Minneapolis – The Daily Dose

There’s not much worse than having a venue cancel a show. (I guess Sacramento is worse… but that’s just cause they double booked and didn’t want to share the stage… punks…) I was booked at the Aster Cafe which is apparently a cool club in the “hip” side of town. (I feel old saying hip… fyi…) Unfortunately, they had a pipe burst and the entire venue has to be gutted. I feel wicked bad for the venue. Any venue that is kind enough to take a chance on booking me has my loyalty, and that’s tough. My thoughts to the owners and workers there outweigh the thought of losing a show. I hope everything works out for them, and I hope to get back out there soon. 

With two days left to book a venue, my friend Amy remembered a local coffee shop that she frequents called, “The Daily Dose”. This place is a seriously awesome spot. It’s in one of those strip malls that you see with the haircut places and phone stores, and doesn’t look like an average coffee spot. It reminded me of a Peet’s Coffee. It’s wicked clean and artsy inside- not hodgepodge like those other shops you find. I got to meet Kurt and Ben, the co-owners and they were wicked awesome to let me play a show there with only two days notice! That’s kind of unheard of. They’re located in Maple Grove about a half hour north of Minneapolis. (I don’t know what I’m talking about… It may be closer…whatever… I’m tired…)

The show was awesome except for one thing… I forgot my mic stand in Des Moines. (UGH!) So I had no way of holding up my mic, so I played completely acoustic. But I think everyone was cool with it. I had a fun time laughing, joking about the Twins and explaining about the breakfast I had that morning… 

Oh wait… I didn’t tell you about Al’s Breakfast in Dinkytown, did I? 

I googled “Best Breakfast in Minneapolis” and Al’s came up. I read some of the reviews, but didn’t realize what I was getting myself into until I walked in. This place is AMAZING. it seats about 20 people, and then you line up behind them and wait for a turn at the bar. When you order, the cook, (Who I’m guessing is Al?) makes each meal individually, so it may take some time… but MAN is it worth it. The atmosphere is awesome. I love the “Soup-naziesque” vibe of “Figure what you want and get out of the way.” A group of 3 kids walked in at 12:59 and the place closes at 1. The guy seating them said, “Just the four of you?” And one of them responded, “We have a fourth on her way.” The cook said, “NOPE. It’s just the three of you, because it’s 1:00 and she missed the cutoff.” 

I watched those three kids TURN ON HER! They sat down and started eating and made her go somewhere else. I’d say the whole place hated her for being late…. it was kind of a funny vibe. I dug it. 

I wish I would’ve known about the A’s playing the Twins at noon. I would have loved to catch the game. Instead, I went and got a haircut, then picked up some essentials at the Guitar Store (I forgot the Mic Stand… so Not ALL of the essentials) and called my grandma to talk about the Patriots and Jets football game. (Do you have a grandma you can talk to about football? No? I win. I know you’re reading this Grandma. Love you!) 😀

Tonight, I’m in Appleton, Wisconsin near where my two sisters live. I’ll be playing at the Copper Rock Coffee Company and I LOVE this spot. All the employees are awesome, and it’s a favorite stop for me on the tour. 

See you guys tonight at the show!
-j

About Joshua Lodge

Josh will cheerfully admit that he averaged less than a dozen people a show when he first began playing San Diego coffee houses and clubs. But he garnered diehard fans in the process, sold a few thousand copies of his EP, Pocket Change, and picked up few awards along the way. After a traumatic family incident Josh retreated inward, and he ended up writing what would ultimately become his breakout debut, Raw. The album was true to its name and people noticed - Josh picked up two San Diego Music Awards for "Best Acoustic" and "Best Local Recording," opened for the likes of Zac Brown, Jason Mraz, and Matt Nathanson, and had enough money and momentum to tour the country a few times over. A few years after Raw, there was his third EP, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Josh spent much of the year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his album I Will Be There out now on Randm Records. From the joyous encouragement of “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all. A few years after Raw, there was his third release, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Damigo spent much of year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his latest album, "Just Give Me a Call", available now, on Randm Records. From the up-tempo single, “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

