Appleton – The Copper Rock Coffee Company

Today was a pretty mellow day. I ran a bunch of errands, and even got a workout in! (It wasn’t a big one, but when you’re on the road and eating trash… like a giant bag of cheetos in 2 days… ugh… it’s gonna be an interesting body that you develop…) I ran to Sprint to see about an upgrade on my phone, hit up Guitar Center and grabbed a couple of items, and my bank to pay off my business card. I ate breakfast and finished a Sudoku puzzle and one of those “word jumbles”. It was a good morning. 😀

When I got to the venue, we decided to use the main room because I didn’t expect to bring out alot of people… Boy was I wrong. I think we had a good 30 people at the show tonight, including a large group of teenagers who thought they were SOOOOOOooooooo funny… but we’ll get to that later. I had dinner at an Italian restaurant with my sister, Natalie and her family, and it was fantastic. I made fun of my niece for getting chicken fingers and “french” fries at an Italian restaurant, but she didn’t care… I’m slowly morphing into that incredibly old uncle…. ugh…

The show started, and I wasn’t stoked on the sound. I definitely like having more time to dial it in. When we were in Des Moines, the sound was perfect. But for some reason it just wasn’t doing it for me tonight. I’ll have to find a setting I like, take a picture of it, and memorize it so that I can duplicate it in other cities. 

Then… this group of about 7 teenagers decided to crash the party. It is SOO hard to focus when people are carrying on during someone’s set. Now, I’m not going to be that guy who has an excuse for everything when he feels like he’s having a hard night, but it definitely plays with your mind when people are laughing and telling stories and sitting in the middle of a show. This is why I LOVE Lestat’s. It’s so nice to have a “Listening Room” where everyone cares about the music. I’ve never been the guy who needed to talk over a guy pouring his heart out on stage… I’m just amazed by rudeness… but truth be told… if I was good enough, I feel like they’d shut up and pay attention. Maybe that’s not fair to me, but it definitely runs through my head when I’m playing. 

The show was fine, and I was able to let go of everything when I jumped up on a chair and sang “To Make You Feel My Love”. It’s always nice when you hit that “high” in a show that helps you leave your body and mind for a second. 

Afterwards I went and hung out with my other sister, Tiffany and we had a good talk about life and things we struggle with. It’s like I said yesterday, it’s nice to know that you’re not the only one who struggles with things. 

Tomorrow morning, I’m playing at the Appleton Farmers Market for a couple hours and then driving to Chicago. I’m playing live on FearlessRadio.com and then heading down to the venue for the show. (Uncommon Ground on Devon) I’ll be playing with the beautiful and talented Xoe Wise, and if you have friends in the area, send them out!

Sleeping. It’s a beautiful thing.
-j

About Joshua Lodge

Josh will cheerfully admit that he averaged less than a dozen people a show when he first began playing San Diego coffee houses and clubs. But he garnered diehard fans in the process, sold a few thousand copies of his EP, Pocket Change, and picked up few awards along the way. After a traumatic family incident Josh retreated inward, and he ended up writing what would ultimately become his breakout debut, Raw. The album was true to its name and people noticed - Josh picked up two San Diego Music Awards for "Best Acoustic" and "Best Local Recording," opened for the likes of Zac Brown, Jason Mraz, and Matt Nathanson, and had enough money and momentum to tour the country a few times over. A few years after Raw, there was his third EP, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Josh spent much of the year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his album I Will Be There out now on Randm Records. From the joyous encouragement of “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all. A few years after Raw, there was his third release, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Damigo spent much of year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his latest album, "Just Give Me a Call", available now, on Randm Records. From the up-tempo single, “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

