Ventura – Zoey’s Cafe

Oh man. Tonight was a blast. I CALLED IT! The Brothers Willing were fantastic, and it was a night I won’t soon forget. But I guess we should start at the beginning.

Today was my last morning in my own bed. In my house. In San Diego. In my own shower… Sigh… I’ll miss you most of all, shower… The days that I leave for tour are the most unreal. It’s like, “Don’t forget this… don’t forget that… don’t leave this dirty… Take that out…” (Sorry about the living room… guys… :-/) I felt super prepared this time, however. And when Amanda showed up, we were able to pack up the car pretty easily. (Amanda’s coming with me till Seattle, then she’s leaving me to hit this wilderness on my own…. sigh…)

We grabbed the video camera, said “Goodbye” to my room, house, street, North Park, San Diego, and tomorrow, Southern California. It’s nice to drive with someone. It makes the trip seem much quicker. (Especially when you talk the whole way!) And Sirius radio JUST GOT BASEBALL!!! I’m SO happy about that. I’ve always wanted to hear Red Sox games on tour, and I finally can. We listened to the Dodgers play the Padres, and I was stoked because I picked up Zack Greinke today, but bummed cause the Padres… well… they’re still the Padres. (Ugh.) We also played “Rubio’s Fin Facts” – which is a card trivia game about sea life. (I won obviously… because I’m a genius… like super, super, super, smart about the ocean and stuff…)

We made really good time, and only got stuck in traffic once, but the accident was on the other side of the freeway… Why do people feel the need to look at accidents? Feel free to tell me… but only if it’s interesting… If it’s boring, just keep that theory to yourself. I’ll admit it though… I looked at it too. I wonder if traffic would do better if you put a higher cinder block in the median. Like maybe people wouldn’t see the accident on the other side, and would focus more on their iPhones, iPads, radios, makeup, hair, nosepicking, singing, eating, etc…

We went to Busy Bee’s in downtown Ventura, because I LOVE those old 50’s diners, and can’t stand when I know where one is and don’t go. I had the normal bacon/eggs over easy/ and raisin french toast and Amanda had the cheeseburger. Some crazy lady came in with a guy and sat at the table next to us. That was pretty much our entertainment for our meal. She was claiming to be a mermaid, and letting him know that he needed to get out of his gang, since he was 82 now, and focus on raising his son… (Interesting….)

Showed up at Zoey’s and sound checked, then sat around with Steve for a bit and joked about singer/songwriters, ultra-religious groups, and the double standards for when women get pregnant before marriage and how guys get off free. (Don’t judge us… it was OUR conversation… I’m surprised you’ve read this far… Nosey…)

I was surprised to find out that B was playing with his brother, Josh, and that it wasn’t B Willing James, but The Brothers Willing that was performing with me tonight. They opened the show and KILLED it. Played my favorite songs, “Joyce” and “Waiting for a Train”. Steve RAVED about that song. “This one’s my favorite…” He said like two or three times.

I LOVE the atmosphere, and tonight I felt confident on stage. Zoey’s is my 2nd home. Outside of Lestat’s and maybe Room 5, I think I’ve played here more than any other venue. The sound on the stage was fantastic, the crowd was responsive, and didn’t mind when I made fun of them for not clapping through the entire song.

Quotes of the night?
“Do you guys like me??? Or was there a “Groupon” for tonight’s show???”
“Introduce yourself to somebody and meet ’em, because life’s too short to not know somebody you’re attracted to.”
“B is backstage learning a song we wrote together… so he may be up later… he may not… but he may be…”
“…About my song, ‘Cougar’… Are you guys not laughing cause it hits too close to home???”
Me: “Everybody start making babies!”
Lady in the Crowd: “Right here?”
Me: “NOoooooo….. well… okay maybe…”

AND

B- “Did you feel that?” ::Singing harmonies over my shoulder::
Me- “Well… I felt something…”

The Brothers Willing even jumped up and closed out the night by singing “Cougar” and doing some fun call and response with the crowd. (Josh Willing did some sorta “Jason Mrazzzy” thing… and we dug it… Well played young buck… well played.) Then they helped me finish the “encore” with “To Make You Feel My Love”, and they KILLED it.

At the end of the night, everyone was so kind and fun. I even had a talk about politics that ended in us becoming friends… that’s crazy. I love Ventura!

Tomorrow morning, we drive for the Bay Area. I get to see my grandparent’s new house, and I’m pretty stoked on that. They’ve lived in the same house since before I was born, and they just moved out to the country. (I’m guessing it’s near Charming… where Sons of Anarchy is set… but that’s just wishful thinking…)

Be good. Next show is the “Featured Slot” at the Brainwash Cafe open mic in San Francisco on Tuesday. I hope to see all of my Bay Area peeps there!

-j

About Joshua Lodge

Josh will cheerfully admit that he averaged less than a dozen people a show when he first began playing San Diego coffee houses and clubs. But he garnered diehard fans in the process, sold a few thousand copies of his EP, Pocket Change, and picked up few awards along the way. After a traumatic family incident Josh retreated inward, and he ended up writing what would ultimately become his breakout debut, Raw. The album was true to its name and people noticed - Josh picked up two San Diego Music Awards for "Best Acoustic" and "Best Local Recording," opened for the likes of Zac Brown, Jason Mraz, and Matt Nathanson, and had enough money and momentum to tour the country a few times over. A few years after Raw, there was his third EP, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Josh spent much of the year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his album I Will Be There out now on Randm Records. From the joyous encouragement of “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all. A few years after Raw, there was his third release, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Damigo spent much of year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his latest album, "Just Give Me a Call", available now, on Randm Records. From the up-tempo single, “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ventura – Zoey’s Cafe

  1. Jeff boyer says:

    Good 2 hear from u bud,keep on keeping on.

Leave a Reply

