Chicago – Uncommon Ground

The morning started with a nightmare. I get these intense dreams that I can’t tell are dreams until a few minutes after waking up. I guess that’s a hazard if been a writer, I wonder what Stephen King’s dreams are like…

I shook it off and made my way to the Appleton Farmer’s Market. I played this event on be last tour and it was a lot of fun. I played for about an hour and a half, and the tips are amazing! It’s amazing how giving the people from the Great Lakes region have been. I can see why people like it here. Definitely going to go back.

I had an interview at Fearless Radio in Chicago at 4, so I booked it from Appleton to Illinois and I tell you what…. Chicago drivers are aggressive… I’m not one to get road rage easily, but I would sell my car if I lived there… Wow.

The interview is always fun. Kris is one of my favorite people I’ve met in this business and ever since day one, she’s been so sweet and supportive to me and she’s a major reason I keep coming back to Chicago.

After the interview, they talked to me about possibly doing a podcast/radio show. (Apparently, I make for good radio…) would you listen? They wanted to call it “Shi* from the Road”. I think it’s a great idea, but I don’t know if I cuss enough to justify that title. It could be seriously fun tho!

I hung out at Uncommon Ground, and it was a little dead because of Riot Fest. It seems like I’m always there when there’s a music festival going on. When I was younger, I used to blame my “draw” on the festivals and similar shows going on but now, I use it as a motivator to make my shows less missable. I’m really hoping to step up my songwriting this next year, and this is a big reason for it.

The turnout was a lot smaller than I had hoped, but the people who were there were amazing! I’ve played Chicago a few times, and we had hoped to fill the room at uncommon ground on Devon, but I think I should have stuck with the Clark location. It’s more intimate and it doesn’t hurt the staff if the turnout is low.

After the show, I met Bryan, who heard “Pocket Change” on Pandora and missed it when he got to the show. I grabbed my guitar and gave him a quick personal song. 🙂 It’s always fun to meet people who have never seen me play and yet dig the tunes. I think that’s a huge validation to my music. When I hear people say, “They’re better live…” That feels like code for, “they’re not good writers…” So I like meeting people who just like the music. 🙂

Today, I’m playing outside of Indianapolis. Common Ground in Hartford City is gonna be a fun and intimate show tonight. Only a couple more nights until my break in the tour. My voice sure needs it!

My sister makes good cookies… I ate 10 last night… (Thanks alot)
-j

20130915-132819.jpg

About Joshua Lodge

Josh will cheerfully admit that he averaged less than a dozen people a show when he first began playing San Diego coffee houses and clubs. But he garnered diehard fans in the process, sold a few thousand copies of his EP, Pocket Change, and picked up few awards along the way. After a traumatic family incident Josh retreated inward, and he ended up writing what would ultimately become his breakout debut, Raw. The album was true to its name and people noticed - Josh picked up two San Diego Music Awards for "Best Acoustic" and "Best Local Recording," opened for the likes of Zac Brown, Jason Mraz, and Matt Nathanson, and had enough money and momentum to tour the country a few times over. A few years after Raw, there was his third EP, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Josh spent much of the year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his album I Will Be There out now on Randm Records. From the joyous encouragement of “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all. A few years after Raw, there was his third release, Hope. Whereas Raw was a mostly acoustic, vulnerable affair, Hope was a celebration. Pleading and poignant, heartfelt and heavy hearted, it segued effortlessly from orchestral to alt-country, eventually landing him in the top 25 on the country charts. One of the hardest working indie singer/songwriters in Southern California, Damigo spent much of year with producer Mike Butler, gathering up some of the finest musicians in town, shaping his songs and sound further still for his latest album, "Just Give Me a Call", available now, on Randm Records. From the up-tempo single, “Just Give Me a Call”, to the simple sincerity of the ballad “Tennessee”, Josh’s songwriting skills are clear, his voice rings true and his goals remain the same as when he started - to keep making the best music he can, and to share it with all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

