with Mark’s wife and fellow artist, Billy Kay and his son an told jokes and talked shop, then headed over to the Native Tap Room and set up for the show.

The venue sounded great and I had a fantastic time. Always good to play a show with friends. We even made a video for Carol, since she couldn’t make the trip from Australia. 🙂

I drove to Tampa and stayed at a friends house and hit the road pretty early. The next few days would be filled with driving, driving, and more driving.

My routine was to drive as far as possible, without stretching myself too thin, finding a decent priced hotel, then finding an Applebee’s to watch whatever sports event was on. When I posted about it, a bunch of people talked trash on Applebee’s… I was so confused… I’ve never had anything but good service, good food, good TV’s and good prices. I’m a huge fan of the Fiesta Lime Chicken and the fact that they have a bunch of healthy options that have meat, as since I haven’t been able to go longer than 2 days as a vegetarian, that’s good for me. Anyways… Maybe I’m way off, feel free to tell me what I’m missing, but I probably won’t agree with ya. 😉

I stopped in Montgomery and Dallas en route to Sayre, Oklahoma, where my brother is incarcerated. I won’t go into details again, cause you can definitely find his story in my previous blogs, but the long and short is that he had issues when he got back from his second tour in Iraq (USMC) and rather than try to help him, the San Diego District Attorney threw the book at him and gave him 6 years in jail. I always debate about posting stuff about visiting him in Facebook, because people come out I the woodwork to post their opinions without knowing the whole story, and it really bugs me. I’m learning that just because the Internet allows you to type something, it doesn’t necessarily mean you need to say it. Doesn’t anyone remember the rule, “If you can’t say anything nice, don’t say anything at all?”

The visit with Nathan was good, and e beat me at Checkers, twice and “Sorry”, once. (But I beat him at Poker and Scrabble, and those games are MUCH more important…)

When I left the jail, I was tensing up for tears, because I get very emotional, usually. In his words, “I’m the yang to your ying.” And it’s true. Nobody gets me like him, and he lets me be the loud/obnoxious performer and doesn’t mind being the strong/silent type- or muscle. I miss him all the time. This time, however, I just got upset. I know that “Life’s not fair,” But this seems so much more unfair than most issues people post. The fickle complaints Thu people have and post on twitter/Facebook are so small compared to what he’s going through that I deleted Facebook on my phone to get away from it for a little bit. I’m sorry the Chargers lost to the Browns… Sigh…

Anyways, I’m done being upset I think. It’s been a tough day. I’ve got 3 more hours to Albuquerque, and I’m gonna get something to eat and just relax. I play at the Mile High Vapor Room at 6 and I think there is an opener at 5:00. Hope to see you guys there.

I love you, and if anything I said annoyed you, I’m sorry. “Big Brother” emotions are coursing through my veins, and I just want my little brother to be recognized as the war hero that he truly is.

-j

About Joshua Lodge

Josh will cheerfully admit that he averaged less than a dozen people a show when he first began playing San Diego coffee houses and clubs. But he garnered diehard fans in the process, sold a few thousand copies of his EP, Pocket Change, and picked up few awards along the way. After a traumatic family incident Josh retreated inward, and he ended up writing what would ultimately become his breakout debut, Raw. The album was true to its name and people noticed - Josh picked up two San Diego Music Awards for "Best Acoustic" and "Best Local Recording," opened for the likes of Zac Brown, Jason Mraz, and Matt Nathanson, and had enough money and momentum to tour the country a few times over. A few years after Raw, there was his third EP, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Josh spent much of the year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his album I Will Be There out now on Randm Records. From the joyous encouragement of “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all. A few years after Raw, there was his third release, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Damigo spent much of year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his latest album, "Just Give Me a Call", available now, on Randm Records. From the up-tempo single, “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

