Sacramento – The Naked Lounge

Sometimes, things don’t go your way. You have a choice. Are you going to bitch and moan and feel sorry for yourself? Or are you going to breathe, count to 5 and put your head back down and keep working. (I guess you could give up too… But that’s not really my style, so I’ll pretend that’s not an option.)

I had breakfast at Scrambl’z in San Jose with Amanda, and it was a fantastic blueberry stack of pancakes that has left me pretty full all day. She had a pretty awesome nacho breakfast called “Migas”. It’s like carne asada nachos but with eggs, cheese and bacon. Mmmmmmmm….

I was hoping to go to the guitar store that I stopped at last time, but it had shut down. (Which was a total bummer, cause they had a sweet Martin that I wanted to play!)

I took her around my hometown and showed her my school/relatives houses and first job. It’s always cool seeing how a city changes. This may be one of the last times that I head that way. With my grandparents moving and my brother graduating last May, I will probably end up heading to Oakdale from now on when I visit relatives.

We left for Sacramento after visiting with my mom for a bit. The traffic was pretty bad again due to “rubbernecks” who were looking at an accident on the other side of the freeway. Sigh.

We got to Sacramento around 6:15 and checked in at the venue. My posters were up, but I wasn’t on the schedule… That always raises flags… So I called my manager, Jeff. He assured me that the booker had a “hold” on our date, and sent me the e-mails and it looked pretty legit that I was booked for the show, so I called the booker to find out what was up, and his voicemail was full. I had Jeff email him to make sure everything was kosher and went to get food.

During dinner, I got a phone call from the booker who was pretty upset that we had thought we were booked. Apparently, he thought that we had not followed through and called him. (I guess he forgot that he and I talked on the phone 3 months ago… Understandable. I still got screwed, but whatcha gonna do.) after he explained to me how to follow up with bookers and how the music industry works, (Had to just not respond…) we headed down to the venue to thank the peeps who came out and get ready for the 12 hour drive to Seattle.

So what do I do? It’s not the first time a show has been cancelled out from under me. It would have been inappropriate to play outside of this venue, and not fair to the bands who were booked to play, so that wasn’t an option. I wanted to be fair to the people who came to see me, but at the same time my hands were tied.

There’s definitely this nagging voice in the back of my head that loves to pop up during situations like this. “Nobody cares about you.” “This wouldn’t happen if you were a bigger artist.” “Maybe if you wrote better songs, venues would actually care about you.” “This wouldn’t happen if you were a Doctor working at a hospital… Shoulda stayed in school….” None of that is fair though, and even though they’ll probably play in my head all night, I have to ignore them. (Someone even posted on my facebook, “Don’t they know who you are?” I wish people could hear the thoughts I have. I think they’d quit joking like jackasses.)

Playing is the only thing that keeps my demons at bay. I’m confirmed in Seattle, so maybe I’ll just take it out on the stage. That’ll feel good.

Back to the show. I hung out for a bit, thanked the people who came to see me, and gave them the new “Live at Lestats” album. I think that’s a fair trade. 🙂

We’ll be in Seattle tomorrow night and arriving there around 9 tomorrow morning, I’m guessing. If you know anyone out there, please invite them out to the Skylark Cafe!

-j

20130904-211644.jpg

About Joshua Lodge

Josh will cheerfully admit that he averaged less than a dozen people a show when he first began playing San Diego coffee houses and clubs. But he garnered diehard fans in the process, sold a few thousand copies of his EP, Pocket Change, and picked up few awards along the way. After a traumatic family incident Josh retreated inward, and he ended up writing what would ultimately become his breakout debut, Raw. The album was true to its name and people noticed - Josh picked up two San Diego Music Awards for "Best Acoustic" and "Best Local Recording," opened for the likes of Zac Brown, Jason Mraz, and Matt Nathanson, and had enough money and momentum to tour the country a few times over. A few years after Raw, there was his third EP, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Josh spent much of the year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his album I Will Be There out now on Randm Records. From the joyous encouragement of “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all. A few years after Raw, there was his third release, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Damigo spent much of year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his latest album, "Just Give Me a Call", available now, on Randm Records. From the up-tempo single, “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sacramento – The Naked Lounge

  1. April Millermon says:

    We had a private concert in the car on the way home! It was good to see you, no matter the outcome of the show 🙂 proud of you man

  2. Sorry you had to deal with that. Seems like you had a very mature perspective on it though. I’ve been there, literally (Naked Coffee) and figuratively (gigs canceled on tour when you show up to play). Sucks but what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger they say, so drive on, have fun and do what you were meant to do on this journey. Take it in and rock it out. Peace

Leave a Reply

