Portland – The Buffalo Gap Saloon

Don’t understand how good eight hours of sleep feels until you actually get on the road and tour. It’s heaven. It’s the ability to actually see a dream from start to finish… Maybe even wake up and have 2 dreams… It’s amazing… And it’s probably bad that I already miss it…

I woke up there was a light drizzle going on in Seattle. In San Diego, this is known as a thunder storm. I took a shower and had a cup of coffee with Jason. (How is it that even Keurig Cofffee cups taste better in Seattle???) I got caught up in emails and posts and found out that the show in Minneapolis had to be cancelled due to a pipe bursting. (If you own a venue in the twin cities area, I have about a dozen ladies that are begging me to play for you…. Jussayin…) it’s always such a blow when shows have issues… But that’s showbiz….

Jason and I filmed a live take of my song “Just Let Me Love You” on the roof of his condo and went to lunch at Bakery Nouveau… Which was the best meal I’ve had on your so far. I had the California Croissant and it was fresh and delicious and I want another one right now.

I left around 2:30 and it took about 4 hours to get to Boise. I listened to the Red Sox game and they started losing the second I turned my radio on. I’m wicked superstitious about the Sox and blamed myself for their situation, but when my friend Christi got to the show, she told me that we came back and won! That is the 2nd game in a row that they came back and won after I turned my radio off… I need to quit listening to games….

I got to the Buffalo Gap, restrung my guitar and sound checks and waited for people to arrive…. And man did they! I think I had about 25 peeps at this show! I don’t know what it is about Portland that draws San Diegans, but that was easily my best total outside of SD so far!

The show was great until a bunch of first timer friends got there and talked over my set. I’ve learned that a lot of people that aren’t used to coming to shows will come out to “support” but then end up talking louder than the artists playing and end up causing a headache… I heard someone at the bar even “shush” them! Haha. Oh well… One day, I’ll own the audience and people will get stabbed for talking during my sets…. 😉

I had a blast seeing everyone. I’m guessing 20 of the 25 peeps were from SD! They get me. And the Buffalo Gap has Megan, who is easily the best booking contact I’ve ever worked with, so my night was fantastic.

Tomorrow is Boise, an I’m about 5 1/2 hours away. So far, no deer. (You’d have to have been reading my blog for a while to get that joke…) hopefully I’ll get a little ways, take a nap, and then get to my 2:00 radio interview before the show.

Go Sox!
-j

20130907-024600.jpg

About Joshua Lodge

Josh will cheerfully admit that he averaged less than a dozen people a show when he first began playing San Diego coffee houses and clubs. But he garnered diehard fans in the process, sold a few thousand copies of his EP, Pocket Change, and picked up few awards along the way. After a traumatic family incident Josh retreated inward, and he ended up writing what would ultimately become his breakout debut, Raw. The album was true to its name and people noticed - Josh picked up two San Diego Music Awards for "Best Acoustic" and "Best Local Recording," opened for the likes of Zac Brown, Jason Mraz, and Matt Nathanson, and had enough money and momentum to tour the country a few times over. A few years after Raw, there was his third EP, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Josh spent much of the year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his album I Will Be There out now on Randm Records. From the joyous encouragement of “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all. A few years after Raw, there was his third release, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Damigo spent much of year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his latest album, "Just Give Me a Call", available now, on Randm Records. From the up-tempo single, “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

